Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
8
5.0 out of 5 stars
Les retrouvailles
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99

on 5 December 2008
Having owned the Amelie soundtrack album for over 2 years I thought I ought to check out some later Yann Tiersen so I bought Les Retrouvailles (In English - Meeting Again). This disk contains wonderful rich melodies, with interesting and different instrumentation, the music borrows from French folk and street music, as well as rock, avant-garde, and classical. The instrumentals are just simply a cut above the norm and the two vocal tracks featuring ex Cocteau Twins singer Elizabeth Fraser are simply stunning and magical, so good in fact that I think it's time I listened to her back catalogue. I think this abum sounds slightly less french in style than the excellent Rue Des Cascades whilst still retaining plenty of gallic charm.
To sum up in just one word - SENSATIONAL.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
This is probably the Yann Tiersen record I've played most often. While none of the tracks are as heart-wrenchingly beautiful as 'Rue des Cascades'-could anything be-there is plenty of wonder. 'La Veille' is almost a dry run for the 'Valse d'Amelie, 'Le Matin' is astounding in how much feeling can be put into such a simple piece of piano music. 'La Boulange' with it's extraordinary interplay of electri guitar and Ondes Martenot is unclassifiable! The title track is amazing with the multiple-tracked harpsichord, 'Marie', with Liz Fraser of the Cocteau Twins and near here, from Falkirk, is the most beautiful song and so atmospheric in its aching longing.
Such a beautiful collection of music!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
Yann Tiersen is a highly original artist who has produced some startling music albums over the years. He has such a unique style and Les Retrouvailles is certainly one of his best efforts to date.

There is no point in describing the tracks as this is up to the individual. However, listening to "tasters" of the music which is available before purchase will determine the outcome for purchase rather quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2012
I bought this on a trip to Paris and it came with a DVD which shows film of how it was made. I love it all, I have had it for several years now and still get a huge amount of pleasure out of all the tracks, it has a wonderful European feel with a mix of piano tracks as well as other instrumentals. Buy it and enjoy, this is better than the Amelie, if that's possible.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2010
Just revisiting this after hearing Tiersen has signed to Mute.Shockingly good and original with it. Sort of a Breton equivalent to the soundtracks of Hilmar Orn Hilmarsson. In a summer of dazzling muisc (and books - Perrin's West and Young's Electric Eden are both touchstones) it is nice to remember something that got you through some stormy waters and then some. The photo of Ushant on the back cover is both priceless and timeless.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2012
This was a chance buy, but well worth it. Having owned and loved the "Amelie" soundtrack, I was hopeful that I would be rewarded with some more great music. This CD is a wonderful combination of styles, melodies, vocal and instrumental variations. Rewarded indeed - wonderful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
You will either love or hate this. Personally I love it which is a little strange with being an Englishman. I would love to see him in concert but thats unlikely so this will have to be my close second.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2017
A great album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

(Infinity)
£7.99
L'absente
£8.99
Dust Lane
£7.92

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)