Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
212
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2015
Something you might have missed A friend told me about this film Really rated it.Well acted and certainly worth a look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
harrowing british movie.brilliant cast. i would watch coleman and marsan any time....peter mullan is very good too...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
Brilliant...Hard and totally emotional.. but still find harmony through all what life has to throw at you...Perfect!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
I would recommend this dvd to anyone! Very good film was quite enjoyable! Nice if you want a quiet night in!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
The film of the decade the acting is the best I have ever seen a must see film you will not be disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Very good film. Good story and fine acting. This film is very underrated. can life up North be this grim?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
A great story that is bleak and yet uplifting at the same time. Brilliant performances for a good cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
Paddy Considine's first feature is astonishing. The writing is tight, the cast is stella and the photography is of the Ken Loach vein: grey, slow and its own character. Olivia Coleman in particular deserves to win all her nomination categories this award season.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After watching the short film Dog Altogether I was left wanting more, the characterisations were so good that you couldn't help but wonder what happened next for them - with Tyrannosaur we get the chance to see.

Within the first few moments we are introduced to both male brutality and tenderness when in a fit of drunken rage Joseph kicks his dog, it's a fatal blow but instead of becoming a monster he's a victim of his own impulsiveness and is left stroking the paw of his loyal companion. He's a man in turmoil, unhinged and lost he finds a brief moment of sanctuary in a charity shop where the Christian worker there prays for him. Although he doesn't share her God, Hannah's words about the lost man who needs guidance touch his soul and he weeps. The two connect after several similar meetings which are often tense as Joseph struggles to contain his cynicism and dismisses Hannah as living a privileged middle-class life, but she understands his solitude better than he realises. Their conversations may descend into abusive outbursts but there is no pretence and they bond through their honesty.

Paddy Considine crafts a small ensemble of characters who all feel very real, it's that reality which makes the film an uncomfortable watch at times. Themes such as alcoholism, racism and domestic abuse are portrayed in a way which never feels 'acted'. Although this is Considine's full length directorial debut he's no stranger to the film-making progress, his style is confident and although similar in its depiction of reality as friend Shane Meadows' titles - it looks in no way derivative, this is his own creative vision. Dark filters and grim locations make this a gritty film with lots of atmosphere, camera angles from behind objects give the impression that we are voyeuristically peering into the lives of Joseph and Hannah. The performances of Peter Mullan and Olivia Colman are nothing short of exceptional. Mullan is constantly intense, he's almost exhausting to watch because he's so unpredictable. He manages to be intimidating and scary but also never ceases to be vulnerable. There was shock at Olivia Colman not being nominated for Best Actress at this years BAFTAs and I can understand why, she is utterly convincing and as we get small glimpses into her own terrible experiences her words are tear-jerking. Mullan is such a powerful actor that it would have been easy for anyone else sharing screentime to have blended into the brickwork, but Colman stands out and brings her character to life.

The Blu-Ray release doesn't disappoint, for a film which is primarily shot using a bleak colour palette there is still plenty of detail in the shadows. It's not going to blow you away with stunning high-definition detail but faces in particular contain a lot of texture, especially in close-up shots. The extras aren't extensive in quantity but they are all well worthy of a watch, the deleted scenes are nice but what makes them fascinating is Paddy Considine's explanations for not including them in the final cut. He talks about film-making like he's a veteran film maker and his commentary (with Diarmuid Scrimshaw, producer) are accessible and flow well, Considine has great on-screen presence even when he's talking about a film rather than acting in it. The best bonus feature has to be the original short Dog Altogether which I loved years ago when I first saw it.

In a nutshell: Two people with their own private miseries start to let each other into their own personal space and find someone to share their thoughts with. This isn't an easy watch and I suspect many will turn it off and be repulsed by what they are seeing - but that reflects the quality of the character's authenticity, if they felt fictional then much of the impact would be lost. It's not quite a perfect film (a steady pace builds to a rush during the last moments) but it's easily one of the best films of the year. If I could give this 4.5 stars I would, but on balance I have to give 5 because the characters stay with you for some time after the credits have rolled, something Considine managed back in 2007 when the characters first made it onto the screen.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
A great brit film that gets to the gritty side & makes you both angry & sorry for those in the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)