Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13


on 13 June 2012
bought this because i liked the name/cover and jazz.As i started listening i thought yes not bad...but in fact the opening tracks are good but later they really let rip .o.m.g. track 7 is ,my favourite track of all time.its up tempo and every instrument is superb,every solo..both the piano and guitar solos rival my favourite scofield or oscar peterson solos. there are also some truly beautiful slow numbers too,and as jazz should ,i feel it represents many emotions in life. do youself a favour...i think there is something for everyone here,and youll feel good at the end of this (unlike metheny whom i love but avoid due to requiring prozac after listening).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2012
Having been fortunate to have seen many jazz greats, even enjoyed their company, on occasions;
and seen jazz develop over sixty years, musicianship and empathy, coupled with swing are where it's at.

It simply does not get any better, four musicians out of the top drawer, at their creative best,
enjoying the gig. Miss it at your peril, humour, counterpoint, fidelity, swing and timeless harmonies
and invention, all of the highest order.

Peace, love.

Ivan Clark
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2013
Having heard the odd tracks on the Radio this delivered on every personal criteria. Inspiring melodies, gifted musicians and an excellent production.
Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2013
As debut albums go, this is one of the best of it's type! The way the "gentlemen" compliment each other with their playing is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2014
Very much MUSIC! /jan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2013
the only bad thing with this recording is that it leaves you with the need to see the group perform live
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2011
A really good Jazz/funk/impro album with a distinctly British feel; star of the show is Mike Walker, Manchester's guitar hero, with Gwillim Simcock in good form on piano and melodica. Stand out tracks are Wallanda's Last Stand, referring to the tightrope walker (pun?) not the Swedish detective, and Gwil's Song, but the album as a whole recaptures some of the live sound, and having seen Mike Walker's Steely Dan inspired gig with the young Turks of the Royal Northern Big Band comparisons with the Dan and LA Express are valid. If you can't see them live, this is the next best. Recommended.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2011
Fantastic debut album! A studio album with a raw live feel. Innovative compositions full of power and depth of feeling. The album opens with Walkers bonkers composition Laughlines which had me...laughing.....the first time I heard it. Its a catchy tune that convinces me to sing along, which I can to a point but mute the track..ha ha very clever. Jazzers the world over are going to have a lot of fun with that one, there's already much talk amongst the musicians where I live. Also notable is the ballad (also by Walker)When You Hold Her, which is simply a masterpiece and is extremely moving. This album is full of stories..all meant and all said without words!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 2011
Being a self-confessed Metheny Group addict, I was ready to be unimpressed, so I'm delighted I was wrong. The sublime fusion crafted by The Impossible Gentlemen easily fills the gap left whilst we wait for the successor to The Way Up. Gwilym Simcock may just be the person we look to take over from Esbjorn Svensson, easily surpassing Brad Mehldau in my opinion. I'm also asking myself how I've missed out on Mike Walker until now.
Luckily, the band will visit Birkenhead in November to take part in the Intenational Guitar Festival, looking forward to that.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2011
The signs were not good,the first track is taken at breakneck speed,and does not bode well for the rest of the album,however the rest of the album is rather better
This seems to be ,on the surfaces a Mike Walker album as he has written about half the album,his guitar style particularly on the slower songs tends towards the John Scofield school of playing,particularly on the beautiful"Gwills Song" which for me is the highlight of the whole set.
The whole album is very pleasant to listen to,but after Simcocks excellent recent albumsGwilym Simcock - Good Days at Schloss ElmauBlues VignettePerception,i was expecting an album with more clarity.
The albums closer"Sure would baby" is a nice take on the blues.
Gwilym Simcock.....Piano
Mike Walker.....Guitar
Steve Swallow.....Bass
Adam Nussbaum......Drums
1hr 3mins 36secs.
88 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Let's Get Deluxe
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)