Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

Transit [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 August 2014
A seemingly ordinary on the surface suburban family on a road trip, have to set aside their underlying differences, when a group of ruthless criminals decide to stash the $4 million they robbed from an armored car on their family 4x4 in order to get through a police road block. However, obtaining the money on the other side is going to be a much more difficult job than they had in mind, as these hardened criminals stumble into a family feud.

Overall Transit is an enjoyable shoe string budget ($5m) taut chase thriller through the backwaters/swamps of Louisiana. The first 30-35 minutes sets up the scenario & insight into the characters relationships at an even tempo, with some injection shot tasters of what's to come. As by the 40 minute mark the film really kicks into gear, with some neat car chases , tense foot pursuits as things spill out into the swamps & exciting action confrontations. That like the backdrop are presented well with a nice few tricks that pertain nicely to the movies financial constraints, while not ruining the immersion. They're are some nice twists in the movie that you don't see coming & the character relationships within each group & crossing over maintains interest in the characters so that they aren't totally one dimensional. They're are some contrived parts of the stories progression & the usual implausible gun play elements (endless ammo etc..) , but the quicker pace by this point ensures you don't dwell on it too much.

The acting is pretty well rounded for a movie of this calibre. Jim Caviezel (Person of Interest) is watchable as ever, as the ordinary suburban Dad, Nate, pushed to extra ordinary actions to try & save his family. Ably supported by Elisabeth Röhm (Law & Order) as his distrusting wife , Robyn, who goes to bat for her family, protecting her kids, Shane (Sterling Knight -Sonny With A Chance) & Kenny (Jake Cherry -Night At The Museum). The baddies are headed up by the menacing James Frain (The Tudors) as Marek, who put's in a good contrasting performance to Caviezel. The infighting with partner in crime, Losada (Harold Perrineau - Zero Dark Thirty), adds an extra layer of controversy. Diora Baird (Texas Chainsaw Massacre) as Marek's lover Arielle & Ryan Donowho (Altitude) as the getaway driver Evers are credible enough. Along with the other few minor support roles.

In conclusion, Transit is a no frills action thriller set to the backdrop of the eye catching Bayou, that manages to entertain with well produced car chases & on foot action with the occasional battle of wits. Contains strong language & graphic violence. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2012
I wasn't expecting much settling down to watch this but was pleasantly surprised.
The story is simple, thieves steal 4 million dollars and want to escape across the boarder.
knowing they will be found with the loot they plant it amongst bags which belong to a family who are going away on a camping trip.
Of course they want the bag back so they intensely pursue the innocent family with violence and action along the way.
The movie swiftly moves along at a good pace with no boring bits atall and there are a couple of twists with characters I didn't see coming.
I was easily kept until the end with a decent simple storyline, overall good acting and well done action/chase scenes. The family is likeable and I couldn't help rooting for them.
No ground breaking stuff here but this was a small budget ride which succeeds in entertaining without having to think too much
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2012
OK. I know this is not due out until 7th May. But I gotta hand it to you, it's on release at Blockbusters, so I got to see it. Pretty cool flick with Jim Caviezel playing an ex-con who goes on a camping trip with his family, when unaware during his trip.. Four armed robbers manage to put their ill gotten gains on their jeep.
Now, determined to get it back, they hunt the family.

After watching this, it turned out to be a really cool flick. Especially if someone was to watch it on a rainy day. Jim Caviezel did well in this one, just like the last flick he's done in Highwaymen. Produced by the man who gave us Lethal Weapon and Die Hard. This one was really good! Thumbs high!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2016
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2012
Sometimes you have just have to be in the right mood for a certain film on the right night for all sorts of reasons. When I watched this on DVD I got a great kick out of it. Perhaps on another night I might have felt differently about it.

Yes its formulaic. But the story line is nevertheless inviting and I thought the entire cast did a great job. Set in the Bayou - which always makes for a great backdrop - the tension was maintained throughout and even if you knew that the bad guys were in for a frustrating day, you couldn't predict the obstacles they faced from the plucky, albeit domestically fraught, innocent family fighting back.

As I alluded to, if you're in the right mood for a bit of Hollywood-inspired tension this might just fit the bill.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2014
The film is a truly tense affair as a family travelling south on holiday become victims of a vicous gang who have held up a security van carrying over four million dollars.
The crooks plant the stolen cash on the familys roof rack in a camping bag at a 'Diner-Stop because of a police road block up ahead.
The family are about to endure a terryfying episode as the theives try to get the stolen money back.
'Jim Caviezel' (Passion of The Christ) gives a electrifying performance.
This is a good movie, well worth a spin
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2014
Delivered in quick time. Most impressed.. Happy customer.. Many thanks..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2013
I can watch most things and I only want to be entertained don't waste your money on this film. I couldn't wait for this film to be over I kept hoping it would get better and it didn't.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2013
I started watching this and while I inititally thought it was mildly interesting, it descended quickly into completely unbelievable rubbish. Such as when our main man Mr Caviezel smashed his phone on the road after being left in the middle of nowhere by his wife (err..your only means of communication to the wider world?!) and when, after hearing the bad guys coming down the road, he decided to not only get off the road (a sensible precaution given the circumstances), but to go wading through alligator infested waters for god's sake??

There were many more stupid little things like this throughout the movie which produced many "what the hell are you doing you idiot??" moments throughout. Very little thought has been put into the detail of this film at all. I should have trusted my gut instinct after having seen Caviezel in The Count of Monte Cristo (which was also garbage, a millions miles away from the book, which was excellent).

So glad I only got it via LoveFilm and don't actually have this trash stuck in my own collection.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2014
I mostly agree with Cheryl's good, brief review (for Amazon-Canada) of "Transit: This Is Not a Perfect Getaway" (V.V.S. Films 1682 being the North American DVD edition viewed). However, I would contest her rating (of only 3 stars). This action and road film of crime and abduction is OUTSTANDING! And I am not even a big fan of the action film category, at that. The plot turns upon a vacationing family, among whose auto's car-top baggage, unbeknownst to them, some murderous thieves "plant" their loot from an armoured car which they robbed and who then spend the remainder of the movie, foremost among other things, attempting to recover their stash.

James Frain, especially, and Jim Caviezel are among my favourite actors and they cover themselves in glory in this fast-moving film. I never expected Frain, one of the ruthlessly brutal criminals in this movie, to appear in such a role, having seen him in numerous films in artier genres (as well, of course, as in"The Tudors" televised series). His character is relentless focussed on his family's welfare and his acting, (very appropriately, too) relentlessly convincing. Caviezel not only is persuasive as one very tough, determined, and resourceful father, but he succeeds in characterising the man's total commitment to protecting his nearly estranged wife and their two sons with a love of burning intensity.

No additional indications of details of the storyline from me, either, Cheryl! You are right that such a plot-driven film needs that element of surprise, maybe this one even more of that than usual. "Transit" is more intelligently conceived, too, than many cinematic works of its type, adding to the pleasures that it provides, with no loss in other interest and thrills that this motion picture has abundantly to offer.

The setting is in Louisiana, much of it in bayou swamplands. The provides some very interesting scenery, not to mention some alligators and a snake who have their own bit roles to play in the film. The setting adds immensely to the viewer's fun watching this film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)