Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
654
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.25+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2017
Lawrence of Arabia in 4K is a glory. The dialogue is snappy, acting is superb, the visuals are very impressive and sometimes astounding.

Compared to modern movies the lack of CGI is a real breath of fresh air; real people in real locations filmed by a director and movie making team at the top of their game.

Pacing in a 4 hour movie is always going to be a problem, however in something this visually impressive you won't want it to end.
33 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
The amazing, enduring thing about this master piece documenting the Arab contribution to WW1 in the Middle East, is that it was made in 1962. Now 55 years old, it still tops the ratings, is still regarded as one of - if not the - best film ever made. An historical and cinemagraphic masterpiece.

Oh .... some folk can get political and silly about it, but thats noise for the dry academics, and the drama queens. This film is for posterity, and a record of amazing - if at times barbarous - moments in history. For all the latter, it was still a remarkable achievement by the Arab irregulars, and its this film, that ensures that does not get forgotten by the revisionists as time marches on.

The film-craft and photography are quite remarkable, even more so after the remastering to match with current 4K technologies. It is a true, if somewhat hackneyed phrase ...... " They don't make 'em like they used to" ...... If you are one of the newer generations who have not yet bought, or even heard of, this masterpiece of historical film-craft .... do so without hesitation. Just make sure you store away some copies - particularly burnt onto CDs - so you have them in your old age.

Its highly likely this masterpiece will still be top of the ratings even then. A remarkable film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2017
It has been the best part of 30 years since I saw this film on TV. I had heard about the 8k remaster and then duly forgot about it. I got talking about "Ice Cold in Alex" and I thought I hadn't seen Lawrence in a long time. I was thinking about waiting on the UHD 4k disc release, but at £6 I'd rather watch the film now on Bluray 2k. Wow, the picture quality is so good, the colours are rich, the depth is there and the sound is crisp and detailed. Sony did a splendid job at cleaning this up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2017
This is not a film review simply the Blu-ray edition review! This film was visually stunning on DVD and so the Blu-ray was surprising as I hadn't expected it to be so much better than the DVD. The Arabian landscapes seem to really highlight the difference between the formats. It doesn't make the film any better; it was a classic even before VHS, but it's a good reason to watch it again with something new to appreciate.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
What else can I say about this film? Other reviews have mentioned it is a masterpiece of the screen, incredible cinematography, wonderful acting and all these are correct. Personally, I think this is probably Dave Leans best film, although Dr. Zhivago runs a very close second. Overall this is an absolute classic and should be savoured for what it is, a masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Taken from a 70m print provided some excellent visual effects. Given the age of the film the visuals were clear and sharp. The high resolution enjoyed was a surprise. So for lovers of great films where the story is not overshadowed by complex effects this is a good watch. The sound was a little flat in places hence the four stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
A most brilliant of all experience to watch in large, widescreen HD viewing and sound, if you are one of the lucky ones whom happened to have that, honestly must say. Within that regard, absolutely brilliant experience, one of the best movies ever made now on blu-ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
A classic amongst movies ,it is timeless and will always appeal.

NOTE: For the first few minutes only, the music will be played with your screen blank. Have no fear, be patient and the movie will eventually come on and your enjoyment will begin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2017
I recently read Peter O'toole's biography on holiday and decide I would watch Lawrence of Arabia again - a superb cinematic masterpiece just an amazing film and performance from Peter 😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
One of my most famous or ite films the scene with Omar Sharif slowly appearing on the camel unforgettable highly recommended but very long
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)