Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2013
Just read this book in one sitting (a good third of it is white space). Don't be fooled by the spacious, attractive page samples - it's VERY light on content. But my main reason for submitting a review is to warn you that the author constantly keeps trying to sell you her other book on web design. In the last 15 entries/chapters alone, no fewer than TEN contained the line ' In my book Neuro Web Design etc...". When you consider that the majority of these entries are barely 250 words, that's a lot of hot air. Don't waste your money.
11 comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
As a graphic design student about to write a dissertation on design psychology, this was book perfect for me.
It's written in plain English, and presented in a digestable, attractive way. You don't have to be a designer or a psychologist to understand it. I would recommend it to anyone in design, advertising, or even retail in general.
It includes attention-grabbing headlines, for example, chapter 59 is called "People Assume It's You, Not The Situation" - but more importantly it backs up all of the statements with valid psychological studies and sources.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
I love this book! Very easy to read, each chapter ends with ideas about how the psychology just discussed can be applied to design. Very practical. I'm a graphic designer and soon to be tasked with auditing and designing email communications/customer journey, so this will be very useful in helping me make design decisions with the user in mind and knowing how to get them to behave in a certain way along the customer journey and how my design decisions can influence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2012
Fantastic book capturing really useful research on how people interact, what motivates them, and how to refine and optimise user experience. Loaded with practical tips on putting the research into action!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
This is a great book. As a UX Designer it's really opened my eyes to new ways of thinking about the why and how people use products. It's an easy read, not too thick. Laid out in logical, digestible chapters that are then broken into sections of information that'll turn you into the office expert in user psychology and get you testing new ideas in no time. Might also help win some pub quizzes!

I'd really recommend adding 100 Things Every Designer Needs to Know About People: What Makes Them Tick? to your reading list along with Steve Krug's Don't Make Me Think and Don Norman's The Design of Everyday Things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2011
This book is a must for every designer, marketing or advertising professional. If you are commissioning design, to be forewarned, is to be forearmed. This book is both evolutionary and revolutionary. It is becoming harder, to find, engage and retain customers. It is even harder, if you fail to grasp the fundamental aspects of psychology, design and human behaviour.

This book is really a Pavlonian dictionary for people. Master the techniques, Susan has illustrated and your customers, clients and prospects, will be entertained as much as engaged and that is surely what we all aiming for.

I thoroughly recommend this book for anyone in the People business.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
This book is an absolute must for any graphic designer, web designer or user interface designer. Or maybe you're just interested in how people approach tasks - you wont be disappointed
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
This is a good book for someone who's getting started in design. You can get some basic concepts about how people view the web.
Knowing the psychology of the user is very useful, knowing how he will probably interact with your design is a great advantage.

This is book is pretty interesting for that point of view, not five starts because much of the interactive content, like links and online "exercises"/examples don't work anymore. Some web concepts are also outdated. Hence not the 5 stars.

All in all a good book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Loved the book - not just for designers but anyone who is interested in how people think in an office!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Recommended by a friend easy to read but at the same time an excellent book. This book has some good ideas and practical tips.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)