Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 January 2010
Budding jazz guitarists should take a good listen to Barney Kessel and notice not just the fluency of his playing but just how well he fits into the ensemble. He blends so easily from his own solos into the background behind others that he seems almost invisible - too many of today's guitar players overwhelm procedings with their sound.

The four CDs can still be picked up but you'd struggle to get them this cheap individually, let alone as a package. The one absent track...? Once you realise just how much music you get for under a fiver, you'll forgive Avid for not spreading it over 3 CDs to fit the extra track in.

The only downside (at least with my copy)is with the liner notes. Having purchased several others in the Avid series (Clifford Brown, Milt Jackson, Chico Hamilton) I'd gotten used to the reproduction of the back covers as part of the package. The notes to the Kessel release are sparse and, being an annoying muso, I was irked at this... but then I played the first CD and all was forgiven. The tracks are clearly listed and the personnel is all set out (in very tiny print), so I don't have much cause to complain.

So...for under a [] you get four albums worth of some of the best music Barney Kessel ever recorded. If you want the full liner notes to the original releases and the extra missing track, then spend a whole lot more on the individual CDs. Buy it now.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There's only one track missing from this compilation, which is excusable, given that both CDs run to over 79 minutes. The albums in question, which date from the mid-fifties, are "Easy Like" (on which Bud Shank plays flute and alto), "BK Plays Standards" (featuring Bob Cooper on oboe), "To Swing Or Not To Swing" (including Harry "Sweets" Edison, Georgie Auld, Jimmy Rowles, Al Hendrickson, and Shelley Manne, but minus "Twelfth Street Rag"), and "Music To Listen To BK By". The influence of Charlie Christian on Kessel's playing is in evidence throughout, and I've thoroughly enjoyed this compilation of cool bop-influenced West Coast jazz.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
A joy to listen to - Kessel, Manne and Brown are a superb trio. Enough said. Poll Winners is a great album too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2011
Barney Kessel was one of the greatest jazz guitar players to ever be recorded and this compilation of his first four albums showcases his talent. From the first track you can feel his natural swing which gave him such a relaxed and effortless style. He is equally at home as a soloist or simply supporting others with a gentle rhythm and laying the chordal basis for their playing. As an illustration of his abilities this collection is a terrific showcase of his work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
I'm gradually buying various Jazz guitarist albums as I'm finding my way around this genre.

I must say this has been an eye opener - Mr Kessel is an excellent accomplished player, and the sound of his "band" is fantastic. This is one of the best jazz guitar albums that I have bought to date.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I believe that this was one of the earliest Avid double album releases and sets the standard musically for the many that have followed. However the accompanying leaflet is not as detailed regarding sleeve notes although personnel is given, although a magnifying glass is a useful aid.
The four albums are from the period 1953 - 1956 and Kessell, a fine guitarist in any company, finds himself with an assortment of well known musicians including Bud Shank, Shelly Manne, Hampton Hawes, Red Mitchell, Sweets Edison, Andre Previn, Jimmy Rowles and Buddy Colette and others.
Great music and excellent sound quality, and better still GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Every jazz lover should buy this cd. Four LP's on two cd's with fine jazz. Barney Kessel is not very well known among jazz lovers and that's a shame because his playing is interesting and hearing it gives a great pleasure. In my opinion it sets standards for jazz guitar playing. Buy this one and I can ashore you that you'l never regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
An excellent compilation of some of the best of Barney Kessel. I bought the original album "Barney Kessel Plays Standards" somewhere around the mid 'fifties and this CD certainly bought back many memories. Most tracks are as fresh and inspiring now as the day they were laid down. Beautiful swinging guitar and superb harmonies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2010
One of the greats in my view,not over flashy, but extremely competent. Some of the tracks are a bit "rough and ready" but it does not detract from the enjoyment.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
These are important albums in the evolution of Jazz guitar, along with the likes of Charlie Christian, Jim Hall, John Scofield.
It is a must for Guitar Jazz fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)