Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2012
A monastic rule of life might seem an unlikely bestseller but the Rule of St Benedict was almost certainly the most-read book outside of the Bible for five centuries around 1000AD.
In this kindle version, it is preserved in solid English, with a guide to reading it day by day. I haven't done that, but have found it ideal for dipping into, on the bus, or wherever your kindle takes you.
Its thoughts, whether about ordering your day, or how to say sorry, are maxims that have stood the test of time.
Worth getting a kindle copy if you're already a fan, and certainly worth purchasing if you've never heard it before.
This could be about the best 80p you ever spent.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
Having recently been reading a bit about monks and benedictines in particular, I thought I'd go back to the grass roots and read their rule book! Not as strict a regimen as some of the other monastic orders it still wouldn't suit me! The celibacy I could cope with at my age, and the simple quiet life - but not the getting up in the middle of the night to pray! It gives an insight into the mindset of the Saint's followers and is an interesting read. The kindle version is clear and well produced. At the Amazon price, well worth it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2012
A convenient, and cheaper, way for me to own the Rules. Although not religious, I do official guided tours of a Cistercian Abbey and the Rule forms part of my tour. Kept on my iPad, it.brings the past and today together in a different way.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
A reference for all who have a sense of proportion on living morally. Particulalry for those living the religious life and following this rule but also for others who are studying basic rules. However it is written many years ago and much of it is still very wise advice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
Great little book, some really usefully stuff, especially chapter 4.

For those of us who desire to live in a monastery without walls, be blessed as you read!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
Saint Benedict is not merely a Saint and a Doctor of the Church, he is a Patron of Europe. His Rule for the monastic life has
withstood the test of time for almost 1500 years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
Insightful model for any institution. This could apply to business or any other organisation in the modern world. It speaks across the ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
As a novice I found this version better due to it having all the dates in it for the readings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
excellent value - simple rules for life and nothing changes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2016
Very good swift service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)