Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2017
This movie comes in English with polish sub titles, it comes with clear instructions on how to turn off the subtitles, however the instructions are not correct and the subtitles do not go away which I find rather disappointing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
rubbish quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 January 2009
I've just finished reading the novel this movie is based upon, and so this was something rather exciting and interesting for me!

In many ways, it is a little unfair to compare both book and movie, since it is always somewhat difficult to get an accurate adaptation due to time alone. (pressing four hundred or so pages into a mere two hour film is rather a tall order - not to mention that every Reader of course will inevitably have a different imagination and interpretation of the same story) However, the first half of this movie is pretty faithful to the book, but it is the second half that brings rather a lot of changes and alterations, and for those of you who have read the book; Hugh Grant's character ('Finn') is notably absent throughout this second half. However, the changes do not spoil this outstanding Picture, and I feel sure that Rose Tremain would have been suitably pleased with the result!

Not being familiar with Robert Downey Jnr. (I don't watch a lot of modern TV or movies as a rule) I was a little unsure of his portraying 'Merivel' - the fact that he was not English could have been a problem in itself, since many American actors are not usually very adept at the English accent - but a couple of Americans in this surpass themselves, and Downey comes across as thoroughly English! At the end of the movie, of course I had no doubt that he'd been right for the part and had been well-chosen. (perhaps the only criticism being that he was not the ugly-featured man the book had described)

This is a most WONDERFUL film - as is the book, and there are some very moving scenes within this as well as the amusing ones - in particular, I was moved to tears during the scene where the inmates of a poor Bedlam are coaxed outside into the grounds to dance to music to help their poor bedevilled minds - and indeed it seemed to have the desired affect and makes one wonder if music should be good therapy for such disturbed people? Because of this, and other moving moments within the Picture, I was a little frustrated by the Trailer that was made, since it does not do the film justice. None of the moving scenes are shown, which allows it to come across as little more than just a 'farce' and so I felt this to be a mistake for any of those who perhaps had not read the book, and may have dismissed it accordingly by this factor alone.

This is a 'lush' and lavish production with a wonderful backing soundtrack that is reminiscent of something Enya may have composed but did not.

The Bonus material included on my copy has an interesting 'Featurette', but once again; does not highlight the any of the movies best moments, and is simply not long enough...

A truly WONDERFUL film you will want to see again and again!

This gets a THOUSAND Amazon Stars from me!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2009
I tried very hard to like the book, but failed miserably to get into it because of the way it was written. For me, this was one of the very rare cases in which the film was better than the book. Robert Downey's performance came as a revelation to me - I never thought he could act, and he carried me with him. Sam Neill's Charles II was a commanding presence (forget the scene where it is suggested that he had the Fire of London started deliberately).
The sets were superb, the evocation of Restoration England with its extremes of splendour and poverty was impressive. Maybe the ending was too sweet for some, but I was more than happy to indulge in it. There is far too much grimness in the world: it does no harm to balance it out by showing that happiness is possible or that a man or woman may change and discover a dream worth fulfilling.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
Whilst not entirely faithful to the book, the story line of this film does not loss anything for the changes. This film was make some time ago, and to the modern eye, some of the scenes look very set based, but others, like the scene's on Merival's estates are lovely.

Good acting from all cast members, and probably some of the best I have seen from Robert Downey Jr. The Dutch subtitles are a bit off putting at first, and I did not seem to be able to switch then off, but then you forget them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2012
Ironic, isn't it, that this film about England is not for sale in England.
Which is odd - not only is it a superb film which we in England loved but which we in England are liklely to understand because - heck, this is our history. We know this stuff more than we know about the events in some pettyfogging ex-colony on the other side of the atlantic.
Except - no. Not true is it?
We're supposed to know everything about every aspect of America - its every gangspeak, every little cultural nuance and every slang term whilst anyone in the USA is -a apparently - utterly confused when someone in an English film mentions something obscure like 'Pavement', 'Bonnet' or 'Lift' and have to pretensd that - for instance - we name things 'for' something rather than (As is actually the case) 'After' something. Worse - we, who have to understand every grunt issued by American actors are - apparently - being incomprehensible when actors speak in good, clear English - from England. The country where this film is set.
The world is NOT the US and the US is NOT the world. The US is a whole continent containing many, many interesting cultures and accents - most of which are never heard in film - American or otherwise.
England (And indeed, Ireland, Scotland and Wales) are much smaller but also have a wealth of wiorthwhile acents.
Please use your time on this planet to find films that feature this wonderful phenomenon rather than asking everyone to sound exactly like the non-acent of Hollywood. There are many wonderful American accents you have yet to hear. Accents are fun. Learn to enjoy them. Stop watching the same re-heated non-story's about non-pllaces and non-times. Watch a FILM! Not - as we're told by the big companies - a 'Movie'.
This is a film. It's a very good one. It has English accents and no guns or car chases.
It's not available in the UK where - in all the world, it would be most appreciated.
Why?!?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
I was unable to watch it because there were no English subtitles. Loved the book - wanted to see the film.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
An outstanding historical/drama/romance which paints a vivid picture of London at the time of the Restoration. Outlines the events of the Plague and the Great Fire of London, whilst drawing a very clear picture of the differences between the "haves" and " have nots" of the period ( possibly even worse than the 21st Century !!! )
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2016
Having seen this visual masterpiece on tv more than once, then checking lists for the dvd..I find an uncut version here but it doesnt mention aspect ratio. Read the person who had no English subtitles, hmm.. could that be menu, but no aspect ratio often means its `normal 16-9..as it says uncut, ok, chance it. YES.. import from The Netherlands..but arrived roughly on time via mail. Cover notes are in Dutch I presume but yes. full frame...113 minutes..English, and having put it on to check....AH..then OH..Like Chitty Chitty Bang years ago which was advertised as wide..this starts wide, but after proper starts, down to 16-9, never mind..what was cut, Now I need time to watch IT..as I`ve many others waiting..STILL annoyed that after all this time many wide films are still even 4-3 ratio, often cheap Tesco are..be careful. So here, if it doesnt say, assume 16-9/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2008
The first time, this movie can seem disjointed and the main character unlikable. But by the second or third viewing, the disjointedness becomes complexity and the growth of Robert's character evident. The characterizations are fairly rich and beautifully acted by a fine cast, in beautifully shot sets and costumes. (Unlike the previous reviewer, I think the second half is wonderfully written and generally better.) If I say it reminds of truths of living a good life, that sounds preachy and is misleading; this movie is inspirational in the best sense as well as engaging and entertaining.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)