Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
23
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.79
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 June 2001
Mike is the new kid in town and is desperate to make new friends. Which he does, much to the dislike of Gemma. She has been there her whole life and has no friends. To keep herself busy and because she has no Mum, Gemma Collects pictures of Mums. Anything from Mums out of the newspaper looking sad to Mums out of a magazine, at the beach. A moving tale of deception, jealousy and friendship. Tell me no Lies is split into two halves, each chapter spinning from one character to the next, leaving the reader with an uneasy feeling of what might happen next.The two main characters, Gemma and Mike, are both hiding unbearable secrets about their parents. Their terrible secrets hangover them like a dark rain cloud never to go away.
Gemma and Mike, are two very lonely people looking for someone to help and understand them. In their despair, they both bring out their bad side and do things which are completely out of character. Award winning Malorie Backman writes with alot of feeling. She paints a vivid picture in the readers mind, of the passionate book which brings tears to the eyes of many.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2003
This book is good, but not excellent. It doesn't compare to Noughts and Crosses. It's about a lonely girl named Gemma and a new boy at school called mike, and they have both lost their mothers. Its all about jelousy, bribary, hatred and friendship. It is worth a read but you have to keep to it because it's a bit slow. Malorie Blackman's trick is to hide secrets within her characters and slowly reveal them in the story to keep the reader gripped and she does this well in Tell me no lies. What i'd say is if you have the time, read all of Blackman's books as she is a terrific author, but if you have time for one book then keep searching because this isn't it.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 February 2010
Courage is a word rarely used to describe your average child who complains a lot and appears to be little more than devious and attention seeking, but in this book Malorie Blackman looks behind the "brave face" of the child with difficulties to examine not only the complexity of the problems that have made them react the way they so but also the daily courage some children have to display to simple face a world that is completely at odds with what they have been promised

I rate this book extrememly highly and should to be read not just by its target adolescent audience but also anybody involved with children who can take the time out and look deeper beneath the surface.

A brave and possibly controversial book that points out that nothing is rarely what it apppears when it comes to children and growing up
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
So as the blurb suggests the book follows Mike who is new in school; desperate to make friends, which he ultimately does, he finds himself at the wrath of Gemma. Gemma prefers to be invisible, pretending she is unseen and preferring to spend her time cutting out and collecting images of mothers. However when Gemma recognises Mike in one of her scrapbooks, she decides to use this too her advantage; blackmailing him and causing all sorts of emotional damage. The book spins between the two, who are both hiding secrets about their parents and themselves as this book looks at the danger of bullying, hatred, bribery and friendship all written in this authors compelling style.

The writing is simple and basic, written for reader 11+ it needs to be to suit the reading age. The description is also less but it works to help push the plot along although it starts slowly. I liked the use of Gemma’s controlling style despite her difficulty to fit in with the other students she has class with. It does feel a little dark in places, especially seen in Gemma’s dominating and bulling fashion, but it also looks at why she is compelled to act in such a destructive way. She’s lonely and tired of being the odd one out, which helps her become closer to her own family as a whole. I thought the tale of Mike, damaged by his abusive and aggressive father and the story of the day that they leave and his father dies was compelling and a strong contrast to Gemma’s tale and both being estranged from their mother’s helped to bring the two together. I thought the mystery surrounding the death of Mike’s father and the location of his mother helped to add to the mystery. The ending wrapped up well and the development of characters is advanced well and they both grow as it continues; it’s a compelling tale.

My only wobble was that Gemma is quite unlikeable ( I know this is a main part of the story) but even in the ending she comes across a little terse. I think she could have blossomed more, but it’s a minor point. Overall as I mentioned it’s not as good as Noughts and Crosses and if you’re looking for a book that’s just as good you won’t find it here. What you will find is well written book with a message. Pretty good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
I chose a 5 star rating, because I found this book interesting and it teaches you to never bully anyone or there will be a big punishment. I would recommend this book for people around age 7 and up. This book will teach you that when you are being bullied you immediately tell the teacher before the bully starts to blackmail you and make you do stupid things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2000
This book is a good book for people ages 11 - 14 and It is very interesting.It is about a girl named Gemma who lost her mother so cuts out pictures of other mothers for her scrapbook.Then this new boy at her school is desperate not to be noticed and has a secret so terrible it will haunt him forever but Gemma is sure she has seen him before. IT is a great book if you like mysterious books and once you have read the first page you will want to read more!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2008
Slow to start but once you're into the book it's really enjoyable and hard to put down. It's written from two different points of view which gives you an insight into each character's feelings and emotions. The story is based on bullying and has twists and surprising turns throughout. Would thoroughly recommend this book to other readers but mainly older children because of the issues covered.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
I absolutely loved this book. Portrayed each character so well, with each chapter from gemmas to mikes prospective. This book is one of Marlorie Blackmans best. I would recommend it to 10 to 12 year olds
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
This is a really interesting book; maybe one of Malorie's best. Basically, there is a girl called Gemma. She collects scrapbooks of people's mothers. One day, a new boy called Mike joins her class. She realises that his mum is in one of her scrapbooks, so she blackmails him to steal things for her. If he doesn't, she tells his secret to the whole school! But, Mike thinks she means another secret about his father... which she doesn't. I would give this book a 5 star rating! Your jaw will literally drop when you get to the end...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
i read this bookaroun the age of eight (im 15 now) and love i the book was a gift from my aunt who'd i really see and soon enough i got hoocked....lol...really good ~.^
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£4.99
£4.99

Need customer service? Click here