Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
112
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2017
Very good, I personally believe this is another futuristic reality that we've got to look forward to like some of his other films, they seem to know HUMAN MICROCHIPPING is coming..... one of my favourite films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
This movie was one or if not the first horror I watched as a kid and I've always remembered it fondly. Great so see it out on Blu-ray there's some nice featurettes and it's a good transfer to Blu-ray. Worth the money of any fan! It's a good B movie, it just gets criticism for not featuring Michael Myers
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
Trade Secrets:

Shout! Factory present 'Halloween III: Season of the Witch' uncut and in its correct aspect ratio on this Region A locked disc. I never saw the DVD Universal released Stateside, but given the praise that disc has received over the years, I wouldn't be surprised if this hi-def transfer was struck from the same source.

With a thin-but-clear sheen of grain covering the image, 'Halloween III' is rewarded with an increase in detail and clarity. As ever, close-ups provide the best cases for oohs and aahs, but what struck me especially were the little patterns and textures now clearly visible on clothing and other materials (most notably when "Little Buddy" tries to rip through the degenerating pumpkin mask in his death throes).

Digital noise reduction may have been applied, as there is a surprisingly slight amount of grain in evidence, but there's no obvious detrimental knock-on effect, and that filmic quality is very much in evidence with little in the way of print damage.

Likewise, edge enhancement is never a problem, and black levels are rock solid. In fact, Dean Cundy's darkly envisioned cinematography is given perhaps the most substantial upgrade, with strong colours that pop right off the screen and shadows which only ever swallow details they were always intended to.

The disc is supplied with a basic DTS HD Mono audio track that won't exactly blow away seasoned audiophiles, but still does an efficient job of reproducing the film's original sound design. A front-heavy affair, dialogue and music are well balanced, with John Carpenter and Alan Howarth's jump scare music cues receiving a notable boost. Of course, the Silver Shamrock jingle has never sounded better either (ohhono).

Onto the extras, and 'Stand Alone: The Making of Halloween III: Season of the Witch' is exactly the kind of retrospective documentary fans of this once sadly doomed sequel have been waiting for. Members of the cast and crew reflect on the film's development, its disappointing release and the slow-but-sure rise in its cult appeal.

In 'Horror's Hallowed Grounds: The Locations of Halloween III', hosted by enthusiastic mega fan Sean Clark, we're taken on an eerily nostalgic trip through the present day locations used three decades earlier to shoot 'Season of the Witch'. Most of the key haunts are covered, with Clark later joined by director Tommy Lee Wallace as they explore the small town that doubled for Santa Mira; and watch out for a fun cameo by an actor from another underappreciated 80s horror sequel.

Two audio commentaries are also made available. The first features Tommy Lee Wallace, who's joined/moderated by Rob G. (from `Icons of Fright') and Sean Clark (once again). This is a most enjoyable listen that delves into virtually every aspect of 'Halloween III', whether on or off-screen. There's never a dry moment, and its three contributors pull off the impressive balancing act of being both deeply informative and highly entertaining.

The second track plonks star Tom Atkins in the spotlight alongside moderator Michael Phelps (who worked on the 'Night of the Creeps' Blu-ray). Atkins exudes a huggable warmth as he fondly recalls his time playing Dr. Challis (with tongue wedged in cheek). At times, the discussion becomes more of a commentary on Akins' career as a whole, with some surprising 'Lethal Weapon' trivia and one particularly lengthy tangent focusing on his nightmarish experience behind the scenes of William Peter Blatty's 'The Ninth Configuration'. Lack of focus aside, Atkins makes for some brilliant disembodied company, and fans shouldn't hesitate to sit through 'Halloween III' with him.

And rest assured, both commentaries enjoy poking fun at Atkins' character's natural ability to hit on anything without a Y chromosome.

Additionally, a selection of trailers and a still gallery are included to round out a package that even incorporates reversible artwork. If there's one problem worth noting, then it's the lack of a scene selection option. I mean, c'mon, what gives?

Final Processing:

This was the disc that finally convinced me to buy a region-free Blu-ray player (albeit a modestly priced one with all the durability of a Kinder Egg), and I'm glad I took the plunge. Shout! Factory have released what looks set to be the definitive edition of 'Halloween III: Season of the Witch' for a while at the very least. Any fans on this side of the pond not held back by region coding shouldn't hesitate to mark it down on their import list.
22 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
<<<THIS IS THE FULL UNRATED UNCUT VERSION>>>

Order this one if your in the UK with THIS COVER...and NOT THE OTHER COVER as those other versions are CUT.

You have been warned people!!!

One of the most under-rated Horror films of the 80's. Not overtly scary, but it has atmosphere similar to the original THE FOG. damn remakes can't hold a soggy s*** soaked stick as all these originals......
55 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2016
I was looking forward to watchingy favourite horror movie, which I ordered on DVD from Amazon, only to find several gruesome scenes had been cut. I don't understand the cuts. There are far more gruesome scenes in other horror movies. The 'misfire' scene where the woman's face gets blown apart and a bug comes out of her mouth was completely cut, and that is one of the best scenes in the film! The skull pull scene was cut. I feel like I need a refund as I am so let down. The whole point of a horror movie, is to see HORROR! Apart from this, I still enjoyed this terrific film, but the scenes that were cut are the best scenes, so I am hugely disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
Best movie I've ever seen ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2015
I can understand to some degree with what the other reviewers say about not having Michael Myers in Halloween 3. But for me, I love the fact they made something different and original with this movie. Who wants another movie about a killer who is just going to kill people and is after a family member. That has already been done and is so borning. I really appreciate something different.

This movie has it's scary moments. I really love the "Happy Halloween" theme. Excellent theme and I like singing along to it when it comes on. I won't give away any spoilers but it's a really great movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 31 October 2014
Let’s get it out of the way... ‘Halloween 3: Season of the Witch’ was a critical (and more importantly) commercial failure. Basically, after the highly successful (and profitable) ‘Halloween’ and ‘Halloween 2’ people were expecting big things from the third instalment. The first two were about a – seemingly unstoppable – killer called Michael Myers and his relentless desire to generally murder youngsters. However, Part 3’s ultimate ‘failure’ was that it basically has nothing to do with the first two instalments.

Part 3 is a completely new story which doesn’t follow on at all. And that was the main ‘problem’ people had with it. So, it got immediately slated and has kind of fallen off the radar, as far as horror movies go.

However, if you don’t really look at it as a ‘Halloween’ movie and simply a stand-alone horror film, it does tend to take on a life of its own. We join Dr Daniel Challis when a possibly mentally-unstable old man is brought into his hospital, only to be murdered in very suspicious circumstances. Therefore, Dr Dan teams up with the man’s grieving daughter to investigate. And, their investigation takes them to an out-of-the-way town in the middle of nowhere, run by the – somewhat creepy – Conal Cochran.

First of all, Dr Dan is a rather different hero. He isn’t very reliable, frequently forgets to visit his ex-wife, buys his kids rubbish present, flirts with pretty much anything in a skirt in the hospital where he works and then sleeps with younger women in meets in a bar (all while wearing a handkerchief hanging out of the back of his trousers). And, did I mention while he’s doing all this he’s also trying to save the world from cyborg robots and fiendish occult plots.

But, dodgy heroes aside, the film is actually pretty creepy. First of all you have the music (which is done by horror legend John Carpenter) which adds to the dark, unsettling atmosphere. Then you have Dan O’herlihy, playing arguably one of the most nasty villains in cinematic history. He really does have a plan or two up his sleeve and it isn’t nice! Then you have the general gore. It’s hardly a ‘gore-fest’ but when the gore comes, it’s pretty gruesome and what isn’t gory is pretty unsettling.

If you want to give Halloween 3 a go, don’t view it as part of the franchise. Just be in a mood for a darkly-nasty horror tale. It’s also probably best to put at least half of your brain on hold for the duration – that way you can ignore the odd plot hole. I don’t care what people say about it. I still love it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2007
Halloween III should be seen along with all its flaws as a bit of a near piece of genius. It's a cult classic and should be the film that everyone watches every 31st October.
Michael Myers isn't in it so don't compare it to the previous 2 films.
There is no horror film like it. The originality and the cleverness of the whole production make it very special;
from the opening credits - the pumpkin and the desperate escape; the chronology of the story captioned on screen;
the haunting advert jingle; the whole Autumnal Halloween atmosphere captured; the almost undiscovered Irish community which hides something so very sinister; the Halloween cameos and references; to Dan O'hilerhy's sublime portrayal of the dark, calm satanist who just seems to exude evil without doing very much at all with just a smirk, a look or a gesture. The last 10 minutes of the film just seems to break all the rules of the genre and all credit to the film and all involved in it.
This is a clever film. There are moments where you could pick holes in it at leisure but it'd be difficult to top Halloween III for innovation, orignality and atmosphere. Pure Halloween magic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2016
Be warned, the edition Scanbox have presented here is NOT the original cut. I believe the cut presented here is the one for TV broadcast, with from what I can see several scenes having missing elements. The most noticable of which, is the scene where the saleswoman is trying to disassemble the Silver Shamrock badge which results in her being the victim of a 'misfire'. The cut is so obvious as to be nearly amateurish.

I did not purchase this from amazon, but from a high street retailer to whom it was promptly returned. I am really disappointed that what I feel is one of Carpenter's most underrated productions has still not received the release which it so richly deserves. If anyone at Arrow Video is reading this, c'mon guys, please give this the Blu Ray restoration Carpenter fans as I would love to own!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)