Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
76
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2003
This is definately a film of the series, rather than the fourth highlander film. Its hard to explain with out spoiling the plot, but the film is set in the duncan universe of highlander, and is in definate contradiction to the original film.
There is a knowledge of the series required to really understand and appriciate this film, as people like joe dawson and methos are not really introduced, and if your not familiar with the series, then you won't know who the hell they are.
If you are a fan of the series as i am, then you will love this film, it's a must see. It has some great emotion, and great fight sequences, it will make you cry and cheer.
For non-series fans however, i would rate this film as two stars. If you havent seen the series, you probably wouldn't know whats going on.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
What a movie!!! What an action!!! And such a beautiful transition to the serie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
Aw to see Lambert end his role in this series it a loss, but great film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
This movie is not available in the U.S. on blu ray so I was glad to find it here. It is certainly not the most impressive blu ray, but it is a definite improvement over the dvd. I am very happy with my purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Ok movie but weakest of series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2002
After having watched Highlander 2 and 3, I just wasn't sure how Endgame would turn out as a sequel. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. Endgame follows (in sorts) from the first film and ties in some existing storylines.
The acting is superb with some great performances from Lambert, Paul and Donnie Yen. The camerawork is also very cleverly worked as are the special effects. It is obvious that a lot of time was spent on producing this film.
The reason for this film is to bring to an end Christopher Lambert's reign as the Highlander, and pave the way for Adrian Paul to carry the torch. As with the first film we see the timeline flicking from present day to previous chapters in the life of Connor and Duncan McLeod. The film shows us how Duncan was found by Connor, and also explains how people 'become' immortal. This useful as the film does explain one or two loose-ends from the original.
Unfortunately, I think that a lot of the romance of the first film has gone, with the current directors preferring instead to make the film more action based and a lot 'darker' than the original. The film, however, is still great and a definate must see.
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 May 2004
Highlander:Endgame is a worthy successor to both Highlander: The Series, Highlander and Highlander 3. (Highlander 2 whilst being an entertaining romp is not really part of The Highlander canon).
Incidentally it is nice to see a proper title for this latest offering, numbering films is distinctly unimaginative and imagination is something that Endgame has plenty of, there is romance, pathos, danger and spectacle all served up with a cetain amount of panache and style. Much of the panache comes from both Adrian Paul and Christopher Lambert who make these characters believable. Christopher Lambert makes a fine fist of displaying the down side of immortality, the unending loss of friends and lovers, mortal and immortal, his decision on how best to defeat Kell is beautifully and convincingly portrayed. As is Adrian Paul's performance as a somewhat tortured Duncan, tormented by the memory of Kate/Faith and the mistake he made regarding her. The appearances of Peter Wingfield and Jim Byrnes as Methos and Dawson whilst integral to the plot were far too brief. (The writer's obvious assumtion that the viewer(s) would know who they were and why they would take such risks to help Duncan could and probably should backfire on them). Kell played by Bruce Payne, is a mesmerising and convincing villain and a worthy opponent of both Highlanders. Lisa Barbuscia as Kate/Faith is a good actress and a strong female presence who plays her role with gusto.
That all said there are problems with this film, some are ones of continuity with the series, it was clearly stated there, that A: Duncan never married and B: Immortals, even whilst living in their Pre-Immortal life cannot have children, these are silly mistakes and should have been avoided, many of those watching this fan will be Highlander fans and errors like these do cause annoyance. (No cries of get a life please, if a film is made of a popular series the writers should do their homework). The other problem is that there was very little lightness in the script, the series dealt with many different themes and some of these were quite dark and intense, but a large part of its charm was the humour shown both by the characters and the situations they occasionally found themselves in. There was very little humour in Endgame and a great deal of navel searching, this made the film a little ponderous in places, but I must admit that despite my criticisms I did enjoy the film and would like to see more, perhaps with more input from the man/actor who actually knows the character and what his reactions are likely to be in any given situation.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)