Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

The Dark Side Of The Moon
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 September 2011
This is my 3rd cd version of this album,also had the vinyl,way back in the day,couldnt help myself the carrot of the live disc sold me,so what do you need to know?

Disc 1 : is the original disc,remastered by James Guthrie again,his '94 remaster was perfect as far as i could tell and truth be told i cant really detect any noticeable difference,sometimes with these 'new' remasters i think you will convince yourself to hear something different.initially on first play i thought possibly a little clearer,the background voices slightly more audible,after a couple of listens with the headphones and comparing to the prev disc im not too sure.Whats not in dispute is this is a fantastic piece of music that has stood the test of time,beautifully arranged.played and recorded nearly 40 years ago,its hard to believe there will be a first time buyer,so i guess most will know already what their buying.

Disc 2 : now i've never heard any live 70's recordings of 'dark side...' so this was my principle reason for buying and its well worth it,clocking in at around 12 mins more than its studio counterpart there a couple of moments were the band add in a little extra,nothing too much to change the overall feeling and what a performance,all four members on fire and a sound quality that frankly stunned me,i thought a recording 37 years old may suffer but this is absolute quality and worth the purchase price alone.

The sound quality on the remaster is excellent so no worries there,the packaging ,well that a different story.the 2 discs are housed in a tri fold digi pak which the seams are already tearing,the housing for the discs quite tight,so beware when taking in/out,the booklet is very average,no improvement on the '94 remaster,just the lyrics and photos already available previously,all housed in a flimsy slipcase,if it wasnt such a superb musical release i would have been tempted to dock a star.

The rhetorical question of course is why not just release a live set from wembley '74? answers on a ten pound note to EMI.

Ultimately its the music that counts and this is a 10/10 on both cd's,a truly wonderful album with outstanding live bonus disc.
2626 Comments| 193 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2011
Floyd / EMI really missed a chance here. This really could have been something truly incredible, but alas it's truly overblown and lacking in substance worthy of its ticket price.
Granted there may be a small percentage of fans out there that want a bit of memorabilia, there's nothing wrong with a bit of fun, but surely not when it's at the expense of the remainder of the package. I would imagine the vast majority of fans out there who are prepared to fork out the top dollars for a set such at this want quantity and quality, gimmicks I imagine would be well down the list.
In terms of what is provided here the live at Wembley set from 1974 really does sound astonishingly good, absolutely miles above even the soundboard recordings readily available for share from this era. However as this is also available as part of the 'Experience Edition', the question is what does one get that makes this upgrade worthwhile?

The 2 DVD's / 1 Blu-ray discs are chocked up with surround versions of the album and replications of the projections (concert screen reels) played on the big screen behind the band at the time. The fact that this is what makes up the vast majority of 3 of the 4 bonus discs (to the Experience Edition) is IMHO what lets the Immersion set down big time. Firstly the SACD version of the album is readily available and to my ears absolutely flawless. It simply has to be one of the best hi-res surround sound releases on the market, so i can't imagine there would be too many folk out there that would actually be excited by, or need further surround sound versions of the album.

The concert screen reels are pleasant enough, but can really only be seen as bonus material as there's no concert footage of the band playing to go along with them. What would have been ideal is to present a full DSOTM performance on DVD with these concert screen reels provided as a bonus angle. In fact this set is totally void of *any* footage of the band performing DSOTM (except for tiny snippets during a 25 minute doco that was made to promote the SACD release of the album back in 2003). What live footage we get is of Careful With That Axe Eugene and Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun, and this is so good it's actually heartbreaking that no further footage was dug up, restored and provided.

The set is rounded out with another CD, and it features an early mix of the album by Alan Parsons, presumably before Chris Thomas was brought in. It's an interesting listen and great for fans buying the box set as no doubt they all know the album back to front. It's an aural version of spot the difference. Speak to Me hadn't been spliced together as an overture yet, Clare Torry is absent from Great Gig and the track is 30 sec shorter. Hearing the naked version of this song really highlights what a lift it received from her vocal improvisations. The dialogue interspersed throughout the final mix hadn't been added as yet here so it's also interesting to hear the album stripped of that, but when one is so used to it, it's quite noticeable in its absence. No heart (drum) beats bookend the album, rather a Moody Blues-esque mellotron-like chord commences the album, and a fade out of the final chord of Eclipse rounds it out. Also apparent now is how much effort was put into the final mix in terms of building the suite of songs that finish the album to a full climax and release. The segues of Any Colour You Like, Brain Damage and Eclipse kind of limp together here, but on the final mix each songs entry packs an increasingly bigger punch building a memorable finale to such a deserved classic album! The early mix whilst solid enough shows the band making an obvious improvement on Meddle, but still trying to define themselves. There's no doubt had they released this early mix it would have sold well, but it would certainly not have taken the band into the stratosphere the final mix did.

The remainder of the bonus tracks on this CD are definitely worthy and warrant inclusion in this set. The Hard Way (from the aborted Household Objects project) which, whilst not pre-empting any of the sound of Wish You Were Here, sounds years ahead of its time. In fact if the track had managed to get a bit of a groove happening it could almost be a proto-Massive Attack sound. I can only assume the synth-like sound is actually the wineglasses that are often made mention whenever the band refers to the session. It's a great sound and alone makes this track worth listening to more than once!
Two demos are included: Us and Them is just Rick plonking away on the piano (without vocals), and Money simply Roger on acoustic guitar giving a very earnest vocal perfomance (which I actually love!) His original splicing of money and cash register noises is tagged neatly on the end. The true highlights of this disc are the 3 live tracks from 1972. The band at this point were such an amazing live band and these tracks really highlight the jam-nature of the band at this point free from the controlled song structure they imposed on themselves as they became a bigger phenomenon. The Mortality Sequence contains just one run through of the chord progression that became Great Gig, the remainder being a lovely chordal improvisation from Rick on the organ. Any Colour You Like is relaxed and has beautiful playing from Gilmour and Rick, then Nick starts increasing his frequency of drum fills and the song for 30 odd seconds is totally rocking! The Travel Sequence appears in both live and studio form, and I assume was dropped from the album in favour of On The Run (they both share 16ths on the hi-hats) and for being another instrumental. It would have been filler on the album itself but makes for a great outtake/bonus track!

However the high points of this disc again highlight what could have been! Why not another full set of DSOTM? Imagine if this box set contained the prototype live version (from 1972) as well as the aforementioned '74 Wembley set. I'd gladly trade my marbles and scarf for that!! Who in their right mind wouldn't?? The sound quality of the '72 tracks featured here isn't as strong as the '74 set, but I doubt there'd be too much complaint about that, it's still miles above bootleg quality and very enjoyable. I guess tellingly the 3 tracks supplied are all instrumental, so perhaps messers Gilmour and Waters vetoed their vocal performances from this particular gig. If that's the case that's a real shame, being a bonus feature I could live with the vocals being off mike, cutting out, or even being a bit out of tune. It definitely wouldn't be a deal breaker.

Finally the last real let down of the set is the booklets. The two booklets enclosed should have been reduced to one, and a further booklet should have been commissioned by EMI giving extensive interviews with the surviving members of the band (even interspersing handpicked quotes from Rick) and session engineers. There's no discussion of the live material (audio or visual) or concert screen reels, no discussion of the Household Objects project or the dropped Travel Sequence track... All of which would have made killer (not to mention essential) reading.

Genesis really set the benchmark for reissuing their back catalogue and genuinely giving their fan base what they wanted in terms of a value packed upgrade. 2 box sets issuing much in the way of live tracks and rarities, followed up some years later by solid sonic upgraded SACD surround sound mixes for each album that came with bonus DVD's of interviews/making of docos + TV appearances and concert footage (some broadcast quality interspersed with some bootleg quality, but at least a document for fans to enjoy) Those wishing to dive in for box sets were rewarded with further bonus tracks and DVD footage + essay booklets. All in all a pretty simple and satisfying benchmark to at least try and reach.

Alas with Floyd we have been given gimmicks and a just a taste of what could have been a truly worthwhile and immersing experience.
1919 Comments| 87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2010
This album is a fashion accessory for those who want a good record collection that they will never listen to.

If you want to be hip and be admired these are the albums you should have in your collection;

Dark side of the moon (of course!)
Beatles White Album
Meat is murder - The Smiths
An album by James Brown (doesn't matter which)
Blood on the tracks
Kid A - Radiohead
An Album by Van Morrison (anything as long as it doesn't include Moondance or Brown eyed girl)
A Tom Waits Bootleg (not an official release)
Low - David Bowie
The XX album (gotta be down with the kids - insist that it's pure simplicity is it's charm)

That should just about do it. Might be an idea to have a quick listen through just to familiarise yourself with some of the song titles.

Hope this helps xx!
2020 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2009
Dark side: I bet even Darth Vader wouldn't listen to this rubbish and this is coming from a Pink Floyd fan. This is the most overrated album I've ever listened to, it starts off slow and never seems to get going. It's so over done and annoying like the bells at the start of time and the great gig in the sky should stay in the sky so no one can ever here it. There are no great guitar solo's shocking lyrics that even Robbie Williams could do better, no it certainly didn't 'ECLIPSE' me and I wouldn't waste my 'MONEY' on it. Even 'Ummagumma' makes more sence than this, so get on your 'BIKE' and go buy 'Piper At The Gates Of Dawn' instead it's so much better!!
2020 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2007
Nearly as over rated as My Chemical Roamnce. Just because people call it a classic it dosen't actually mean it that good. There is only 10 tracks and all of them are really dull. WHY WOULD ANYONE SAY GOOD GUITAR SOLOS? There all pretty bad. Nothing special on this album but the sales. If anyone thinks this is good then they will never fully appreciate music. There's so much more better stuff out there than this rubbish I'm sorry to be mean but there is. Money is ok. Their only listenable song for me is Another Brick In the Wall
1717 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2011
Discovery, Experience and Immersion editions? What plonker thought up that piece of americanised marketing nonsense? Make the rich even richer editions would be more appropriate.

Amazon sent me an email suggesting I might like to buy this and I was mildly offended. I bought this back in 1973 and was sick of it within a year. By then I was already into more inventive stuff like John McLaughlin's Mahavishnu Orchestra. Even within it's own genre this album was a bit behind the game: Yes had released both Fragile and Close to the Edge a year earlier in 1972 using odd time signatures and vastly more immaginative bass lines than the plodding durge dished up by Waters.

If you are thinking of buying this I would suggest seeking medical advice as you are obviously suffering from autism or some form of obsessive-compulsive disorder. Why else would you want to listen to ten different versions of an album released 38 years ago?
1111 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2011
I will extend this review over time.

After waiting a good six months from pre-order, I finally got to hear the first of the Pink Floyd Immersion box sets, DSoTM.

SACD fans will already have the important JG 2003 5.1 surround sound version of DSoTM but this should open the mix up to more people with DVD and BluRay formats and not SACD.

Also included is the 1973 quad mix which also sounds brilliant in the 2/2 format.

Noticeable extras are early album mixes (1972) of the album. Listen to Great Gig in the Sky without Clare Torrys 'vocals', it certainy offers up a different perspective. Yes, the final release was the best but it's interesting to know where they were, before they eventually got there.

3 CDs, 2 DVDs and a BluRay are included with multiple versions of the classic album, concert footage, concert screens, documentaries and much more. It's a shame they didn't include more video of the band playing Dark Side live back in 74 as the quality of the snippets were tantalising. Still, what we do get comes close to being perfect.

You also get the usual rubbish included like marbles and drink coasters which seem standard for these sets, but the two photo books are nice. The back stage pass is a sticker and the ticket stub is as pointless as it is cheap.

If only The Wall immersion contained as much new material as this. There is still 'time' though.
1010 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2011
The immersion boxed set is a bit of a mixed bag to be honest.

Music wise it is 4/5. I deduct 1 star for not including the SACD version but it could be argued that anyone likely to be buying this set would already have the SACD(it is very disappointing that the Wish You Were Here set will not be including it, rather you would have to pay an extortionate amount to purchase from USA and not previously available so doesn't even have that excuse). The 5.1 bluray mix is totally immersive. It would have been a nice bonus if you could have watched the projections while playing but on the other hand it might actually detract from the music. Extra tracks are a nice bonus and the concert from '74 sounds fantastic.

3 marbles - ?
Booklets - slick but not of much substance.
Scarf - ?
Coasters - unlikely to use as such given they come from such an expensive item.
Memorabilia - unmemorable

Box itself - the most important part of this set is the music. The box is designed so that 4 discs sit soundly in the bottom of the box fixed and 2 discs are loose in cardboard slip covers.The contents of the box then sit on top of the 4 main discs, meaning you have to lift it up every time you want to listen to one of the 4 main discs. Why not have them sit on the same holders with a cavity underneath to hold the scarf, marbles etc? This would mean the music was immediately accessible. Albeit it only adds 1 or 2 seconds to getting the music discs out it has already become an annoyance and I have placed the 4 discs in their own slip cases on top.

Mind you I will still buy the others. Another reviewer points out that we are not forced to buy the set if we don't want it, however you are currently "forced" to buy it if you otherwise wanted to hear the 5.1 dvd and bluray mixes as these are not available in that format separately (though the cynic in me thinks these may end up being released in a year or so time to make even more money).
77 Comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2006
Oh my lord!!, what happened in the seventies to make people think this was considered a great album? Two of my friends, told me that this was album was on of the greats! I now think that it was infact a wind up! shocking from start to finish, one or two good giutar solo's, and that's your lot, most songs sound the same, with strangely random noises, bad vocals and about as much imagination as an omlet! For anyone to call this album the best ever frankly I find blasphemous!!
1010 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2011
I just don't see where the value is in this product. It looks like a cynical cash in on people with rose coloured glasses.
88 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)