Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
10
5.0 out of 5 stars

on 21 May 2017
This contains best collection thus far of classic roots.Excellent throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2017
Great tracks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
I have other Trojan Presents - Dancehall, Djs, Lovers' Rock, Ragga, Foundation Dub - and I wasn't sure about purchasing "Roots", as I wasn't really sure what they would define as roots music; whereas I know what areas of reggae the other titles cover. However as I have been impressed with the other titles in my collection and I love the reggae genre I decided to add this one to my collection as well. And I am glad I did. This another excellently curated collection of soulful songs that, whilst being relatively commercial, do seem to fall between "Dancehall" and "Lovers' Rock" and hence warrant their own grouping. All the tracks, though not readily recognisable cross over hits, are of the straightforward pop/reggae type though with more substance in the lyrics and generally without reliance on simple hooks. I don't think there are any weak tracks here and a good time span has been covered. In all I would say if you like reggae but feel you have a fairly limited knowledge of it and want to venture "a little off the beaten track"(but not into any of the sub-genres), subsequently adding to your collection of reggae tunes then this is an excellent product for just that.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
I bought this cd as I've been searching for many of these for a long time, especially on one compilation album. Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
good sound quality and lots and lots of new (to me) stuff covering the roots of the genre. great value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2015
Best compilation ever!!!
More play time out of this album than any other. Every single track is fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
excellent...when people made music from the heart... this certainly isn't Bubble Gum music.. its REALITY...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2016
40 tracks of high quality roots music. Pick your choice!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2016
Classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

This Is Trojan
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)