Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
60
4.4 out of 5 stars
Deep End (DVD + Blu-ray)
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£11.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 December 2016
I saw this film when it came out 45 years ago and was very gratified to see that it was at last available in a high quality transfer along with comprehensive supplements.

For me, it’s a tale that accurately depicts the destruction that appears over and over again in society if the circumstances of birth don’t provide adequate and genuine love for a given person.

In my view, both Sue and Mike in the film lacked in their upbringing the authentic experience of being accepted for who they were. Neither were they provided with the additional tools required to make their way effectively in life.

So in their own different ways, they seek out validation for their existence, but the skewed answers provided by society at large are wholly lacking, resulting in disaster.

The fact that this very fine film has been unavailable for decades might even be a clue about the nature of the society which has rejected it.

For example, its message is presented in a refined and expert way with great story-telling and flair (as confirmed by the excellent supplement on its making which includes interviews with the director Jerzy Skolimovski, the stars and the key people involved in its creation).

However, the setting in which the action takes place is “downmarket”, as it were, but the sometimes sordid conditions likely reflect very accurately the psychological meaning of the film.

In this interpretive approach, a viewer can therefore feel very uncomfortable, explaining this away by citing the generally distasteful backdrops and some of the action of the movie when in actuality, his or her discomfort can be the result of an extremely apt depiction of certain attitudes and behaviour that many of us suffer from without being very aware of them.

I feel that directors like Jerzy Skolimovski, Ken Loach (whose heart-rending “Kes” was made around the same time with a similar no-love theme) and Clio Barnard (whose recent “Selfish Giant” is something like a “Kes” on steroids) have enormous courage in taking on bleak themes and locations to depict life as it really is with the aim of waking us up to the need for genuine acceptance and compassion in everday life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
Well directed and superbly acted film evocative of the time and yet timeless in its subject. First saw it in episodes on You Tube and looked forward to seeing the whole film without any breaks! This is an excellent value product with some very interesting extras including an insightful reunion with Jane Asher and John Moulder Brown discussing the making of the film. One piece of advice for anyone considering purchasing: the price of this product appears to fluctuate wildly. It was £17 when I put it in my wish list. I saw the price go to below £10 and up again. Waited and purchased when it went down again! I do like the idea of blu ray and DVD copies in same box. This is a great value product (at the lower price!) and an entertaining and thought provoking film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Strange film of a young lads fancy with a fellow worker at a swimming bath.Jane Asher plays the girl he desires but along the way all sorts of happenings occur.One such happening with the Diana Dors character is hilarious.Little known film but I found it a bit of a gem
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2011
Back in the eighties a video store was having a clear out and I got a dozen or so tapes for next to nothing. Most were average and forgettable but not this one - Deep End made a deep and lasting impression on me. I remember it especially for the great 60s atmosphere. We cleared out all our old VHS tapes recently and this went out too so I was very glad to see it available on Amazon and pre-ordered it immediately. As it was around 30 years or so since I had last seen it I wondered if it would live up to my recollections - happy to say it did so completely. In fact even better than I remembered - an utterly memorising film from start to finish (and what a finish - I had forgotten how it ended!). Even better to have it restored and on Blu-Ray, it looks terrific and the extras are very interesting too. I did not realise this was an endangered film so very pleased it has been saved - I cannot think of a better candidate for the BFI treatment. Strange thing is that I do not ever recall seing this film on TV either in the sixties or any time subsequently. In my opinion this film is an original and unique gem, maybe not everyone's cup of tea, but if you like quirky films and the sixties you will love this. The performances are brilliant too and contribute largely to the freshness the film still has. A wonderful slice of the sixties.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2011
The latest flipside release is the long forgotten gem, Deep End, which is made against a backdrop of the end of the swinging sixties heading into the grim seventies. The film is interesting, partly for the great soundtrack, partly for the look at society at the time and partly for Mike and his relationship with Susan and his lack of social graces. He takes Susan to see a porn movie on a date and thinks nothing about grabbing her breast. At other times his fantasies about her are sensitive. The contrast is interesting and well played and as for his feelings for Susan is it a crush, infatuation or something more sinister. On meeting Susan she conveys the tedium of her job through her casual disinterest very well.

Fine performances from all and a great set of extras. The making of feature is nearly an hour and twenty minutes long and all of it fascinating. Having seen many making of features that run to half that length and drag it was a joy to see.

The bonus disc is a bonus in every sense of the word.

A must buy if you love forgotten films from this era.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2011
This was a film I only read about for many years. Thanks to the BFI, this region free blu-ray is available to the world. The colours are marvelous, the cinematography incredible, the story perplexing... all in all a very worthwhile purchase. The documentary is an excellent bonus feature.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 May 2017
The BFI Blu-ray / DVD 2-disc combo pack presents "Deep End" in exceptional high quality. This film, set in late 1960's London (yet filmed in West Germany), offers a flirtatious tale about two co-workers - played by Jane Asher and John Moulder-Brown - who are employed at a swimming pool. It's a well directed movie, with a colourful and artistic feel to it.

The story: It's 15 year old Mike's (John Moulder-Brown) first day of work, after leaving school, and he's eager to make a good impression. And Susan (Jane Asher), who's in her mid-20's, is tasked with showing him around the bath house. She explains that there's good tips to be made, by providing "extra" services to the clients ... she'll service the blokes, and it's expected that young Mike will service the ladies. Throughout, Susan behaves in an unusual manner towards Mike - often affectionate, but occasionally distant. And in no time at all, Mike's fallen in love. His efforts to attract Susan become desperate, especially after he discovers she's engaged to be married. From quick gropes in the cinema, to ending up in a brothel, Mike's journey is both interesting and entertaining. Everything culminates with a naked romp in the deep end of the baths ...

I was initially attracted to the film after discovering that the beautiful 24 year old Jane Asher got fully naked. Yet there's far more to the film than that, and I find that this movie captures what was perhaps a final glimpse into the charm and naiveté of 1960's culture. Aspects of the film are fun, it's sometimes sexy, but ultimately it's tragic.

There are a host of bonus features - including a detailed retrospective 'making of' documentary. Also included is the short film "Careless Love" (1976), again featuring Asher, which is a truly shocking drama (somewhat akin to a 'tale of the unexpected'). And a deluxe booklet comes with the discs, providing lots of production information and some colour photos.

Overall, I highly recommend this movie.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2011
Deep End is one of those `classic' films that had a limited circulation when it first came out, has been shown only rarely on TV and which has otherwise totally disappeared off the radar. I'm sure I remember first seeing it in 1969 in London, despite the 1971 release date credited elsewhere, and I've been waiting ever since for an opportunity to buy my own copy . The film is basically a story of a young man who suddenly discovers his sexuality and has a fixation on the slightly older woman who supervises him in his first job. Originally it was exciting to think that the `older woman' was Jane Asher - then the ex-girlfriend of Paul McCartney - and that she ended up naked at the end of the film. But! 40 years later we've hopefully moved on and we can accept the film for what it is - a `quirky' production that deserves any accolades that we can throw at it. With guest appearances by character actors such as Diana Dors and Burt Kwouk, it's well worth watching and I thoroughly recommend it.
11 Comment| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 November 2013
This 1970 film written and directed by Pole, Jerzy Skolimowski, is often categorised under the 'cult film' heading - not always a good thing, of course, but, despite being very much a film of its time (long-hand for 'dated'), its quirky take of unrequited love does have (for me, at least) a number of things going for it, not least its visual innovation. Skolimowski, who had moved to London prior to making Deep End, does not always capture the 'verbal feel' of 'late 60s swinging' London (with some notable stilted dialogue and acting turns here), but visually his film is particularly authentic and innovative, courtesy of Charly Steinberger's cinematography (with its interesting camera angles, dynamic close-ups, slow revolves and dream sequences), creating an aura not dissimilar to a whole range of iconic films of the era such as Blow-Up, Performance, If..., the early films of Roman Polanski (who was an early collaborator with Skolimowski) and (going back a few years ) Peeping Tom.

Skolimowski's central protagonists, the increasingly mutually obsessed, 15-year old school-leaver, 'pretty boy' and virgin, Mike (whose initial uncertainty in the role John Moulder-Brown gradually overcomes) and fellow swimming pool 'attendant', Jane Asher's more convincing red-head and sympathetic 'woman of the world, Susan, provide some nicely observed, tender moments, at times charged with tension of the more permissive attitudes of the time (one of the film's principal themes). Asher is particularly good as the confused target of Mike's affections, torn between her burgeoning interest in Mike and her more well-developed liaisons with wealthy fiancé Chris (Christopher Sandford) and Karl Michael Vogler's impressively creepy (and school-girl groping) married PE teacher. Elsewhere, Diana Dors puts in a brilliant cameo appearance as a 'man-eater' ('ladies of a certain age tend to favour polite and obliging young boys') whose seduction of Mike using 'football metaphors' and likening sex to 'Georgie Best's six goals against Northampton' is a film highlight for me. Other notable acting turns are provided by Karl Ludwig Lindt's authoritative swimming pool manager ('None of your guv in this establishment, it's always sir!'), whose visage is captured in an unsettling close-up at the start of the film, and from Susan's work 'sparring partner', Erica Beer's 'prim' cashier.

For me, other impressive sequences in Skolimowski's film are those in the seedy world of Soho, where Mike encounters a prostitute with her leg in plaster ('I used to take £5, now it's £2.50, of course'), then steals a strip-show cut-out looking like Susan, before confronting her on the tube (all to the 'exotic sounds' of Can on the soundtrack) and (in a scene similar to that in Taxi Driver) where Chris takes Susan to see the film The Science Of Sex, whose 'clinical shenanigans' are accompanied by The Ride of the Valkyries (on the film's soundtrack). And, although the film's quirkiness, (part) stilted acting and odd plot points make for a less than satisfactory whole, Skolimowski's denouement scene, between the two 'lovers' back at the swimming pool is simply brilliant, convincing me to rate the film as four, rather than three, stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)