Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
116
3.9 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Change
Price:£13.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2017
Product very good as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
amazing game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 January 2012
Platform: Xbox 360|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Need for Speed: The Run initially plays very well, it's fun and the racing is over the top with huge hand break slides, high speeds and plenty of traffic dodging. The campaign mode keeps things fresh with a new mission style throughout, although it can get a little cheap at times on harder modes with the AI deliberately preventing you gaining an advantage.

The cars look and sound great. As this is an arcade racer I didn't expect that much difference between them (other than speed of course) but they all handle situations differently, so you have to be wise in your choice of car.
The locations look great and the tracks themselves are pretty good, some fall a little flat and don't offer a huge challenge though.

There isn't a large amount of playing modes. The game includes standard race, police chase, stunt race, challenge mode and time attack. However with just this and the campaign to keep you going offline it's not all that much.
Online is okay, but it's a little boring and limited, after playing Driver: San Francisco's frantic online multiplayer it just didn't compare. You level up to earn more tracks etc, but it didn't hold my attention long (I much prefer just having fun over working to get to the next level, then the next etc).

The story is non-existent and they may as well not have bothered, in fact the campaign is really tarnished by this. I like to care about what's happening in a story, the characters the tension etc. The Run had a very, very basic story where you really don't care what happens, and a lot of it is cut scenes that do little to extend the story.

Overall it's a short arcade racing game that I would recommend you wait for a slightly better price drop before picking up. There are alternative racing games that I would recommend over this (the afore mentioned Driver, Forza 4, Dirt 3).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2011
This game is excellent will keep you entertained for hours.

The graphics are pretty good and the storyline keeps you interested throughout.

There is a wide range of different cars and tracks to race though many in the "run" series are fairly easy , however if you play the challenge series to obtain a gold medal is much more challenging, and will have you hooked as you unlock more cars and tracks.

The online play is just as good although it is full contact there is alot of crashes which ruin your chances of setting a good time or winning.

Overall i gave it 4 out of 5 , just missed out on 5 due to the fact it does take quite along time to load each race.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2012
The latest in the NFS series is a coast to coast race across the USA.
It's exactly what you'd expect - decent graphics and performance and good entertainment.

For some reason though they've decided to try and incorporate some action outside of the car which doesn't add anything to the story and simply involves pressing the button shown on the screen at the right time. Fortunately there are only a few of these sections in the main game.

It's also feels like they've rushed it out a little, I've encountered a few graphical glitches along the way and it's crashed the console twice (an experience my friends have also experienced whilst playing this).

The multiplayer element of the game is the bit that will keep you coming back to it time and time again though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
Seen mixed reviews for this game so weren't sure what to expect. Had all the previous NFS games, game has a good plot and an enjoyable storyline that really keeps you locked into the game, cars are great and graphics are good as always. Only fault I could give it is the length, its pretty short so if you a decent gamer a couple of hours and you'll be done, kept me entertained and will be playing it again for sure, worth buying.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2011
Ok so I know NFS games aren't exactly widely known for their graphics, and yes a lot of the time your driving to fast to notice, but they could have at least rendered the cut scenes better, scenery is pixel-ated far too much, the colour is really too dark, despite adjusting my t.v setting, (for some reason the game doesn't have its own brightness or contrast settings :s) and it generally feels like all attention to detail was done on the cars and none on the environments or anything else, which is a shame considering this is the first NFS that's based heavily on story and cut-scenes.

To be truly honest, this game kinda feels like it wasn't made for HD, I mean on a standard deff T.V you probably wouldn't notice this so much, but on my t.v it kinda takes you away from the game a little.

That being said the game-play's ok. Its your typical NFS, don;t expect anything more really, drive cars fast, work your way up a ladder etc. Its fun enough, not realistic but generally you wouldn't buy this game for its physics, lets face it. My only problem is the quick-time events. I know a lot of people hate these full stop but that's not it. When used appropriately, they can really add something, but in The Run, they don;t add anything, they feel forced. Anyone who's played games like The indigo prophecy/ Fahrenheit will understand how immersive quick time technology can be, because these games actually use button combinations that coincide with the action on screen, i.e to dodge to the right you would tap right. In the run its just a random collection of A,B,Y,B etc. I like the idea of action outside the straightforward race, but if this is the beta, then its definitely lacking something.

My advice is this: If your looking for a Fun, reasonably thrilling and enjoyable driving experience that includes a great story line, buy driver SF, but if you've already got that and completed it, which you should have cause its fairly brilliant, get this. It only falls short by a little, its not worth £40 but anywhere under £20 and you shouldn't feel too ripped off, assuming your the sort who enjoys all the challenges and online play modes and stuff....hope this helps :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2016
Owned for Xbox 360/PC and still playing in 2016! Reason why I love the game so much because the concept resembles a similar throwback to the 1980's classics - Cannonball Run 1 & 2 movies (cross-country race of the U.S for prize money) but with it's own story plot. The design of the stages is excellent, with room for different approaches always delivering a challenge, QTE segments are few and far between but there's a sense of achievement and exhilaration once you complete them.

Meanwhile, the look of the game is handled by Dice’s Frostbite 2 engine, and as such the world looks stunning. The cars and weather effects are top-notch, with dust and snow all thrown in to great effect. Must of completed this 6/7 times and is my favourite arcade racer to date. Not the best 'Need for Speed' to some particular fans of the franchise, but I very much recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2011
i own all the nfs games apart from the shift series and this 1 was well enjoyed. people saying because its short its crap, well they are wrong main race is still a good few hours gameplay. wonna whine then turn up the difficulty. the games about competing with other people and unlocking cars, which btw is awesome online with different rewards per game for 1st, top3 and top 5 in the races depending on which roles in. Loads of cars to unlock and there is a slight mod car peature where u can pick the body kits and different paint jobs. story line is good, online play is lots of fun and the best way to unlock some awesome cars. i think if you have an issue with this game you havnt given it a chance to win you over. my need for speed favourites 1.the run / underground 2 , 3. most wanted , 4. hot pursuit 2 (very old but i loved it) , 5. underground , 6. undercover , 7. hot pursuit (new) , 8. undercover , 9. shift 2 , 10. carbon.. ANYWAY this game is good
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 March 2012
Platform: Xbox 360|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As a racing game this is definetly in the "Arcade" category.Most damage that occurs to the selected vehicle appears to have no effect on performance unless the crash is so severe that a restart level is activated.Braking on an apparently icy road at 200 mph brings the vehicle to an incredibly abrupt halt!
However,it cannot be denied that the actual gameplay is very entertaining.Graphics,sound effects (Turn off the Dire Music!)and gameplay are top drawer.What's not top drawer are the annoying scenarios that occur between some levels involving your character,fighting,running,jumping and other such nonsense.Truly Tiresome!The long time waiting for each level to load is also below par in this day and age and spoils the flow of the game.
In my view a great game to play for 30 minutes or so but fails in the addictive quality category that excellent racing games have going for them.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)