Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
40
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£3.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2017
One time producer of such mega budget fare as 'Die Hard', 'Lethal Weapon' and 'Predator' Joel Silver turns his attention to the low budget arena - teaming up with the very excellent helmer John Hyams (he of those crazy 3rd and 4th 'Universal Soldier' sequels) to create a rather rousing, if slight martial arts melodrama that blends the bone crunching reflection of the directors’ other movies with an early '80s urban action thriller...

St. Jude Square is a grungy, long forgotten neighbourhood living under the terrorising rule of duelling gangs - presided over by a corrupt police chief by the name of Mr. V (a very good Peter Weller). When ex-con Ryan Hong (Cung Le) arrives to discover he may not be able to live under their reign, he begins to play one against the other (Akira Kurosawa style) by using the only thing he has at his disposal: The power of ass-kickery! Calling on the time his mentor, Tiano (Van Dammage on cameo duty) guided him in the way of smashing one’s head in - he teaches these gangland fellas a thing or two about manners, by a roundhouse kick to the noggin or a cleverly placed boot in the family jewels… however, just as things are starting to look habitable, Hong is confronted by Mr. V who at first seems impressed by his particular brand of punch-ology, but soon sees the canny martial artist as a threat thus plunging the two into a headlong battle with the fate of St Jude’s residence hanging in the balance…

Although low budget and boasting a numbskull script by Tim Tori (try saying that fast three times, whilst drunk), director Hyams is a master of the muscular. His precise direction captures both that early ‘80s trash urban thriller subgenre (think your ‘Exterminator 2’, ‘Enemy Territory’ and ‘Tenement’s’ of this world) and a late ‘70s Hong Kong martial arts actioner, giving the audience a lone hero who doesn’t seem to quite understand the concept of ‘live and let live’. Lead Cung Le is a great mover, but it seems not quite ready for a lead at this point and between his disconnected looks and little boy lost routine it all hinges on his mastery of punching bad folk, which thankfully he excels. Luckily, he’s supported by a parade of veteran talent from the aforementioned Weller who eats the scenery like a boss to the brief but highly entertaining cameo from one Sir Van of Damage - Jean Claude himself! Sure, he’s in a blink and you will miss him role but still manage to light the movie up and you’ll be glad he was around. The movie itself is a slight, seen-it-all actioner but thanks to the strange sideways swipes of the director, who has continually given his movies a strange, otherworldly feel combined with a sterling lead villain performance from Weller ensures this adds up to a fine beer and dips night in with your buddies.

G2 Pictures UK Blu-Ray sports a very fine transfer bolstered by excellent audio. Sure, the movie is cheapo action fodder but the imagery is nicely rendered and thanks to the expert direction from Hyams - the movie looks as pretty as a dirty picture. The extra features are minimal but for the price Amazon are asking, one can hardly complain… All in all, an okay effort and worthy of 90 minutes of any action move junkie’s time who has made it his mission to see every movie that Van Dammage has ever made (…erm… er…). Well, except that ‘Derailed’ bunkum. Not even someone as stupid as I could make it to the end of that one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
Dragon Eyes really surprised me. Its a fairly decent martial arts movie but not up to the standard of Vane Damme's great movies.You may think its just an average cheap production movie but you may be surprised about the quality of the movie. Van Damme doesn't have a lot of screen time but you can see him through out the movie in short sequences.Now the blu ray HD quality is what impressed me the most. It looks fantastic on blu ray. The detail is very high especially on facial features. I have seen big hollywood production that can be ashamed on quality of picture while Dragon Eyes quality can teach them a thing or two.It looks that good. In picture quality is a 5/5.For the price I recommend it as you never know you may enjoy it. Great seller. Fast delivery. Thank You.
review image review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
So please fast delivery thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
Jean-Claude Van Damme plays a minor role as the prison mentor for Mr. Hong (Cung Le)..."There are two tigers inside you." These are seen as occasional flashbacks. Mr. Hong rents an apartment in an Hispanic neighborhood of St. Jude and immediately draws attention to himself. He attempts to pit two gangs against each other (both work for Mr. V (Peter Weller) although does so rather poorly as he leaves a calling card with an oriental symbol for change. But wait...that is all part of the master plan. Mr. V also controls the local cops (Craig Walker, Kristopher Van Varenberg).

Rosanna (Crystal Mantecon) plays the straight honest daughter of the landlord.

Mr. V. recruits Mr. Hong to work for him. The film has some questionable plot points...such as why Mr. Hong was allowed to live so many times. It utilizes grindhouse style music and introduces characters with written screen titles, however the film doesn't quite flow lie a good grindhouse, either by design or poor editing.

F-bomb, sex, nudity (stunt double Arielle Zimmerman)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
A lone fighter cleans up a small town, including taking out warring gangs and corrupt cops. The plot is lifted straight from Yojimbo (later copied by High Plains Drifter, Last Man Standing etc).

I was expecting a lot more from director John Hyams, as his first film since the excellent Universal Soldier : Regeneration. This is also the first movie I've seen from legendary action producer Joel Silver's After Dark Pictures (Transit, Stash House).

I won't be in a rush to catch any more. Thoroughly routine, shot on HD video and digitally bleached to almost black and white, with no dramatic tension at all, it's just hard to get into the story. Jean Claude Van Damme is featured prominently on the cover but is only in the movie for about 5 minutes - this is a Cung Le movie. The only positive are the well filmed and choreographed fight scenes.

There are much better action movies out there - it's not worth seeking out unless you are a Cung Le fan.

The DVD has a good picture (it's probably not worth upgrading to Blu Ray), 5.1 audio and optional subtitles but no extras (just 2 trailers).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
Very satisfied with my item as I am a big jean Claude van damme person
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2012
The negative points about this movie are pretty much the exact same negative points as Universal Soldier: Regeneration. Why? Because they're both directed by the same person (John Hyams) who's basically a horrible director. The movie tends to be dull, scenes seem to be scattered all over the place, there is hardly a story, nobody shows any sign of body language, characters have a very mismatching personality if they even have one and there's only a handful of scenes that are worth watching.

The film doesn't seem to know how to keep consistency, at-least enough to make you concentrate instead of cringe. The way it shot a still-screen and zoom in towards the face with a 1-second clip of some trashy metal seemed like an excuse to get out of actually telling you who they are. Yeah sure you know their name or nickname but you're cringing so much at the horrible editing you miss it really easily.

This movie infuriated me with the lack of sense it made. Throughout the entire film, it literally feels as though you're accidentally skipping scenes as things happen almost as if they're in the wrong order.

I was motivated to watch this film as it was martial arts and I saw Jean-Claude Van Damme who I'm a massive fan of. I thought I'd have a better outlook on Cung Le seeing him as a protagonist who wants Justice, after seeing him play a violated terrible Martial Law in Tekken. Was it worth getting my hopes up for? Hell no, Jean-Claude Van Damme was only it for about a maximum of half an hour screening time and Cung Le was lousy as anything, I blame the poor excuse of a martial art that's trained nowadays for that.

Oh and the last comparison between this and Universal Soldier: Regeneration. Don't expect an ending.

Basically, this movie sucks, end of.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2012
I bought this, as I always do, because it's a new Van Damme movie. Unfortunately, at this stage of his career, Van Damme is obviously beginning to agree to supporting roles. This can be loosely described as a supporting role. I think in all, Van Damme is maybe on screen for 8 minutes or so. Needless to say his name and picture is still plastered all over the DVD case. However, I persevered and watched the whole film as I am a fan of martial arts movies anyway. This was poor at best. Some of the choreography is OK but all in all it is a pretty below par action movie and the fighting scenes start to feel very repetitive. Just gets pass marks for a bit of easy watching, but Van Damme fans will be very disappointed and advised to steer clear. Go for 6 Bullets instead!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2012
well I've just watched this and while I was actually now dreading it from all the negative reviews I wasn't actually let down atall.
I expected hardly any jcvd, thin plot and action and that's what I got.
I thought there were some funny moments (the scene with the character of Beech had me chuckling) and the fight scenes looked really good, some complained about the slow motion but i thought it served well to show how brutal the hits were.
The sepia like colour was annoying to begin with but then it changes later in the movie so that didn't matter too much.
I didn't have the gripes that some did about gang members teaming up with Cung, he had gained their respect. Ok highly unlikely in real life as a real gang would have come back later and shot him dead but hey its just a movie.
I liked the jcvd training scenes but there could have been more, a big fight in the prison for him would have been great.
He really suited this part and I actually think he would do well as the mentor in a new martial arts movie, his moves and kicks looked as good as ever. The audio was a little quiet in these parts and was quite hard to hear what jcvd was saying but there is subtitles or even the volume button.
Cung wasn't as bad as was made out, he was like a quiet assassin, no nonsense man of few words, maybe the odd funny quip would have made him more appealing but in the action/fighting stakes he gets the job done.
I didn't find Peter Weller as over the top as I was led to believe, he's actually quite entertaining and did a decent job.
Maybe there could have been one or two more action scenes overall but what we have is pretty brutal and heavy hitting, no annoying cgi blood popped up or people getting hit 20 times and still standing.
I would watch this again maybe not too soon, it's not great but it's good enough for a night in with a beer and a pizza.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
Good fight coriography, disappointed with Peter (robocop) weller's character and no where near enough of van Damme to say he's suppose to be the main title lead.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)