Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
391
4.1 out of 5 stars
The Dark
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.22


on 14 January 2017
Ok have to say I'm a massive fan of James Herbert and when he passed away we lost a massively great writer in the horror genre.
This however is not one of his strongest works. It takes time to get going, again very strong male characters and fairly feeble female one.
A good book but you can struggle with it.
The darkness comes and rakes over people's minds it becomes so strong and science cannot best it but neither can the psychics etc.
The ending is rushed and it feels almost as if there is a chunk of the end missing, only about a page and half, but an important chunk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
Told with incredible pace and understanding of the paranormal, many people dispute the paranormal but it is there
I am a believer and have been blessed with the powers of psychic ability
The story is tremendously put together and it explores our own beliefs in the powers of good and evil, the description of places and people was extraordinarily good
A great book by a brilliant Author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
I thoroughly 'enjoyed' The Dark which is pretty grim reading in parts. As well as the creepy sequences, there is lots of action in this novel and I certainly found it to be a 'page-turner'. The residents of Willow Road turned into all manner of homicidal freaks stemming from the goings-on at Beechwood House and that's just the beginning as the malign influence expands over London taking the story to epic proportions.

I would recommend it to horror fans with strong stomachs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
As always James Herbert delivers the right amount of tension that keeps the reader entertained, sadly since his death there will be no new novels. RIP
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
Classic horror. Not my usual read but enjoyed the ride!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
I have just finished this book, and I must say it is a very good book, It refers to so many ideas as to what the dark means that you find your shelf trying to suss the problem out your shelf and at certain point as you gripped to th chair as you quickly read on to see the out come of the story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
James Herbert books are the best, have read it before, but worth another look
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
James Herbert is an exceptional writer, I have the complete collection in paperbacks and I'm currently attempting to get them all on kindle. I've read this one over 12 times and enjoy it every time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Fog
£5.22
Others
£5.22
Moon
£5.22

Need customer service? Click here