Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

  • Creed
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
154
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.22


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 22 May 2015
Creed is a photographer, stalking out a celebrity funeral when he sees something disturbing. He manages to capture it on film, and this begins a chain of events that will put Creed's life, and those of his loved ones, in danger.

I did enjoy the novel but there are quite a lot of references, contemporary to the time it was written, which make it feel dated. The tone is pulpy rather than frightening; the demonic toilet was particularly enjoyable! It was good, just not great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
I read The Rats years ago and am just rediscovering James Herbert this is my favourite book to date. The main character is not your typical tall dark and handsome character, it is a truly gripping story with many twists and turns I would highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
always good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
I had read this on paperback decided to read it again and was glad I did as it is a good book as always from James Herbert
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
Took me an eternity to get into this book glad I soldiered on, fantastic ending Herbert will always be one of the greats.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
James Herbert is brilliant and so is this book, I love his dark imagination and he always has such believable characters you either love or are terrified of.
KARRIE.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
I really loved this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 December 2004
James Herbert's 15th novel continues the high standard of Haunted, albeit in a completely different style. The cover copy probably overstates the case - "You'll Be Afraid to Laugh" runs the tagline - as Creed is by no means an outright comedy, but it does have it's rotting tongue in cheek on more than one occasion. This isn't quite the knowing post-modernism of Wes Craven's Scream, but it certainly comes close on occasion. What makes the book a success is that these flashes of blackest humour derive from the voice of the main character - Joe Creed - a cynical member of the despised tabloid paparazzi, a slob whose only real interest is himself, and with no belief in anything supernatural. Just watching Creed struggle through his career is entertaining enough, and the fact that he isn't some flawless hero makes his reactions to the supernatural more believable. Add in an unwanted child dumped on him by his estranged wife and his delicate balancing of doing the right thing and earning money makes for some great drama. While there are moments of black comedy however, Creed for the most part works as a successful horror novel, in fact this novel contains some of Herbert's most chilling material, with Creed being harassed by a bizarre nocturnal visitor and doubting his own sanity. If there is a criticism here then the ending feels a little rushed, but with it's winning combination of chills, black humour, and an intriguing lead character Creed is never less than entertaining reading, and one of Herbert's best books.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2001
I thought that this was a thrilling read. The main character is your classic anti-hero. Most of the characters aren't cyphers and are complex, adding to the story. Also most of the characters aren't good or bad like in other Herbert novels making you want to find out what happens in the end. The ending is original and I didn't see it coming! Herbert has excelled again.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2001
Herbert is on top form with this novel. I love this book. It is very well written and has a clever, engrossing plot which makes the book hard to put down. From the first chapter (a bizarre funeral sequence) the pace never slackens. James Herbert is not afraid to take new directions in his writing and this is very evident with 'Creed'. What seperates this from many of his earlier novels is the emphasis on dark humour (in one instance Herbert sends up the 'rats' books). Alongside this however are some very scary and unnerving moments. Poor Joe Creed experiences some terrorfiying encounters. I would consider 'Creed' to be the best of Herbert's more recent books. This is an unusual novel and is a great deal of fun to read. I would wholly recommend this novel.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.74
£4.74
£5.22
£5.69

Need customer service? Click here