Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 3 August 2017
ok read, didn't get my quite as hooked as I would have liked. but if you are into forgotten realms I would still buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2003
If you ask any Forgotten Realms player to name a wizard that exists in Forgotten Realms universe you will most likely find that 95% of your responses will give you that name, Elminster.
For those of you that don't know, Elminster, is one of the Goddess of magic's chosen, and possibly the most powerful magic user in the Forgotten Realms.
The Making of a Mage takes you back to the beginning of Elminster's story. How as a young boy he witnesses his village being destroyed by a dragon-riding Mage-Lord, and the then solemn vow he makes to avenge all those that died in the attack, including his father, and to destroy all magic using people that would use their art in such a cruel and destructive manner.
At 12 years of age, Elminster, has no idea of the scope of this task, nor in fact that the attack had purposely been targeting him and his father.
The subsequent years find Elminster taking on various vocations in his quest for vengeance, including being an outlaw, a thief, and of course finally, a mage.
The path that leads from, Elminster, being a vehemence hater of magic to the beginnings of his love affair with the art is well told and believable.
I recently wrote to review of the book SpellFire, which Ed Greenwood also wrote, and I was quite surprised at first at how different these two books are. I gave SpellFire a four-star rating, though really I did mean it to be only a three-star rating.
The reason that I found them so different -so much so that they could have been by different authors- is that the dialogue is crisper, and certainly less juvenile. It's amazing how much improvement in writing style can occur in six years, and that improvement combined with a great character, and a good plot made The Making of a Mage an enjoyable read. The only thing I would like to have seen is some stronger villains in the story, as none of them really stood out to me.
In conclusion, The Making of a Mage is a good book that is worth your time, and certainly a vast improvement over some of Ed's earlier work in my opinion, and a great introduction to one of the Forgotten Realms most famous characters.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2017
I absolutely loved this book. From start to finish. The beginning was wonderful. A good middle and a fantastic end. Really colourful describing magic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
A must for all D&D/Forgotten Realms fans. So glad that I choose to read this after so many years. Like a long lost friend,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 1999
The Making of a Mage is a book for strong fantasy roleplaying fans, and then especially for those who love the Forgotten Realms setting by TSR. The book tells the first part of the story of Elminster the most powerful magician in the world. He starts out as little boy after a terrible tragedy in the family, and finds himself on the road to becomming a mage. Off course, this is not a easy road, and the young Elminster is constanly being challenged for his choice in "profession". Among other trials he is transformed into a woman! We follows him into his first encounters with the godess of Magic, Mystra, and the start of their special relationship. Well, as I said do you love the Forgotten Realms you probably will enjoy this book. Greenwod is an exellent game designer (maybe the best) but as an author he becomes to simple. It never becomes exciting and you feel that you always know what will be on the next page.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
On a par with Tolkien . Or just as good .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2008
All characters in a Dungeons and Dragons scenario have to start somewhere.
This book shows the development of Elminster from being a young boy losing his family to being a mage who worships the ground that Mystra walks on.
For those used to reading the Forgotten Realms sagas, this certainly shows Elminster as his most basic level.
Those who have played D&D may recognise the background of Elminster starting out as a vagabond fighter/outlaw and after a while puts it aside to develop as a Thief.
Enjoy this book but be warned it may take the shine off Elminster for you, he may have a dark past you never suspected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2001
elminster is an incredible story. i highly recommend it to any reader young and old. usually when a book starts off good, it tends to get boring later, but Elminster starts good and ends great!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2010
This book may report the early steps of the best known mage in the Forgotten Realms setting, written by a great game designer... but the reading is just tedious.

So, making it short, if you're a Forgotten Realms fan, it might have historic value for you and it's worth reading, even as only a starting point to a series of adventures. If you're not seriously into Forgotten Realms, I do not recommend it at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
all fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse