Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 28 October 2017
Class. Invokes memories and good humour with a classic whodunnit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2017
Funniest book IN A LONG TIME
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2016
One of the funniest books I've read. Great quality, quick service and delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2015
exellent writer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2010
The fourth comedy thriller from Christopher Brookmyre tells the story of an ill-fated school-reunion, where old friends reacquaint themselves until some unexpected guests show up - with guns.

The book is addictive reader, and possible Brookmyre's most captivating novel by far. There are a large number of characters, but they are a very believable bunch, all with their own quirks and motivations for attending. The first half of the novel deals with a selection of the attendees, establishing the people they were at school and are now - in fact, this to me was the more interesting half of the book.

The best feature of this book is the timing. Over and over again things suddenly became clear in my mind - I would fall in almost exactly half a page before the characters realised the same thing. This to me makes for perfect plotting - I find it really frustrating when something is so incredibly obvious but the characters are oblivious, and almost as bad when the characters can think something up that wasn't just as clear to the reader. This book however is perfect in this way.

My only criticism is that the second half was not quite as interesting as the first. This was where the action kicked off. I also found the presence of retired police office MacGregor a little strange, as a lot of his scenes seemed as padding just to justify his appearance.

Overall though I really enjoyed this one and am once again looking forward to reading the next Brookmyre. A fantastic read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2006
I have read this book so many times that some of the pages are beginning to fall out!

Brookmyre's writing style is witty and clever, wonderfully bringing to life his characters and the situation they find themselves in. A school reunion on a converted oil rig goes disastrously wrong as a group of not-so-professional mercenaries try to take control of the rig. Despite the differences they once had on the playground, the now mature ex-students and their English teacher must band together to save themselves.

Featuring guns, bombs, rocket launchers and a laundry chute, this is one of the best books I have ever read.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 1999
I bought this book before departing on holiday as the first book I had bought to take, I had finshed in two days (Mark Radcliffe Showbusiness - Diary of a Rock and Roll Nobody *Superb*). I picked this book in preference to the thousands of others only due to the fact that I am friends with the authors sister. Being a Scot who has moved away from home I usually avoid Scottish books so I bought with trepidation. I needn't have worried the book was thouroughly entertaining and the Scottishness was not overplayed. The style of writing, like a number of short stories interwoven and coming together in a tumultuous ending was intensly gripping. I almost forgot that I was stuck up an Austrian Mountain surrounded by hoardes of German children, (Sound of Music meets teletubbies). The book was easy to read, the style is so natural it would make you think that you to could write a best seller. The dialogue is suberb and will make you laugh out loud. The depiction of the highland police is hilarious and probably, more worryingly, realistic. Well worth £10 of anyones money you will read this book again and again. I'm off to buy the others.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2000
Read this novel, read all the reviews here on Amazon, then ask yourself if there isn't more going on than just McDie Hard starring a Scottish Bruce Willis. Who really are the real life models for the characters?... The beauty of this book, complete with its slightly implausible plot and sly links back to earlier Brookmyre novels, is that it is a parody. the characters are close enought to real life to be satirical, but it is affectionate and deeply good humoured in style as well as in the one liners and comic set pieces. The layers of plotting and the reverent nods of the head not just to the cinema, but right the way back to Robert Louis Stevenson give the lie to the image of Brookmyre as just a man who can tell a funny story. It's all too easy to dismiss this book as a potboiler, or an over the top pastiche, and not realise that it's underpinned by a love and respect for ordinary people, and a bitter anger at the stupidity of the world we live in that isn't just cynicism for the sake of it. Everyone who reads this book will have a favourite setpiece, but the real joy of the book is in the moments between the setpieces. Oh, even the love stories are fun, and i'm no romantic...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
School reunions sound about as much fun as watching the entire run of `Heartbeat' back to back, but throw in some free booze and people will turn up. This is essentially the plot of Christopher Brookmyre's `One Fine Day in the Middle of the Night', but with luxury hotels, oil rigs and incompetent mercenaries thrown in. Brookmyre has revisited the idea of school days several times in his work and most time he is successful at it. Having a large group of characters with a shared past means that you can have a lot of emotional turmoil going on. In `One Fine Day' Brookmyre perhaps explores the inner most feelings of too many characters as far too much of the story is a retrospective and not about what is going on in the present. This is a good way of making the character dynamic fizz, but it did break up the flow of the story.

The actually action elements of an oil rig cum luxury complex being under attack are top quality crime comedy. The mercenaries are just the right level of stupid to make them more dangerous than if they were professional. I enjoyed the madcap mayhem and how Brookmyre put normal people into incredible situations, but as mentioned the past kept taking over. This meant than when the finale finally did happen it was all over too quickly and was a little confused. I still found the book highly amusing, but it could have been structured just a little more coherently to be a must read.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2005
I can't recommend this book highly enough - A mixture of small town Scottish high school nostalgia and over-the-top hollywood gunplay (yes, really!), which turned out to be the funniest book I've read in ages. Many a laugh out loud moment was to be had with this.
My only criticism is that after slowly building the characters and setting the scene, the author seemed to want to get the action over as quickly as possible. Only a minor detraction from what is an action packed pageturner and a half.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse