Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

  • Lair
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
190
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.22
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 February 2015
The Rats was a stunning and absolutely gripping horror classic and would be very hard to follow but even though Lair isn't quite as good its still a corker in the same style as the first and nice to see a different setting this time.
Its takes a little while to get going this time but there is real anticipation and plenty of small sightings of the mutant nasties that you know it won't take long for carnage to break out.
The first real horror moment is in a graveyard and you will be pretty shocked at how graphic it is and its fingernail biting tension.
The rest of the novel is excellent but not as exiting as The Rats but when we get action it is breathtaking with some stand out moments belonging in a housing estate,the forest and a real jumpy chapter in the place they are investigating the rat problem.
The characters are very good like the first story though not as good as the previous book or the third book Domain but once again like every Herbert book we have a very strong lead character.
The finale is truly where this book gets the five star rating with a quite stunning attack by the rats on a huge house where the sheer power and size of the rats and the number of them is truly terrifying and is probably the best finale to any novel i have read.
This is as good a depiction of any end of the world type story you will ever see and even though i feel its the weakest of the three its still a classic part of a masterpiece trilogy of tension.
Once again rats will never look the same to you after this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
Am re-reading James Herbert, after first reading most of his books quite a few years ago as a teenager. This is my favourite of the Rats trilogy.

It is, basically, what it says on the tin: giant, mutant, killer rats running amok. A fair amount of gore and the obligatory James Herbert "love" scene.

I do like the little stories Herbert always put in his books, describing various people and their lives, tragedies etc. They generally meet a sticky end but it pulls you into the story more. I also grew quite fond of the rat with the peculiar white scar running down it's head- it seemed to have it's own little sub story going. I was routing for it by the end of book.

It is a bit dated at times, but classic Herbert and a very enjoyable read.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2000
'Lair' is the sequel to 'Rats' and a prequel to the last of the trilogy - 'Domain' and really should be read in order to get the full benefit of this outstanding trilogy. The first James Herbert novel I read was 'Creed' and I have been hooked ever since. He is a masterful writer and I have not read any of his novels that I have not enjoyed. Lair is a gripping, chilling tale and I found that once I started it I just could not put it down until I had finished it. It certainly did give me a few nightmares but definitely well worth a read, the best out of the 'Rats' trilogy by far.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
They are back and out for revenge, revenge against their most deadliest of enemies...us...mankind. four years on from the horror that caused hundreds of deaths in London, the RATS are wary, memories of their near extermination at the hands of the humans have been passed down to the current generation of mutant rat, their insatiable lust for human flesh and blood held back by attacking and slaughtering animals but not so many as to be greatly noticed by the human population. Now they have a new hiding place. You may never go into the woods again. REMEMBER WITH FEAR.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2005
If you liked The Rats, then you will like this one, as it is more of the same, except this time the rats are on the rampage in a forest just outside London. (This is the second part of a trilogy, although the books can be read separately.) No-one does this quite like Herbert: The action is taut, the description is vivid, and the story is gripping. If the characterisation is a little one dimensional and the story a bit predictable, it doesn't ruin the enjoyment of the book. Come to it with average expectations and enjoy. Not his best but a good one nevertheless.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2003
Lair is an outstanding follow up to The Rats. James Herbert has done it again, this book is a griping, easy to read classic that you will not be able to put down. Herbert's writing style is so discriptive that you will hate the sight of rats for ever more. This is a must read book that will make you a lifelong fan of the best horror writer in the world today, and will encourage you to get every one of his amazingly readable novels.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2012
After reading `The Rats', I knew at some point that I'd be wanting to revisit the other two books of the trilogy, and as this is the first of the two sequels, it's the logical place to start (or to continue, if you'd rather...).

The main protaganist this time around is a pest controller, working for `Ratkill', a nice little set up to get us into the action, this time based in Epping Forest, where a small group of mutant rats that survived the mass extermination at the end of the previous book have been laying low and building their numbers, safely out of the sight of their natural enemy, man.

As with the previous book, I was survived just how tame the gore actually is, and how much of it there isn't. Time has moved on, I guess, but it's still a fun story, driven more by action and plot rather than character development - once again, Herbert excels at the set pieces in the book, and of course there is the obligatory early Herbert sex scene, which although still making appearances in his later books, is more sporadic. There are the usual little vignettes showing the Rats at their devious work, and these are always fun.

All in all, there's not much different here from the first book, but it's definitely worth a read if you enjoyed the previous offering. It's short, it's very easy to read (much like most of Herbert's early work), and well worth a go.

After reading this first sequel, it would be easy to think that there was nowhere to go with the mutant rat saga without creating a third book that was almost identical to the first two, but Herbert went for it, and did it in real style!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
This is a bit like the literary equivalent of the early Evil Dead films. Great fun if you like that sort of thing (which I do). I read an old copy I found at a holiday cottage in the Lake District when I was about 14 and then again on my Kindle recently, and it was still just as enjoyable.

There are so many things to smile about with this book, like the way Herbert always refers to the characters by their full name, and the way these very same names give away their role within the story. I also love the way that a character can be introduced, given a long, detailed backstory and then get unceremoniously bumped off, all in the same chapter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
If you read the rats and enjoyed the read, this book takes you out of the city and into the countryside. although the idea is the same the setting is different which still makes it a good read, the main characters are likeable and it's easy to settle into the story. If your a James Herbert fan and would like to know what happens next, it's worth picking up the lair for more rat infested reading, it did leave me with the urge to get the third book just to finish off the saga.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
This is the second book of James Herbert I have read and I could not put it down; I can't wait to read the last in the series. Although am totally scared of rats before reading this it has me fixed on turning each page and the ending of this book was a real page Turner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.74
£4.74
£5.22
£4.74

Need customer service? Click here