Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 13 February 2013
I just love films about extraordinary people - it is so inspiring to watch what some people can achieve. And this is such a film to love.
This 84 year old man decides to learn to read and write and is so determined to do so that he can endure almost anything and in the end he even ends up in the UN in New York to tell about the power of reading.
He has endured lots of horror in his life, so him being this strong, wise, gentle old man is amazing and inspiring.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2013
I enjoyed the film and would recommend it to those people who like thought provoking and moving films. It was a little slow in places, so if you like fast moving films, then this wouldn't be for you. Some aspects were hard to watch, but very enlightening - this was a part of history I am ashamed to say I didn't know anything about. I am pleased I bought this DVD, as I have wanted to see the film for a long time. It didn't disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2016
Moving film based on 'true life' story of very elderly Kenyan man passionate for specific reason to learn how to read....I took this DVD as gift to friends in Uganda who loved it. Good value for money and very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2013
I bought this DVD after watching the film on TV. I have really enjoyed watching it and when I have time, I shall watch it again. It is an unusual film but all the time one finds oneself rooting for the main character as he struggles against discrimination.

As usual the delivery was fast and all together I am extremely satisfied.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2016
Based on a true story, and very inspiring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2013
There are African films directed by Westerners and Europeans to make them fit in with the Western/European market and sensibilities. And then there are African films! Although this is an easy 'get' and ticks a lot of the commercial boxes it is directed by an Englishman who seems to have made a genuine African movie. It is also set apart by the magnificent central performance by Oliver Litondo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2017
The British Empire exposed for its incredible cruelty. Watch this and be ashamed. Atrocities committed not by SS troops but by British National service men.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2016
Quick service. Good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2014
Amazing film
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2012
First Grader gives an honest account of the education system in Kenya, it also gives an insight into the difficulties for the Kikuyu when they were wanting independence just around the time when our Queen came to the throne. It also gives a good representation of Nairobi as a modern thriving city, not the usual slums that you see in many documentaries. It is a sad, funny entertaining film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)