Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
97
3.9 out of 5 stars
Platform: PC|Edition: Limited Edition|Change
Price:£1.00 - £99.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

With deus ex Mankind Divided, scheduled for release later this year, I thought I would (finally) get around to reviewing HR. First off, I should say that I am an old school gamer, who believes that the PC is how games should be played and much prefer a deep and emersive story over infinite ammo, everything- louder-than-everything-else combat and fancy graphics. Yeah, I know, sorry. (But to be fair, people like me are in the minority and no one listens to us anyway!). I also think that the original Deus Ex is the greatest video game ever made and that the follow up was an abomination. If Hr had been like II, then that would have been the end.
So, what about HR? Well, I'm not going to compare it directly to the original, because I Think that would be unfair, but HR is a very well made, shooter/stealth/ story driven FP(S). I'm pleased to say, It really "feels" like a DE game (set almost entirely at night, the scarcity of ammo, the little side quests, etc). I really liked the switch to third person when in cover, system, which is very well done. The story is nicely structured, with the globe-trotting tone and slightly dystopic feel, alongside the blade runner-esque neon city-scapes. The weapons are good, but not overpowered. (Actually, I did find myself wondering why, given the technologically advanced nature of the augmentations, the weapons weren't MORE advanced?!).
On the downside, I didn't find the gravel voiced (is there any other kind these days, apart from Nathan Drake?) protagonist, particularly interesting or sympathetic, or.......human. He Seemed to switch into semi-cyborg mode pretty quickly after his injuries. Also, I think the story rather ran out of out of steam at the end, some of the dialogue interaction scenes took way too long and the AI detection was a little harsh and their fire very accurate! Not being able to avoid the boss mini-fights was a major mistake and I believe that has been corrected in the upcoming MD.
Overall though, a really good, well made FP(S) science fiction action game, with a real story. You can see that a lot of care and attention went into it.
One small (nerdy) point (sorry); the available augmentations in this game are already way more advanced than those seen in the original DE, and that was set ahead of this one, so at some point the writers will have to square that circle ( or not). Roll on mankind divided!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
My copy turned out to be unusuable after taking ages to load, as it was still registered on steam to someone else. I wish these games were still all stand-alone. If they are on DVD, they should not need an internet link! Got my money back but what a waste of a game if it can never be used by anyone else!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2016
Great game with excellent story and replay value; loads of side missions and multiple routes and game styles to achieve your objective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
I can't believe how much criticism this game is getting!
Are the graphics state of the art? No! But this is a good looking game set in some stunning locations.
The controls take a little bit of getting used to but other than that are fine.
I have no performance issues whatsoever running this game in all the highest settings on a mediocre gaming computer.
There are a lot of people complaining about the lack of ammunition in the game but that is only in the first two levels to get you accustomed to using stealth and besides after the first level you can walk around knocking policemen out to get as much ammo as you need, not to mention all the shops you can find if you look.
There's also a lot of complaints about hacking computers and sucurity locks, if you don't like hacking then don't do it, it's not compulsory you can find codes and passwords for most things anyway.
I admit that the inventory is a mild annoyance but i like the idea of planning what you are going to take into battle and you can usually find things like sniper rifles and heavy machine guns when you need them.
I really like this game and i have clocked up 69 hours on it, great value for money!
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2011
Lets' start with the simple stuff. Deus Ex: Human Revolution a.k.a. DE3 is a good game. It's in many respects a superb sequel (prequel?) to Deus Ex, a game I love and still play to this day. It is in no way the dire shoot-em-up that was Deus Ex 2: IW. It's rather awkward in places, but still, a very good game. As others have put it, almost a masterpiece, and one that definitely acknowledges its roots.

The core tenets that Deus Ex established (that of character progression and solving encounters your way) are mostly present & correct, albeit disappointingly dumbed down a bit. The game world is gritty, dark, presents the original flavour of the Deus Ex world astonishingly & immersively well, and there's actually less sepia & brown than trailers might suggest. There is this wonderful sense of melancholy & dystopia conveyed in the game world. This game has captured the Deus Ex world to a tee. The music & art teams deserve serious accolades for this.

Character progression is boiled down to XP for actions, from quest completion to eliminating an NPC, bonuses for a headshot, or tranquilising enemies mercifully; extra XP is awarded for mission areas where you are never seen, never set off the alarms etc.. All this XP tops up a level counter, and each level you gain a Praxis point towards more augmentation upgrades. These form a classic tech tree set, and you unlock most trees with 2 points, then 1 for upgrades - and you start with a few basic augs to get you going. All absurdly simple. After that, it's about your own playstyle and what meshes best with that.

Music & sound are handled extremely well from an audible point of view - technically speaking, the sound handling is currently atrocious in that the game is extremely quiet, but if you turn your speakers up and accept you might blast your eardrums with the occasional close up loud noise, it's workable. On a related note, it's fun that equivalent effects occur to your character from over-loud noises, complete with ears ringing. Graphically speaking, the game is still a little ropey, with occasional loss of fps or juddering for no adequately explained reason, and character animations can get quite... well just plain weird. No smooth & seamless Halflife 2 animations here - slightly moving lips and Thunderbirds-esque flailing of arms is quite common, mostly visible in close-up conversations. Those two gripes aside, the graphics themselves are nicely done and the place does look gorgeous.

The gameplay is extremely good in most places. Missions are well handled, with good level design & lots of nice helpful dialogue between NPCs to give hints, as well as some very fun little sidequests in areas to complete. Your choices definitely have impact, and yield branching within a given area's story, although a few aspects are very badly handled, such as sidequests that mysteriously cancel instead of just taking a different story branch with less dialogue. Overall I'd recommend completing all side quests before main quests simply to avoid cases the designers didn't consider how to handle. Not quite as well done as DE in this regard.

Running around and shooting stuff is feasible, but you need to be a good shot, because bullets are most unforgiving in DE3 and you will typically die after only a few hits. Guards will generally spot you in line of sight given a second or so, but stealth gameplay is as good as ever. The cover system works well, once you get used to the slightly jarring nature of its invocation. There's a fair learning curve (no pun intended) in the arcing of tranquilizer darts and other slower projectile weapons, which the complex & utterly unhelpful sight tries to help with, but you will mostly end up guessing until you get an upgrade which does it for you. Falling damage is utterly unforgiving - you can take damage jumping over a railing - but augs will help ameliorate this. Health is boosted via stims & painkillers allowing you to 'shrug off' damage, and slowly regenerates out of combat - it may be controversial, but I didn't even notice the health regen, and it certainly does nothing for your ability to survive, especially early on.

Where the gameplay does fall flat on its face is boss encounters. After hours of wonderful freeform gameplay where you can approach enemies your way, including just not being there, the game plunks you down in a small locked room with an enemy with a machine gun & grenades and expects you to kill him. Memories of evading combat with Anna Navarre in DE (and the storyline branching appropriately) kicked in at this point; I could quite easily have found myself facing an armoured opponent with nothing more than a tranquilizer gun and a waffle iron, and all my ability to be stealthy & quiet wasn't really much use. Most disappointing. Let this be a lesson to budding Jensens - always carry some form of heavy firepower.

There are a few technical gripes that marr the experience as well. The menu system flies about so much I managed to get motion sickness just from saving the game once too often, and on the subject of saving games, the saved game system is just plain asinine. Firstly, you are limited to 99 saves (the original limit was 20, and believe me, even at 99 you will run out of them quite quickly - this is not a short game), but even more staggering, you can neither back up nor move off & restore these games (e.g. if you wanted to throw 98 away into some storage to save some space). No, Steam rules your saved games now, peon, and they will be timestamped, hashed, and lofted into the cloud. Touching any of these files yourself is a great way to lose all your saved games; how odd, in a game about corporations taking over individual liberties... Some aspect of achievements crashes the game every so often, but in hours of play that's perhaps four times total. Walking around actually feels slightly odd, but I can't put my finger on why - perhaps just too much camera shake for my tastes - and lack of control over key features like film grain effects makes tweaking the experience to match one's personal tastes awkward. Guards have a tendency to not understand up or down, and if you're a level above or below them, but nevertheless in line of sight, they will tend to aim their gun at you, but never actually get around to firing.

These technical negatives & frustrations aside, there is significant & wonderful immersive depth to DE3. Reading material in ebooks & emails abounds, and conversations between NPCs add to the flavour of a living breathing world. The plot itself is somewhat formulaic if you've already played the original DE, but still works very well. Augmentations are a blast, sometimes literally, and punching through walls is certainly a nice fairly original addition. Ignoring the individual frustrations as rare anomalous spikes on a graph, the game itself flows together pretty well.

I should add that your choices are not limited to how you approach combat - you can engage in conversation with a few individuals and attempt to win their trust, rather akin to Mass Effect's dialogue wheel but with an overlay of what you pick to say has a real consequence of how much they grow to like you, and whether they'll perhaps assist you in some way. This adds an extra social dimension, further adding to your character not feeling like just a silent heavily armed protagonist. Considering how very personal the story is in DE3 compared to preceding games, this is a nice touch.

In summary, as a prequel to what some consider to be one of the best RPGs ever, DE3 has filled out the shoes pretty well. It's still in need of some patching polish, and has some questionable design decisions in places, but it's nevertheless a pretty good game. 3 stars for the moment due to enough glitches & awkwardness to break that immersive world just too much, but I seriously toyed with 4 even as it stands. If Square Enix patch out some of the issues, it'd easily be a 4-5.
88 Comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2012
It is sad to see that Eidos jumped on the bandwagon with their flagship RPG series, and went the Bioware route. Meaning that first they kickstart an awesome, intricate, deep RPG franchise, then they proceed to ruin it to oblivion in its sequel(s) which end up being glorified First Person Shooters with mild RPG touches and very non-RPG-ish boss fights. FPS's are easier to develop and easier to market to the teen crowd, so I see the incentive. But really, what's next? Deus Ex 4: The iPhone Arcade Game? Anyway, there's still plenty to like here, so let's see:

1. This game is strong on atmosphere; sometimes that translates to oppressive, foreboding urban landscapes (Detroit), sometimes to exotic locales that ooze Oriental mystery and intrigue (China). Even the sterile office building interiors in this game are verisimilar and atmospheric.

2. Another strong point is imagination and immersion: the game dreams up a believable, fairly dystopian 2027 where we witness a widening gap between those who can afford flashy high-tech augmentations and those who cannot. The game takes its elaborate political-scientific-economic setup for granted and builds it from there, remaining very consequential and serious throughout in its depiction. No lazy shortcuts, no deal-breaking wink-wink-nudge-nudge allusions to the present day as a lesser sci-fi game would resort to. DE:HR is a mature attempt at imagining a possible, persistent 2027. In this regard, it is up there with Blade Runner's 2019 and Mass Effect's 2183.

3. As a consequence of the above, all the dialogs and the characters are very good, almost too good for an action RPG. Sarif is my favorite example: a charismatic, enigmatic leader and a love-hate father figure to our hero, he always has another revelation or two up his sleeve. The conversations in general are multi-layered, eloquent, emotionally mature and unpredictable. They should be good, as they are written by novelist James Swallow and veteran lead writer Mary DeMarle.

4. On a more technical note, this game has the best cover system I've experienced in an FPS/3PS yet. It's practical, very useful and easy to master. It's even great to look at: whenever Adam leans next to a wall in his aug-sunglasses, silenced gun in hand, and an enemy guard approaches from around the corner (as it occurs dozens of times in the game), it looks just like a shot from some cool sci-fi comics. As far as cover systems go, I hope future action games look at DE:HR and take it from there.

Now for the problems.
1. This is an FPS. Granted, this is an FPS that can be optionally played as a survival stealth game. Yet it was marketed as an RPG. If it walks like a duck and quacks... you know the rest. The game actually becomes unapologetic in its FPS-ness by the second half. The focus shifts to sneaking, evading turrets and upgrading your weaponry so you finally have a chance against Jamar and Zhao, the last two bosses.

2. Oh yes, don't get me started on the boss fights. These are the equivalent of Eidos's ultimate testimony that they WERE thinking on FPS terms with this game.

3. Then there is the problem of repetitiveness in the second half, again a typical FPS trait. The Montreal stage is a seemingly endless array of boring office rooms and vent ducts. Much of the Singapore stage is, surprise, a seemingly endless array of boring office rooms and vent ducts. The following Panchaea stage, however, is quite brilliant, as if the project leader finally burst out: "Guys, we need to end this one with a bang! No more office rooms and vent ducts, use your head! This is s'posed to be a Deus Ex game!" It ended up as an odd out-of-place homage to Half Life 1 (and even to Left4Dead), but I loved it.

When taken at face value and not as the latest entry of a venerable RPG franchise, DE:HR proves to be a very playable FPS with some RPG elements, in fact it stands out as probably the best of its kind this year. It's much longer and more interesting than other 2011 FPS/3PS titles I've played. Problems arise when we realize that it's supposed to be a full-blooded prequel to Deus Ex. THE Deus Ex. The fact is, Eidos went the safest, trendiest route here and tried to appease both contemporary fan camps: the newer generation of hardcore action afficionados (who were reared on Quake 3 and Half Life 2) and the older generation of actual Deus Ex fans. As Mass Effect 2 and Dragon Age 2 have proved just before DE:HR, you can't have the best of both worlds in RPG gaming: you either go "deep, hardcore RPG" or you're lite and flawed. Deus Ex has just joined the club of flawed game franchises.
And yet Deus Ex: Human Revolution excels in one aspect: give me its memorable vision of a 2027 Shanghai any day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2012
I think this game is fantastic!

I used to own consoles but not any more. I upgrade my pc every 2-3 years to keep it at a reasonable level. One of the only games on a console I do miss is metal gear solid. I played all the early ones but I dont own a PS3. I played a fair amount of MGS on the PS3 at a friends house and loved it. Human revolution is just as good

I actually got this game free with a 6870 Hawk graphics card. I had not played any of the original games but I really like this game. I know there have been graphic issues, the game stutters and I need to lower down the settings to play smoothly in open areas. This is of course not good. However I am flabbergasted at people rating this game as one. This is a very technical and tactical game. As the title of my review suggests if you love stealth, you'll love this game.

You can walk into an open area with 6 guards patrolling. You can take out your gun and start blasting and using cover and most likely clear the room in a few minutes. To me this is pointless. I have spent 30-40 minutes sneaking through the same room. Testing where I can and cant go. Entering rooms, hacking computers to turn of the security cameras. Then silently take down the odd guard that cant be passed, hide his body, empty his pockets and on your way. I love it. In this regard its like the Hitman games. You can blast your way through those games but if you do you are missing the point. This game is no different. It should mostly be about stealth.

I love the way you get to choose to build up your augmentations. Perversely I also like the fact that you cant carry hundreds of weapons and ammo. Its more realistic and makes you plan ahead better. Im about a 1/3 of the way through the game and I am thoroughly enjoying it. The side quests are fun and I like doing them as the XP can be used to get praxis points to upgrade augs. I also enjoy exploring and finding all the secrets. Or coming to a section with a heavy bin hiding the path and realising that I am not strong enough to lift it......YET. I can then focus on getting praxis and raising my strength.

I also enjoy speaking to lots of different people and trying to extract info that leads to the real story of this game. Have always enjoyed games with lots of dialogue. If you dont like dialogue then maybe this is not the game for you.

This is a great game. I have no played the originals so I cant say whether its true to its origins. Anyone who rates this game as a 1 really needs to ask themselves why and be honest with themselves. If you rate this game as a 1 then video games are not for you.

Get the game, sneak around, build your character and have fun with the wonderful game that is Human Revolution. Cant wait to finish this review to get back to it.

P.S. I have not reviewed many games on this site. I did not even buy the game from this site but when I saw the poor scores being dished out I felt the need to add my two pence.

Cheers

Update as of the 14/02/2012

I was using XP as my operating system. XP only uses directx9. I have now upgraded to WIn7 which has dx11. The difference in graphics is unreal. Before I had to strip back some of the graphic options. Now I am running everything on Max and the graphics card is still smiling. Awesome.

Also I have been playing the game for 14hours at this stage and Im only on the second city, which gives some idea as to the size of this game. Please note I am doing side quests though!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2011
The first thing that struck me after the first mission, was that this games combat & movement did remind me a lot of a recent title i played Alpha Protocol, we can hug to cover(holding down right mouse button) & get a 3rd person view & peak out to shoot etc... and can approach missions stealthy or confrontational, lethal or non-lethal, pretty much what DE3 does, but this time, we have multiple Augmentations & a whole new game World to explore. Which is where the two veer off from one another a lot & we can respect both games in their own right.

In DE3, 25 years or so before the original Deus Ex we are introduced to our character, Adam Jensen, as the head of security for Sarif Industries, an ex-SWAT team member who quit his post with the Police after a job went down badly & a black cloud followed Adam since. In the begining we follow Adam in a Far Cry 2 style opening, where we are walking alongside a head scientist(and Adams girlfriend), Dr. Megan Reed, who has worked on a breakthrough in human cybernetic/augs. We stroll through a futuristic living & breathing laboratory (only able to turn our head with the mouse), as they follow out their day to day jobs. And then we go off & meet the boss, Mr Sarif, during which all hell breaks loose, and off we are sent to crack some skulls, this opening works as a mini tutorial & sets up the plot.

So, brutally injured during the unsuccessful attempt of protecting the Sarif labs from unknown assailants attack, Adam, near death is brought back to life with Augmentations to keep him alive, unknown to him, given no choice. Then 6 months later, Adam is recalled back into action earlier then expected, as Sarif Industries satellite locations are once again under attack, this time from anti-augmentation groups. So we land in at the Sarif Industries HQ front door, and its like we are learning to do everything again, and as you explore, you will hear the employee's whispering about Adam, so you have to face a lot of discrimination & bigots. After doing a small few tasks, it's a good idea to head out to the helicopter quite quickly for the 1st mission(also acts as a more detailed tutorial), as there is a hostage situation we need to go to, and if you take too long to start the mission, those hostages die because of you! Its time to set the record straight, and show them what type of person we are now, as we see the World, and decide who's side to join.

Like in the original game, we can take the lethal or non-lethal approach, and have various weapons to suit our style. Be it pistol, machine gun or Stun gun, Tranquilizer gun etc.. We can also mold our Augmentations (using Praxis points) to suit our style as well, be it social skills, hacking, stealth or offensive Augs.Our actions in missions will also affect the real World, people will talk to you differently depending on how you handle a mission & newspapers will report what happend too, to an extent. A little different, is that we get to decide in conversations how we react/treat people, we can be as pleasant as possible or as confrontational as possible, extort people for personal rewards or simply help them because their cause is just. We also get to decide on occasion, who lives & who dies, pretty much we have rein on the shape the game will take us. So as you can see, replayability in this game with different approach styles alone is going to be fun & different each time(4 different endings to pick).

One thing i enjoyed again(as in the original), was the classic reading of peoples e-mails & writing down codes and stuff to use later on, although i was a little disappointed that the codes were in fact auto saved & produced on screen at the given moment. There is plenty of other nostalgia too, like taking a walk into the ladies restroom & then being told off for it ;-) the appearance or rather information relating to characters from Deus Ex & even the music had a slight hint of the original stuff in there. There are also at least 2 different routes to take in missions(usually), you can go blazing through the front door gung ho style or look out for rooftop entrances or vents for a more stealthy approach. Getting past an area without taking down anyone, or ghosting, will net you usually an extra 250 XP points.

Overall, having completed Deus Ex HR now, i have/and will enjoy/ed the game a lot despite a few niggles. the graphics are on a larger scale then the niche ones in the original, they aren't stunning, hell i don't play a game like this purely for the graphics, it gives me multiple options of what to do & that is worth more, they get the job done, and it manages to get across the theme/setting of the game, which also more than makes up for that. the voice acting is good on the whole, but Adam Jensen's voice is taking some getting used too, its a bit like a cross between Clint Eastwood & Jame Earl Jones, it is though starting to grow on me now, more so as it goes on. The various approaches we can take in conversations & in the routes open to us in each mission are great to have back.

Overall, on the downsides I was a little disappointed in a few minor areas, like the new boss fights(Pffft) that we don't(apart from the 1st one) have a choice in how to finish them lethal/non-lethal, so as a stealth/non-lethal player i found this a bit frustrating, after ghosting past an Army. Lockpicking is also gone, so the game is Hacking heavy, which can be a grind after a while. lockpicking would had mixed things up a little at least, and given us more ways to spend Praxis points. Another thing i noticed, was that going in the front door was a little too easy for example, as a stealth player. The consequences for our actions overall during the game after the first main mission, weren't as harsh or interesting, or even so, as they were in DE1. And there are a few obvious build problems in there with it being a PC/console port.

In Conclusion, deispite these niggles the vast majority of the game out weigh's the negatives imo by a long chalk, which makes this an enjoyable game to play overall. It doesn't best the original Deus Ex & it is more forgettable, but i'd still Highly Recommended it for the story, freedom of choice & stylish setting.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
DX HR kicks ass. Those wanting a bit more from their investment of time & hard earned will love this slick game. It allows the player to pretty much choose the what, when and how you progress through the Bladrunner-esque levels. There's more than one obvious way to skin the DXHR cat and this adds a large helping of re-playability.

Hat's off for aiming high on this title, sure the guys at Square Enix could do with some lessons in scripting dialog but what the heck that's nitpicking. This game reeks of attention to detail and quality, even the music is totally awesome cleverly adding a layer of atmosphere to the situations Jensen find himself in. I played it twice and each effort was rewarded in surprisingly different ways.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2011
There seems to be a trend of a small minority of people who rate games based on the protection/registration, and not on the game itself. People are denying themselves a great gaming experience because of jumping on the anti steam bandwagon.

To scupper some of the misinformation being put out by people it is possible to RESELL a steam protected game. If you have no intention of keeping the game then create a steam account seperate from your main one, yes that's right folks you can have as many accounts as you like. Then you simply sell the game with the linked steam account.

For those that do have an internet connection but do not wish to log into steam to play their games, it is possible to play any steam game in offline mode.

I'm not pro steam or DRM, but the sad fact of the matter is that for whatever reasons it's here to stay. So ask yourself for a game as great as this is it really worth not buying it out of spite?
44 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)