Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 2012
It's great for lovers of the french baroque to enjoy all the entracte music and dance from Rameau's operas. This allows one to enjoy all the orchestral music without all the recitative and arias and just goes to show what an accomplished musician Rameau was. Although having some of these orchestral suites on other recordings, I felt that I was listening to something very fresh and unfamiliar. The orchestra plays so well and even though I am familiar, certainly with Les Indes Galantes, this was a new listening experience.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2011
This is a brand new recording (2010 and 2011) by Jardi Savall and his Le Concert des Nations were they pull out a magnificent performance and the recording engineer, Manuel Mohino, does a superb job at capturing this performance in 5.0 surround sound.

Performance:
The performance is committed and passionate and delicate when called for. Jordi Savall has completely abandoned himself to the characters of these pieces and one gets lost in them. In the notes to this recording, Raphaelle Legrand says, "In this opera (Les Boreades) the eighty-year-old Rameau was more experimental than ever before: the textures are ever more varied, the touches of instrumental color more delicate, and the Rococo fantasy and refinement are taken to their utmost expression, all at a time when the new generation was inventing the classical orchestra." And Savall with his Le Concert des Nations gives us those varied beautiful textures and delicate colors. here. One more tidbit, in Les Boreades - Les Vents, Jordi Savall uses several real wind machines that surround you to great effect (Go to YouTube and enter "8ftyJLl6jl4" in the search window. Please note that this video only shows one wind machine, however, in this recording it sounds like several wind machines were used surrounding you, but it could be the effect that the reverberation of the hall produces. What a JOY this performance was! I'm going to go listen to it again as soon as I finish this review!

Recording:
Engineer Manuel Mohino gives us a 5.0 surround recording with the orchestra placed directly in front of you and surrounding you about 180 degrees around with the harpsichord to your far left and slightly behind. Basically you are setting right at the conductor's podium! The recording venue is the luxurious Arsenal in Metz France. I have heard one other recording made at the Arsenal of Handel's Water Music and Fireworks music, but it was a disaster because the recording technique placed the microphones much too distant from the orchestra so the details were completely washed out by the reverberation of the hall on the Glossa label: Handel: Water Music & Fireworks (Le Concert Spirituel / Herve Niquet). However, in this case Manuel Mohino has placed the microphones at the perfect distance from the orchestra to capture detail and still retain the beautiful 3 to 4 second reverberation time of this hall. The original instruments here sound sumptuously organic. The Holy Grail is to have warm acoustics with detail and nice reverberation and Manuel Mohino has achieved this feat! It is a truly realistic gorgeous (you are there) recording. My SACD player is the Denon DVD-3910 and my play volume used was -18db on my Denon AVR-3805 receiver with a speaker efficiency of 91db, this provided the perfect "live" volume.

Conclusion: I complete all around 5 star rating!
33 Comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2012
This recording is superb first time around but definitely grows upon one with each repeat.

Prancing, strutting stuff with a wisp or two of the ethereal.

A performance that could only be thought monotonous by those with a similar mind to he who considered Vivaldi only ever wrote one concerto with many variations.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
I am big fan of Baroque music (I compose). Rameau and Lully are the two big monster composers of this age. this CD is 2 full CDs of Rameau works and pieces conducted by the master himself Jordi Savall. if you like this kind of music, this is a must for the collection..
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Great value
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
If you like Classical Music and in particular the Bouquet period then you are going to like this Music, I would highly recommend this album.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
lovely music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
This was a first excursion into French Baroque period and it is an enjoyable experience. It links well with the Telemann I purchased latterly which was good to discover. Rameau is yet to fully discovered as will be Couperon. I will be looking them up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
I love Jordi Savall, do not get me wrong. I was looking forward to listen to his last CD on Rameau's orchestral suites. Well, it is a bit of a disappointment: it is beautifully played, but there is the whiff of monotony now and then. It is very enjoyable, but, at the same time, something feels missing. Buy it if you feel that you need it, but make sure to get Minkowski A Symphonie imaginaire as well!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)