Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Real King's Speech [DVD] [2011]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 July 2013
Since I've stammered since early childhood I could well understand the frustration that comes with the problem and I'm a long way from the King of England ! The movie was adequate but the documentary that came with it is fantastic. That should have had a public opening.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
I choose this DVD to see how the Kings stammer was treated. I thought it was brilliant, and the way in which the then Queen was a great help to him.
It must have been very daunting for him to give a speech, knowing, that everyone was watching and listening,and then a pause, watching it, you felt that you wanted to go and help him. It seemed like a life time waiting for the next word to come, and probably he must have felt very embarressed, but in the end with help he managed to over come it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2016
Having enjoyed the film by the similar name, I thought it would be interesting to watch this documentary to understand where the film had taken the liberty to adapt the storyline for a better narrative. Whilst I feel the documentary wasn't bad and was more faithful to the timeline, I didn't feel it went into a huge amount of depth, so I came away with very little new knowledge.

Overall, probably worth the £2 I paid for a one-off watch, but not something I will run back to time and time again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
I wanted to see this to remind myself how the real King spoke, having watched Colin Firth's interpretation. As a small girl I took it for granted that kings just spoke like that, in a slow and measured way. What a transformation after Lionel Logue's coaching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
I enjoyed it previously and gave this one as a gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2016
Really good documentary we both really enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
An excellent narration of the historical facts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
Good value for money - enjoyed the DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)