Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
10
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2001
This is one of those albums which everyone should be given a copy of at birth; my introduction to the world of Tobin which jointly with his other albums occupy my all-time favourite albums (defeating the two year reign of Massive Attack's Mezzanine!) is perhaps an insight into the dark depths of Tobin's mind. The mood is sinistre pretty much throughout whilst the tempo changes from tranquil (Slowly) to frantic (Boxer vs Golfer). Although all his stuff is fairly genre-evasive, Supermodified is certainly less drum'n'bass-y than his previous efforts; and as the title suggests, the production is heavier, thicker, which gives the music the atmospheric, brooding sound. I think I marginally prefer his other albums to this one but it all depends on mood; Permutations is probably the most accessible and a recommended starting place. But whatever you decide, definately try one of his albums they are all incredible - so original and yet kind of intuitive in that, particularly with Supermodified, you can really relate to them where other electronic music lacks that human edge. My personal favourites are Deo, Slowly and Rhino Jockey. By the way has anyone heard "Adventures In Foam" under Tobin's Cujo alias? Oh and one more thing, play this on loop all night and through dreams or that state of half-sleep/half-awake you'll have the strangest thoughts, trippy or what?!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 October 2005
This guy is seriously cool, and incredibly talented.
As has been said numerous times already, Amon Tobin's music cannot be easily pigeon-holed into a particular genre. As a guide, just realise that Tobin is the biggest selling Ninja Tune artist. Given that, you will know to expect top-quality beats.
Part Drum & Bass, part breakbeat, part hip-hop beats, and always catchy, Supermodified has a bit of everything. This album, more than any of his others (except "Chaos Theory") really creates that oft described "cinematic" atmosphere. You can't listen to 'Four Ton Mantis' and it's steady build to crescendo without imaging it being the title track to some hi-tech thriller movie. The experience is recreated in many of the other tracks, such as 'Rhino Jockey'.
'Deo' is another standout track. Try listening to this slow-tempo number without waiting in anticipation for the chime-esque effect that occurs every so often during it. It's just brilliant.
'Slowly' again shows that Tobin can slow things down from his often break-neck speed beats. Cool jazz and some fresh beats has never sounded so good.
In conclusion: Perfect, absolutely perfect. Chill-out to it, get psyched-up by it, do anything with it on. It's just brilliant.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2001
This remains the definitive recording of the sweet beat. Better focussed than Permutation and Bricolage and, in intensity, streets ahead of those who've recorded any work since. Aching and longing and soaring spirituality combine in a performance that will stand forever as one of the all-time greats. The sweetness manages to live quite happily in this exalted company as Amon makes a comparitively unscary composition into something that terrifies even the ear and lodges in the memory. The recorded sound needs no allowances made for its ambiguity. A recording to treasure and play for ever. It should be in every collection!
You may also like:
Bad Company (inside the machine), The Cinematic Orchestra (motion), Any other Amon Tobin albums.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2002
After buying the album for no other reason that I was attracted to the cover, I couldn't believe it when it also turned out to be one of the most versatile albums I own. With it's dark beats and mood it is definitly music for creating ambience. Tobin pushes the boundries of genre, by creating what can only be described as a classical-electro style. Taking you through a ride of throught provoking tracks right from the start. For people looking for something different then this is for them. A worth while addition to any record collection. Only down side is that it does take a few listens to truely appreciate how good it actually is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2001
Amon Tobin knows how to blend electronica and Jazz. One of Ninja Tune's most famous children strikes directly in our brains with these dark underground jazz sounds floating on subliminal electronic echoes and creating a melancholic ambience... if you liked his previous work, this one will amaze you!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2008
Laterally, 'Supermodified' is a mood piece; sound-scapes etc, but as a concept - I'm afraid it's off the rails. It doesn't draw the line, it's in over it's head - I get a disturbing feeling that it's something to be scared of.

The road Amon Tobin is walking isn't gonna lead anywhere good.
'Supermodified' is extremely corrupt. Full of decadent ideas and whims all crammed up against each other like lemmings. It conjures up areas of mystery and sultry dynamics, readily striking maddening chords in reviewers, like yours truly, who vociferously decry 'rock' in all its insidious forms, but hypocritically embrace its very fundamentals at every opportunity.

'Supermodified' has as it's granddaddy 23 Skidoo's epic 'Seven Songs' from way-back. It has the same granite intensity, the same uncompromising fluidity.

I know nothing about Amon Tobin, I'm non-plussed about his hap-hazard title, and I'm immediately suspicious of anything 'Featuring Quadraceptor' (what IS that!?); but you get the feeling he shouldn't be confined, plonking away in dank, dungeon-esque studio's. He should be out in the sunshine, floating over field and dale, invoking mind-imagery in a classical music sense. Film work surely beckons.

'Supermodified' is the angular, spiky world of 'electronic brush-strokes' to cosh a cliché, but it's surprisingly diverse, deceptively melodic and, after a good few spins, genuinely haunting.

Deconstructivist jollity aside, I was riveted by 'Supermodified' and I wouldn't mind more.
I just wish I could be sure it was safe.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2008
Amon Tobin is a class act... period!

Search out all his work, including Cujo, and you will never be disappointed whenever you play him in all your years to come.

Genius... the guy is an artistic genius.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2000
Amon Tobin makes 21st century Jazz and atmospherics blend with harsh and funky beats. Simply stunning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2005
Oh boy! "slowly" that is such a gorgeous track.
Mr Tobin you were inspired when you recorded this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2002
How this has received so many 5 star reviews is beyond me. This CD is devoid of any real rhythm or groove to make your head rock. Yes there are many various styles used but it doesn't add to the final product instead it sounds like a mish mash of a sampling machine and sound effects.
Most tracks immediately turn me off and despite wanting to get into this it will not be one of those CD's that I return to in a few weeks, months or years as it is going into the bin. All I can say is that if you do choose to buy this then it will be money poorly spent...
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)