Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
59
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£48.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2017
Great DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
love c s i miami so glad i have other sets at reasonable prices
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
love the show and watched all the dvds in 3 days, now waiting for season 9 to arrive
go horatio
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2011
CSI Miami is the privileged know-it-all offspring of the original (and still best) CSI Vegas. It has been strutting itself throughout the primetime scheduling for the past 10 years now in an over-colour-saturated, bombastically loud and arrogantly pious fashion that has managed to become legendary by way of self-parody. Whatever you feel about Miami, it will probably always be there, blinding you from the TV for many years to come. It has never been the most cerebral or politically objective show, and its last 2 or 3 seasons had gone a long way to making it somewhat of a joke. But season 8 felt like a breath of fresh air. And it was all to do with a slight toning down and a few new characters.

The opening episode is a fantastic way to introduce some new blood (goodies and baddies) as well as nodding rather tenderly to the past. I don't know how they did it but they ALMOST made the actors look like their younger selves. Jesse Cardoza is a welcome replacement for the mostly absent Delko (whose inaction throughout was a good call as he had become somewhat overused, especially as most of his acting repetoire consists of a beaming smile and a neanderthal leer) and Omar is one of the best characters in it now. As well as the new ME, who does verge on the uber-ridiculous at times, it seemes that the makers of the show are trying to wash away the remnants of its stagnant past few years.

Family are no longer an issue, apart from a truly excellent episode when H's son returns from Afghanistan - it is a great effort compared to the way these episodes were handled in the past. A lot of the crimes are multi-layered and interesting while still containing the Miami sheen that really should be there. Yes, the space episode is a step too far and so is the 'dead' Calleigh one where she talks to ghosts, but even these are at least trying to mix up the ingredients a bit and still work.

It all ends far better as well. The last episode is both rewarding (a regular cast member is rumbled for being a crook over the ENTIRE series) and wanting you needing answers. As opposed to wanting to know where Delko's got to (sesaon 7 - he was ok!) or whether H is dead or not (season 6 - he wasn't!), the cliffhanger takes its time, accompanied by an eerie and powerful guitar score, but by the last frame there is nothing but expectancy and inpatience to carry you over the long wait to see what happens next (the UK won't see the region 2 dvd of season 9 until Christmas 2012!).

Possibly the best season of Miami to date.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2012
This is perfect for people even if you do not like blood, murder, science or crime related anything. the gripping characters and their story line brings you in and makes you want to watch them again and agian. CSI Miami to my mind is the best CSI out there not saying Las Vegas and New York are not good, but Miami brings something more and something a bit edgy. Season 8 in to my mind the best as it is shot in HD has new characters, new enemies and twist and turns that make you feel sorry for some of the convited. It has great, intresting comentery that does not feel like the boring ones you will normally find. Everyone one should get this an add it to their collections of DVDS and Boxsets as you will never get dis-intrested.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
If you've made it to season 8 you'll know whether or not you like CSI Miami as there seems to be little middle-ground; personally I am a fan of the series, I like Horatio's straight-faced assurances of confidence and calm and it's always fun looking out for the sunglasses. I will admit that I prefer more of the whodunnit elements and less of the personal drama our main cast had to suffer under over the past few seasons; I was never the biggest fan of the Delko-Duquesne storylines and found that less of Delko in Season 8 wasn't such a bad thing. Instead we have new guy Eddie Cibrian bringing some fresh air as well as brains and eye-candy to the episodes, and the writing for the episodes is on top form. Refreshing was what came to mind as I watched the episodes, trying to guess whodunnit is fun again!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
I already have two complete sets of CSI Miami series, this extra one was a present for a friend and fellow fan. It will be watched and cherished for years to come. Always a great feast of entertainment this team as they never fail to thrill and move the viewer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
The best season for years. Eddie Cibrian's character has livened up what had become dull, boring and a few more adjectives - none of them positive!! Not only has the change in characters improved the series enormously, but the scriptwriters seem to have been given a shot in the arm too and the stories are great.
I just hope that the producers/directors etc realise the new formula is working to perfection and don't spoil things....but I won't hold my breath.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
Starting directly from the cliff hanger from Series 7, Series 8 never takes it foot of the pedal. A great show that they should never have cancelled!

At this price it represents great value too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
Enjoyed everyone of the seasons have even got the family watching my granddaughter really likes David Caruso well done team
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)