Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 August 2011
Being a self-confessed Metheny Group addict, I was ready to be unimpressed, so I'm delighted I was wrong. The sublime fusion crafted by The Impossible Gentlemen easily fills the gap left whilst we wait for the successor to The Way Up. Gwilym Simcock may just be the person we look to take over from Esbjorn Svensson, easily surpassing Brad Mehldau in my opinion. I'm also asking myself how I've missed out on Mike Walker until now.
Luckily, the band will visit Birkenhead in November to take part in the Intenational Guitar Festival, looking forward to that.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
Having been fortunate to have seen many jazz greats, even enjoyed their company, on occasions;
and seen jazz develop over sixty years, musicianship and empathy, coupled with swing are where it's at.

It simply does not get any better, four musicians out of the top drawer, at their creative best,
enjoying the gig. Miss it at your peril, humour, counterpoint, fidelity, swing and timeless harmonies
and invention, all of the highest order.

Peace, love.

Ivan Clark
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2012
bought this because i liked the name/cover and jazz.As i started listening i thought yes not bad...but in fact the opening tracks are good but later they really let rip .o.m.g. track 7 is ,my favourite track of all time.its up tempo and every instrument is superb,every solo..both the piano and guitar solos rival my favourite scofield or oscar peterson solos. there are also some truly beautiful slow numbers too,and as jazz should ,i feel it represents many emotions in life. do youself a favour...i think there is something for everyone here,and youll feel good at the end of this (unlike metheny whom i love but avoid due to requiring prozac after listening).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2011
A really good Jazz/funk/impro album with a distinctly British feel; star of the show is Mike Walker, Manchester's guitar hero, with Gwillim Simcock in good form on piano and melodica. Stand out tracks are Wallanda's Last Stand, referring to the tightrope walker (pun?) not the Swedish detective, and Gwil's Song, but the album as a whole recaptures some of the live sound, and having seen Mike Walker's Steely Dan inspired gig with the young Turks of the Royal Northern Big Band comparisons with the Dan and LA Express are valid. If you can't see them live, this is the next best. Recommended.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
I am a fan of Gwilym Simcock, so when I came across a review of this album in a magazine I was keen to try it. The line up is impeccable and the music does not disappoint. If you like this style of jazz, this album is a worthy owner of some shelf space
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2011
Fantastic debut album! A studio album with a raw live feel. Innovative compositions full of power and depth of feeling. The album opens with Walkers bonkers composition Laughlines which had me...laughing.....the first time I heard it. Its a catchy tune that convinces me to sing along, which I can to a point but mute the track..ha ha very clever. Jazzers the world over are going to have a lot of fun with that one, there's already much talk amongst the musicians where I live. Also notable is the ballad (also by Walker)When You Hold Her, which is simply a masterpiece and is extremely moving. This album is full of stories..all meant and all said without words!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
Having heard the odd tracks on the Radio this delivered on every personal criteria. Inspiring melodies, gifted musicians and an excellent production.
Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
As debut albums go, this is one of the best of it's type! The way the "gentlemen" compliment each other with their playing is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
the only bad thing with this recording is that it leaves you with the need to see the group perform live
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
This debut from The Impossible Gentlemen is full to bursting with accessible melodies, burning ensemble and solo instrumental prowess and most importantly, heart. You can hear the question and answer processes between this quartet of stellar musicians as they rip joyously through the wide ranging compositions, their seemingly telepathic understanding allowing the pieces to develop spectacularly. Highlights include the heart wrenching ballad "When You Hold Her" and the group interplay on "You Won't Be Around To See It" - all in all this album is a stunning statement of intent from a band you will be hearing a lot more from.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)