Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
11
McCartney II
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 April 2015
I bought this album on CD after hearing it recently for the first time. It is an interesting album and one of McCartney's more experimental. He played all the instruments himself on this one. I was already familiar with the hit "Coming Up" (great song!) from the Wingspan collection and "Waterfalls", both of which are standout tracks here. "Bogey Music" is probably the only track I wouldn't be that fond of, but standout tracks (apart from the aforementioned "Coming Up" and "Waterfalls") would be "Summer's Day Song", the acoustic "One of These Days" and the instrumental "Frozen Jap". I may be wrong, but McCartney seems to be slightly ahead of the trend on this album with an electronic sound, in places, that would come to define much of 1980s music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2018
McCartney finding his feet after the Beatles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2015
Great C.D......if you like Macca you must have this in your collection, must be heard on good Hi-Fi.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2014
Not his best. The first two tracks sounded like Mickey Mouse meets electric music. The one saving grace is the Waterfall track which is sad and beautiful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2015
all good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2014
bit gutted it wasnt the 2 LP version; but still really like it and great price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2014
Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2012
One of the side-effects of the great success that The Beatles enjoyed was that it led them to believe they could release anything and it would find a willing audience. This attitude carried over into McCartney's solo work. Operating for most of the 1970's as his own producer and without anybody close to him to put the brakes on, he could easily go from the sublime Band On The Run to the ridiculous Mary Had A Little Lamb in a short space of time.

McCartney II, released in 1980, belongs to this same period. And in a way it's his last hurrah at putting out whatever he felt like, at least under his own name. In the future, experimental recordings would go out under aliases, such as The Fireman.

McCartney's next album, Tug of War (1982) would see him reunited with George Martin, and like the rest of his 80's albums and beyond, it would be solidly crafted, and therefore a little lacking in the wild and off the cuff moments that make McCartney II sometimes fascinating and sometimes just plain irritating.

The album yielded a couple of hit singles, Coming Up is a great slice of pop and Waterfalls is a lovely ballad, which he really needs to add into his live set.

A fairly unknown gem is the last track - One Of These Days - and Summer's Day Song is another strong song. Once you get past these, then your appreciation for the rest of the album may vary. The likes of Frozen Jap and Bogey Music are throwaway stuff which are impossible to imagine on Tug of War or Pipes of Peace.

Still we must be grateful that there was some sort of quality control in operation as some of the tracks included on the bonus disc - like Mr H Atom - are even less appealing.

A curate's egg then, but not without a certain wonky charm.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 April 2013
This is a curate's egg of an album and I have mixed feelings about it.

As he did after the breakup of the Beatles when he home-produced the great 'McCartney', Paul went home after Wings folded and produced this by himself, with the instruments plugged directly into the tape machine. It has that home-produced feel to it and there are tracks that sound, frankly, a bit rough. There are others, though, that are very good. So bear that in mind if you decide to buy this: it is quite idiosyncratic.

The album starts with 'Coming up' - an infectious rhythm and a catchy tune. Some people say that this side of Macca is lightweight and silly. The thing is, though, I challenge anyone to listen to it and then not have it in his / her head for the rest of the day. Once heard, never forgotten.

'Temporary Secretary' is one of those tracks that I like or dislike according to the mood I am in. 'Waterfalls' is a ballad that could have benefitted from higher production standards and a string backing, I reckon. A good melody though.

In all honesty, though some people love this album, I don't rate this as one of McCartney's best. Much of it is McCartney nurdling on his instruments at home to see what might evolve. But a Maccanurdle is better than most, so this album has its moments and it is worth owning and playing occasionally. I revisited it recently and found myself enjoying it more than I remembered.

It's interesting and it's certainly good in parts, but it's not, by any stretch of the imagination, up there with the four and five star albums he has produced. Three stars for this one.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2015
The sequel to 'McCartney' (1970), McCartney 2 was released on that album's 10th anniversary in 1980. Originally conceived as a double vinyl album, it was eventually reduced to a single LP. I spotted a 'Bootleg' 2CD set of the more complete version, once upon a long ago. The 1993 remaster included 2 extra tracks from the project; the lengthy 'Secret Friend' (10:30) and the bizarre, but enjoyable 'Check My Machine' (5:51). The other bonus cut on the '93 release was the memorable April 1979 hit 'Goodnight Tonight', which really should have found a home on the 'Back To The Egg' CD coupled with its excellent B side 'Daytime Nightime Suffering'.

'McCartney 2' retains the handmade feel of 'McCartney'. Recorded at home on a 16 track analogue recorder, with microphones plugged directly into the back, bypassing the recording console for a very 'analogue' sound. Again Paul played all the instruments, with additional vocals from Linda McCartney.

The album contains the singles 'Coming Up', a hit in April 1980, and a US Number 1; 'Temporary Secretary', which did not trouble the charts too much, despite its excellence, and the ballad 'Waterfalls', a hit in June 1980. The message of the latter song is basically "take care of yourself, because I love you".

I have always liked the sound of the bass, drums & guitar on the track 'On The Way'. 'Nobody Knows' is an upbeat song about the need for some privacy in Paul's life: "that's the way I like it, so that nobody knows". 'Frozen Jap' is a pleasant, up-tempo instrumental. which opened side 2 (on vinyl). 'Summers Day Song' sounds like a 'Hymn'. The jazzy 'Bogey Music' was inspired by a 1977 book 'Fungus The Bogeyman' by Raymond Briggs. 'Darkroom' is one of the stranger, more experimental songs. 'One Of These Days' is a pleasing ballad which (normally) is the closing song.

I bought the original vinyl LP soon after its release in 1980, the original 'Fame' label CD (sadly, it was sold) and later the 1993 CD. The 2011 remaster offers a further upgrade in sound quality, and a cardboard replica sleeve. Having bought the 1CD edition, I cannot comment on the 2CD release, but if it comes closer to the original album concept, then I suspect it is a worthwhile purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Ram
£7.99
McCartney II
£5.99
Tug Of War
£5.99
Pipes Of Peace
£11.99

Need customer service? Click here