Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
51
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 December 2000
If you can ignore instrumentals on side two of this record, then it is an absolute stunner from Macca. It's totally homemade, down to the mix and enginnering. McCartney plays and sings everything on record. The range of instruments is much larger than McCartney I, including what sound like woodwinds and brass instuments. Not only this, the standard of his drumming has improved since McCartney I. Outstanding tracks, Coming Up, On The Way, Temporary Secretary, Waterfalls, Bogey Music, One of these Days and Summer's Day Song. The album is in parts stunning, particularly the drum and bass style Darkroom.
This record is way out there in the fields. It reminds me of the Beach Boys' "Smiley Smile". Its one of Macca's best, if not the best he has come up with.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
My husband gradually replacing some old tapes with CDs so he knew the album well. I was glad to track it down. Not so easy for older albums.
He was not very impressed with bonus CD. Should have probably stuck to the basic package.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2005
The start of McCartney's second solo career got off a pretty disastrous start with the 'Wonderful Christmastime' single in December 1979 which although quite an inoffensive catchy yuletide offering was so obviously no serious attempt to match Lennon's 'Happy Xmas War Is Over' single from 1971, that it must have been some kind of joke. It is far worse than the Wings album 'Back To The Egg' from earlier the same year. So it was a one off mistake we all assumed.
Then in the late spring of the following year, 1980, Paul put out a Solo Album. Called 'McCartney 2'. This would not only provoke debates as to why this wasn't a Wings record bit inevitably invited comparisons with Paul's first solo venture, entitled 'McCartney' from ten years earlier in 1970. And suffered by comparison. For this record is not only not in the same league as that inauspicious though pretty damn impressive debut, it is also not even as good as the last Wings album 'Back In The Egg' (1979). Which invited its fair share of unwarranted criticism from the usual quarters. But at least 'Back To The Egg' was a full blooded attempt at something different. With more than a few highlights and a great spirit in evidence throughout the entire album.
McCartney 2 like its predecessor from 1970, is obviously a Home Recording. Recorded at home. And in its way it is as brave an attempt at a different sound as 'Back To The Egg' or anything Paul has done before or since. But here it is a lacklustre effort, mostly. For unlike on 'McCartney', the doodling here is for the most part uninspired in its melody, vastly inferior in its lyric and just comes across as what it actually was. Not a serious attempt at making an album. And no reason to split Wings up for sure. And although Paul has said that it was not until after Lennon's death (in December 1980) that he finally decided to 'fold' Wings, it cannot be a coincidence that the poor sales of 'Back To The Egg' surely prompted Paul to try his luck under his own name, infinitely more well known after all. Not until his 1982 album 'Tug Of War' (1982) did he do this decision anything like justice. This first solo album for 10 years was a mediocre affair if we are honest. Not that you would think that from the opening track (and single) 'Coming Up'. Which was a brave and interesting single and so different from anything he'd done up to this point that you would hardly recognise it was from him. Bliemy...even New Musical Express gave it a good review. Precisely for that reason. So a good start.
But it's pretty much downhill from here. 'Temporary Secretary' is still as pretty bad as it was back then. Awful synthesiser. 'On The Way' is a pretty good bluesy rocker, 'Waterfalls' is a decent ballad for sure, and the last track of Side 1 (vinyl record) is an engaging non sensical romp which is fun to listen to.
But Side 2 is nowhere near as interesting. Two forgtettable instrumental doodles (yes, Doodles), a melodic but meandering slow number 'Summer's Day Song', the funny but disposable 'Bogey Music', the avantgarde-ish but equally disposable 'Darkroom'. Side 2 is only rescued at the end by the sublime ballad 'One Of These Days'. Which is simply Great.
So in summary, I first bought and enyoyed this album back in 1980. And even with hindsight it has its moments, if not the Tale Of Two Ditties some critics have said of it, it is at best, even from me, the tale of no more than four or five ditties. And that by my standards is a little disappointing. By this great man's standards anyway.
The bonus tracks are no better I'm afraid.
22 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2010
Interesting material from Paul. Contains the hit single Coming up and the follow up Waterfall both strong creative numbers from this incredible talent. There is a terrific track called On the Way, which has some great guitar playing and an echo effect on Paul's voice.Amazing to think this was recorded in 1980.It sounds very good on C.D. with an extra couple of tracks. You can almost imagine him in his recording studio playing all the instruments putting all the backing vocals down doing what he does best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
Who cares what anyone else thinks, that don't really listen or understand. This is packed with more invention that most 80s electro-pop artists managed in their entire career - and came first! Certainly McCartney's best album post 1969 - and one that genuinely bare's comparison with his Beatles work (OK, I love London Town too!). Just listen without prejudice, and admit you love it....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
I'm a macca fan and would only recommend this to a macca fan who wants all his music. Once you strip out the singles 'coming up' and 'waterfalls ' plus temp secretary -there aint a hell of a lot going on here bar McCartney farting around. These days it would not sell 5000 but back then 500000 plus Americans thought the McCartney name a badge of ...quality ?! More likely an ex beatle got away with a lot in 1980.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
Paul McCartney's archive series has thrown up a few surprises, even for me a life long Beatles fan. I have all his original albums on vinyl. These Audio file recordings seem to have greater depth to them compared to the originals. Its like hearing these songs for the first time.
As always excellent delivery from Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
I received after a month (written to be sent by dhl, i received it by ordinary mail from USA), but it's a great thing! Deluxe edition gives the real dimension of this record and of the genius of Paul...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2004
I just recently re-listened to this record, and to my surprise I discovered that the electronica-bits were the most wonderful. Even contemporary electronica sometimes has difficulties matching Check My Machine, which is an outstanding example in it's genre.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
nice packaging well put together boxset of a great album anyone who goes on to purchase this boxset will not be disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.99
£6.99
£12.99
£12.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)