Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
123
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 November 2001
This album was released only one year after i was born, and so i never realised INXS' potential as a great band until many years later. 'Kick' is a fantastically made and presented album and shows just how good their music is. The one flaw found on this album would be the length, it lasts only 40 minutes, but within those 40 minutes you are fed some brilliant rock songs with the exception of one superb ballad, 'never tear us apart'. One of the best songs on the album 'guns in the sky' is very short and should have been made longer since it is an excellent track. Every song on here is worth listening to, both 'new sensation' and 'need you tonight'(their two biggest hits) are excellent guitar-driven songs, as well as the brilliance of 'devil inside' which is a personal favourite of mine. Michael Hutchence's wonderful vocals and the rest of the bands brilliant instrumentals make it an album that will stay in a persons collection for many years to come. A great display of rock at its australian-best.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 August 2005
Some records stand the test of time and "Kick" is certainly one of those. It is an iconic late 1980's rock album full of well composed ,melodic, guitar-driven anthems and ballads. However it is Hutchence's vocals with their intensity and urgency that are the highlight for me. Every track is a winner ; excellent songs like New Sensation, Devil Inside, Never Tear Us Apart, Mystify, Kick and Need You Tonight are all on "Kick" and they still sound great nearly 20 years later. INXS never seemed to be able to reproduce the quality of "Kick" on later albums, but this record remains one of the high points of commercial rock music from the 1980's.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2011
Music from the eighties suffers a bum deal far too often but sometimes people need reminding about the bonafide, undisputed classics that this decade thrust upon us. Albums like Thriller, Born In The USA, Reckless, Brothers In Arms and Hysteria proved in both sales figures and public enthusiasm that it was indeed a decade of the biggest of the big. Kick is another album to add to that list. Much like those aforementioned works it worked the singles market into a frenzy with almost half the tracks being not only singles but BIG singles! The album was huge. Who saw it coming? Well, 1985's Listen Like Thieves should have been an indication that the blue touchpaper had been lit and was ready to fire. Producer Chris Thomas tidied up the sound, took away the doodling and injected a grand ol' dose of stadium rock into the equation. Reprising this role on Kick with a bunch of short sharp no-filler tunes to play with it was beyond doubt that this was a classic. Like a snowball rolling down a hill it picked up speed and just seemed to keep on going. It seemed like the album would never go away and well into 1988 it was still ringing around the world. Clocking in at 3 seconds under 40 minutes its dozen songs are a perfect combination of those 80s stalwarts - the ballads and the punch-the-sky rockers. Made for stadiums and radio airplay, you couldn't get away from this no matter how you tried. And why would you want to. This was music made to be enjoyed. It didn't need to take its clothes off or autotune itself to death to get the public to buy it - it just came in shook you about and got out before you could complain. Even today, it doesn't sound dated like a lot of 80s albums do. The standards of production, musicianship and songwriting made sure this was an album built to last.
Like the rest of the INXS remasters the sound has not been tampered with to pander to the lo-fi generation. Instead, the dynamics have been retained, cleaned up for clarity and given a good polish. A nice healthy bottom end (perhaps on occasions a little too healthy) has been flown in and the result is very favourable. No extra tracks and the artwork is unchanged (with the nostalgic explanation in four languages of how to care for your compact discs still intact). However, the remasters have been priced sensibly and, in my opinion, are long overdue.
Kick was the peak and much like Def Leppard, who released Hysteria the same year, it was a slow but consistent journey downwards. But isn't that always the story?
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2002
INXS threatened to break globally for years before this album and 'Listen Like Thieves' almost did it for them.
Finally, this album hit it big, especially state-side. Surprizingly fresh and funky for its time, this album does last well.
Positive and fresh, they didn't match the quality of this album again until 'Welcome to Wherever you are'. Unfortunately, by then the bulk of their fanbase had noticeably diminished and it never recieved the 'Achtung Baby' status it deserved.
However, this is a pleasant reminder of how good they were. Worth a listen!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2009
With a Rock attitude (and in lead singer Michael Hutchence a lifestyle and death to match), pop sensibilities and knowing lyrics; INXS took the world by stormed in the late Eighties and early Nineties.

This breakthrough album from 1987 reads a bit like a Greatest Hits CD; with five top 10 hits including the seminal 'Need you Tonight', raucous 'Devil Inside', and emotive Rock Ballad 'Never Tear Us Apart'.
With a swagger and an arrogance that was pure Aussie, the band filled stadiums and sold records by the bucketload, and Hutchence's sad demise in the public eye sealed their Rock-star status once and for all.

Catchy, powerful pop with an edge; this is a pretty damn good collection of songs - and on Amazon it's a decent price.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 1999
It is very sad that with the loss of Michael Hutchence, there is also another loss, the loss of a great band - INXS. With amazing songs such as "Guns in the sky", "New sensation", "Devil inside", "Need you tonight", "Mediate" and "Never tear us apart" on this album, it's no wonder it is such a smash hit. There is such a range of songs included on this album, yet they all have that magical INXS feel to them. This is such a gem to be added to anyone's music collection!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
It's generally accepted that most albums recorded before 1985 sounded pretty dreadful when they were transferred to cd for the very first time in the 1980s, and sounded nowhere near as good as their vinyl equivalents. Even the Beatles albums, when first transferred to cd in 1987, sounded dull and lifeless, to the point where I, and probably many others, didn't listen to them very much because of the inferior sound quality, even though the musical content was excellent. This was a real shame.

But what about albums recorded from about 1986 onwards, when digital recording and cds were starting to become the norm? Whilst I have a number of remastered cds of albums recorded in the 1960s, 1970s and early 1980s, I have generally not gone for replacement remastered versions of albums recorded from 1986 onwards, believing, until recently, that any difference would not be significant. However, I came across this remastered edition of INXS's masterpiece for about a fiver a few weeks ago and decided to buy it, to compare to the original 1987 cd.

Before hearing the remaster I played the 1987 cd and it still sounded pretty good to me, although it seemed to lack a bit of bass compared to today's cds. However, this 2011 remastered edition, when I played it, was a revelation. It sounded absolutely brilliant. The remastering has opened up the sound significantly: sweeter top end, lovely bass and detailed midrange. It really is a fantastic remaster of this very fine album.

So my cut-off date for looking at remasters of original albums has now moved on about 10 years, to about 1996, and I'm now going through my cd collection looking at cds originally recorded in the late 1980s and early 1990s that I'd like to update. The improvements over the original for this album alone are so significant that it has convinced me it's well worth it. (I am aware, of course, like most cd buyers, that there is some very bad remastering out there, and some remastered cds [and new ones come to that] are pushed way too loud. However, on the whole, and based on remasters I already have, it is mostly worthwhile and beneficial).

Oh yes. Almost forgot. The album itself? Absolutely superb, of course, from start to finish (but most people know this already). Kick is, undoubtedly, one of the best albums of the 80s.

A New Sensation indeed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
I bought the original UK version pressed in Blackburn in the 1980s and like all the Phonogram/Polygram Record Company titles of that era suffered from the hard water syndrome that the discs were cleaned with prior to being coated, it caused the aluminium foil to crack and split under the lacquer finish after a bit of time rendering the disc unplayable, try getting Polygram/Phonogram to replace damaged discs mmm, no hope anyway production ceased at the Blackburn Lancs UK plant and was switched to Europe. This copy i bought second hand for 1p £1.26 postage from the USA. Its on the Atlantic label, made in 1987 and arrived as new condition, full marks to the retailer from the good old USA. Well done, 5 Star Plus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
Without any doubt this is a big old dumb album, totally lacking in any intellect whatsoever. Thankfully that's all part of its enduring charm. This is 80s pop rock at its best. There isn't an ounce of fat on this record; Andrew Farris and Michael Hutchence really excelled. I won't bother trying to identify favourites as there really is no filler, not a single duff track. In fact you can sing along with every single song - and, of course feel really stupid in the process. Strongly recommended to all curmudgeons who retain a soft spot for 1986.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
I cant believe I havent owned this truly great album since buying it on cassette in 1989! Its so well crafted and really lifts the spirits - Ive also discovered just how good the last three tracks are as I never seemed to make it to them when listening as a teenager. IMO this album still sounds fresh and has the ability to excite the listener, well me in any case...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)