Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2008
This fourth instalment sees a young cub wild in the "real world" for the first time after voluntarily segregating himself from his friends and his father, "the Farthing Wood fox", whose shadow continues to hang over him.

Impressively Dann manages to draw immediate focus to a single character and his few acquaintances after spending so much time on the huge Farthing Wood cast. He does so with grace and clarity, creating a story that presents itself with crystal clarity whilst prompting strong emotional responses in the reader. It's hard to believe that a fox's circumstances could illicit such powerful responses!

The protagonist is superbly draw and rounded in a way that I don't see even in most adult fiction. You'll be swept along in a wonderful, funny, and very sad story that has always been my favourite of the series.

9/10
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2015
This book takes a slightly different approach to the rest of the series as it focuses mainly on just one character, that being Bold. He has left the relative safety of White Deer Park and the ties to his family and is now a true creature of the wild making it on his own like he wanted. However rather quickly Bold discovers the hardships that come in the wild and that maybe the Oath that his Father and the rest of the animals from Farthing Wood live by has some merit. He meets a host of new characters including a crow called Robber, a female badger called Shadow, a dog called Rollo and a vixen called Whisper. With these new characters he forges close bonds after a major incident and soon finds himself clinging to life and making the journey back to White Deer Park to protect the lives of his future cubs.

This book is a magnificent read that truly pulls on your heart strings. Due to it being more focused on one character you feel so much more invested in Bold's life. Although I did find myself missing the main cast of characters from the first three books. A great read that continues the high standard of the first three books!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
My 11 year old daughter reads books aimed at 15/16 year olds. It was great to find a series of stories that she could read that have a moral dimension and excellent vocabulary usuage, without the usual resort to violence etc.. i read these to her before her SATS and they proved invaluable for her comprehension and imagination.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
This is the third sequel to the minor classic "The Animals of Farthing Wood". It was published in 1983, illustrated by Terry Riley and has the usual Dann quota of 160-180 pages. This tale takes place mainly away from White Deer Park and follows the adventures of Fox and Vixen's male cub Bold.
At the end of the previous book "Fox's Feud", Bold decided to leave the boundaries of the nature reserve and explore the countryside beyond. He has many adventures and becomes an urban fox, is wounded by hunters and meets a dog called Rollo. The story culminates in a rather sad way which I will not spoil but this is a fairly realistic tale and is recommended to those who enjoy stories involving vulpine and meline characters who have to scavenge for food, rather than dress for dinner like Toad of Toad Hall, Bejamin Bunny from the Peter Rabbit stories or Hare from Little Grey Rabbit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
What a set of books - love the Animals of Farthing Wood books. Would love to get the whole set in book format, but very happy to have them all on my Kindle. It would be great to be able to give my family a set of these books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2012
Following on from The Animals of Farthing Wood, this story is of Fox's first cub, Bold, and his journey to try to escape his famous father's shadow, and to escape the overpowering safety and security of the Park. Early on, his hopes of a being the top predator with the world at his feet are dealt a crippling blow, and he has to rely on other, 'lesser', animals to survive.

It's a short book, which is just as well because it's almost impossible to put down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
This book is probably my favourite of all Colin Dann's Farthing Wood tales and i found it a thoroughly enjoyable read. Although it has a sad ending it tells the story of a fox who escapes and has to scavange for food and make a life for himself and become independant from his family. I recommend this book to anyone who has enjoyed The Animals of Farthing Wood and the other novels in this sequence.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
My son and I are enjoying all of the Farthing Wood books. We are wondering which one is next. Xxxxx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2009
This is the best one of 8 AOFW books, and has always made me cry when it comes to the end, but there is still something about it that sets it a little apart from the others. Perhaps its how Dann describes the way Bold suffers, or maybe its because he has focused the whole book on just one character. Either way, it is a very eciting read, and is my all time thourough favourite. A must for all Animals Of Farthing Wood addicts! Its actualy part of the AOFW Fox Duo (see lik below). A Must for anyone!

The Farthing Wood Collection: "Fox's Feud", "The Fox Cub Bold" v. 2 (Animals of Farthing Wood)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
I did love this book and I must admit I had a lump in my throat a few times but I thought the ending was a bit unnecessary and I think the poor fox was a bit too unfortunate for my liking. Kids would love it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse