Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(4 star). See all 98 reviews
on 26 April 2017
Pretty voice but a bit lightweight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2011
This is a brilliantly recorded debut album with a high-quality content. Laura's voice, particularly in its lower registers, is particularly well suited to the traditional folk genre and her diction is perfect, allowing the words to be heard with clarity. Some of the arrangements, particularly towards the end of certain songs, force her voice into the upper registers for no apparent reason - other than to show her full capabilities.

With the exception of "Now Sleeps The Crimson Petal" (an excellent arrangement and performance of a Tennyson poem) and Lavender's Blue (delightful), most of the rest of the songs are fairly common on albums of this type. However there are atleast four outstanding versions of songs on this album; "Scarborough Fair" (where the haunting quality of her voice is well suited to a song about being in league with the Devil); "Drink To Me Only With Thine Eyes" (where Laura's pure voice and the simplicity of the arrangement allow the wonderful words to speak for themselves), "The Ash Grove" (the best I've heard, lovely touches on the harp appropriate to a song of Welsh origin) and My Bonnie Lies Over The Ocean" (wonderful sound and delightfully uncomplicated); the disc would be worth purchasing for the versions of these four songs alone. Excellent value too.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
Laura's pure voice is a rarity these days. Beautifully sung but I found the CD is just a little bit "samey" which is more to do with the production than the artist. Maybe this is something they will address for her next Alban?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2011
The heavy promotion on ClassicFM and delightfully melodious quality of Laura Wright's voice both attracted my attention - "songs you have known all your life" was an appealing concept, though as it turned out 2 or 3 were unknown to me. I am not disappointed by the quality of the CD or by any of the tracks she has selected. BUT 48 minutes for a debut CD (you will not find this mentioned anywhere on the CD materials) is taking advantage of a public willing to support a launching artist. It could and should have contained more.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2011
Thgis is a good selection and range of tunes. It is well produced and well sung. It really does what it says on the cover and in the constant Classic FM advertising
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2011
I was very pleased to receive the CD so promptly and have since played it many times, enjoying the selection of music as well as Laura Wright's voice.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2011
Al, my wise teacher some years ago had a nostrum about composers which, now I am one, I try to keep in mind'...If they can't arrange a folk song, I'm not interested'. I suppose some people feel the same way about singers. There's a slight difference in that many times these days this sort of project-unless its from the new folk stables in Scotland or Ireland for example- is these days invariably overcooked and naff. But Laura Wright knows what these songs are about and sings them beautifully, while the arangements don't have to hide her. I hope she'll go on to sing other rep- hers isnt an operatic voice, but an eloquent one in other ways.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
Very pleasant to listen to - a good voice and excellent backing in most instances. I felt the choice of materials good, too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2011
A very pleasant and gentle album. Best served up in the warm garden sunshine accompanied by a nice glass of chilled rosé.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2011
A CD which contains a variety of the more classical folk songs which are expertly sung by a young singer.
The songs offer her the chance to show the full range of her voice
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)