Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2015
Very well documented, excellent story and anecdotes. Much more worth than just a reading, it opens the way to learn more about professional cycling at the times of the likes of Lemond, Hinault, Hampsten compared to Armstrong and Froome today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2011
this is a good read - alot is background before we get to the main race but it is necessary to give a good feeling for the 86 tour. We get a very vivid picture of Hinault and Lemond and the final chapters truly race along.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
Excellent review of the 1986 TDF and a real insight into the goings on during the Tour. Reading the thoughts of Hinault was an interesting trip through a strange process. Believe him or not it is a really good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
A really fascinating account of the battle between Hinault and LeMond both on and off the road. Superbly written - being able to describe road cycling and make it both understandable and exciting is a rare skill.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
A book that shows how two people approach winning the toughest bike race in the world. One you could view as a bully but driven, the other equally driven but more honorable or laid back in his approach.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
If you like drama and enjoy competitive cycling this is surely a book for you. 2 of the all time greats. Perhaps a new afterword to dismiss the comparisons with Armstrong and Contador would be fitting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
brilliant book that is well written, interesting and compelling. the badger hinault is a revelation as a character, utterly ruthless when he needs to be but very humane also. loved this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
a first class gripping view of tw respected professional riders as they tackled the Tour de France both as team mates and as likely winners, both. one of the best t d f books i have read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
I've read a lot of cycling books, and this one is certainly my favourite. Engaging style that builds the story and tension without compromising either perspective. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2011
I'm not a big cycling fan, the only cycling I see is Le Tour but this is very interesting and readable even if like me you don't know much about professional cycling. Enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)