Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
33
Through Low Light & Trees
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 September 2010
Bought this a result of other reviews on amazon.co.uk . It's a strange ecclectic mixture of blues, folk rock, psychedelic rock et al. It's well worth a listen and I have bought 3 more copies of it for Xmas presents for old survivors of the 60's and 70's that I know!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 22 February 2011
Becca lent me this CD (which I now have to get my own copy of...) and it is spectacular.

Channeling the (in my 'humble' opinion) 70s finest folk rock band (Trees) with what appears to be STEREO Celia Humphris (by far the most beautiful and haunting voice - sorry you Maddy Prior/June Tabor/Jacqui McShee fans) in an updated and dated set of tracks.

Too soon for selective track examination - the overall tone is GLORIOUS!

If you loved Trees, or the early Steeleye, or Pentangle, or even some Prog Rock (sorry!) this for you.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2010
Beautiful harmonies, stunning lyrics & tasteful, minimalist guitar make this album virtually faultless.
If you love real music, with absolutely no gimmicks, this is for you.
An timeless album of shimmering beauty, that could have been recorded anytime during the last 40 years.

Smoke Fairies fans include, Bryan Ferry, Jack White, Richard Hawley & Paul Weller.
And just about everyone else who have heard this wonderful CD.

They are still at an early point in their career and I just hope they stay together.
If they do, they can only get better.

Can't wait for more from the girls.
And if you get the chance to see them play live, go see them.

My album of 2010.
And Katherine & Jessica are lovely people too.

Steve Edwards
103 The Eye
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2011
It's rare enough to find a band with a great singer and wonderful music; with Smoke Fairies you get two. The perfect harmonies of Katherine and Jessica are the most obvious delight on this album but the songs have a real depth and darkness to them which has me playing this over and over. Although their dark folk has a distinct blues tinge to it, to me this album represents the English countryside in winter, a tone poem for the dark and cold months. There are a wealth of influences at work including This Mortal Coil, Kristin Hersh, Led Zeppelin, Fairport Convention and even Pink Floyd. As one reviewer put it, this could have been made at any time in the last 40 years; as Smoke Fairies themselves put it, the English folk tradition is something to draw on but the challenge is to come up with something original. They have certainly done that; Through Low Light and Trees is a huge achievement that almost forms a pair with Midlake's The Courage of Others. Essential purchase.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2013
Smoke Fairies is a British Folk/Rock band headed up by Sussex born Katherine Blamire and Jessica Davies, who before making this album, lived in New Orleans for a year to steep themselves in it's rich musical heritage and now base themselves in Cornwall, both experiences from which they gain much inspiration for their recordings.

Through Low Light and Trees" is a highly atmospheric album largely with ethereal Folk/Rock flavours and a touch of Blues. The girls hauntingly beautiful vocals expressing deep meaningful lyrics, rhythmic mood laiden electric guitar and a measure of timely percussion makes this a real work of art.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2011
I saw the Smoke Fairies at a festival last Saturday. They were superb. I immediately bought the Amercan double digipak of the album and the ep compilation at their stall. The singing is marvellous and the playing is delightfully subtle. They have all the best attributes of many musical influences in the mix, as others have said.They have listened and learned on a massive scale and yet they are all of their own.

If you ever need the antidote to Lady Gagaitis then this is it. Great music played by two intelligent,self-effacing and skilful young women.Absolutely top notch and great frocks too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2010
Two spectacularly talented girls who have written a beautiful, moving,almost haunting album. As many have commented, an inspired cross between traditional English folk and American blues, particularly the slide guitar, and some slightly more indie songs. The harmonies of these two soaring voices is incredible, but you really have to see them live to appreciate what amazing girls they are. Album of the year? Without a shadow of doubt. My new favourte band? Stupid question really. GO AND SEE THE LIVE!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2012
Although The Smoke Fairies don't make my exact type of music, i must confess that i find them wonderful. Their voices are absolutely divine and complete each other in a perfect way. And the same happens with the guitar playing.
They may sound like angels, but they sing about really dark stuff. I can feel that. The album cover supports my sentence.
I believe this is a very strong album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2013
Sometimes you think the voices are not quite right but after a couple of listens that fades away and the beauty of the whole thing comes through. I caught them live and they are very good! If you can pull it off live to a very quiet attentive audience you deserve bigger things. Listen and enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 September 2014
Love this cd! Smoke Fairies make hauntingly beautiful music and I could listen to this over and over - in fact I probably will! HIghly recommended album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Smoke Fairies
£10.58
Wild Winter
£14.95
Ghosts
£12.62

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)