Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
33
4.6 out of 5 stars
The Directory of Essential Oils
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£7.99


on 14 February 2009
I've read and have a variety of books on essential oils but this is the one that i regulary consult if i wish to refresh my memory of a particular oil and it's properties/uses. It's the perfect book for people who can't be bothered reading as there's very little reading in it, which is why i buy it for , or recommend it to people starting out with oils.
For on only one page of reading they can get a general idea of how it effects mind, body and skin which will instantly enable one to choose the appropriate oil from one's collection for the intended purpose.
i've had a copy of this for many years and bought copies for others and i doubt if any other book shall take it's place.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Clear and easy to use. Very informative and great for those new to using essential oils.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
Very good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2010
This book has most of the oils that i need to research for my course in aromatherapy. It gives a good overall view of each oil, including a bit of history, which is vital if you want to become a good therapist. I am very pleased with my purchase, and would recommend this book to anyone who wants to know about aromatherapy oils.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
excellent resource for anyone interested in aromatherapy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2004
In this book Sellar has profiled 83 essential oils in quite a lot of depth, devoting two pages to each oil. After the usual list of names in English and Latin, extraction method and so forth, the categories listed are: aroma, features of the plant, history and myth, chemical constituents, properties, precautions, effects on mind, body, and skin, and good blending partners. This is pretty much the entire book, although there is a brief glossary at the end which runs along the following lines:
Antidontalgic: Relieving toothache.
Cajuput, Cinnamon, Clove, Nutmeg, Peppermint, Pimento.
There are also a couple of charts showing blending families (citrus, herbs, spices and so on) and suggested oils for skin types.
For someone who already has a basic working knowledge of aromatherapy, this is a very useful book, combining each of reference with impressive depth. I would not recommend it as the first book for a beginner, however. Sellar assumes that her readers already know how to use essential oils so does not provide any information on blending, carrier oils, methods of application, massage and so forth. In addition, the referencing tends to be one-way: it is much easier to look up an oil in this book than it is to look up a symptom. So if you want to find a good oil for, say, PMS, this book will be much harder to use if you do not already know that you should be looking at lavender, geranium, clary sage etc. The glossary at the end is of limited use and certainly does not constitute a materia medica. I find this book most useful when used in conjunction with other aromatherapy books, so that I can cross-reference, usually by looking up symptoms in other books and then turning to this one to find out more about the oils that have been suggested.
22 Comments| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2001
As a beginner in Aromatherapy I find this book an excellent introduction to aromatherapy. The history on each oil is very interesting to read while I appreciate any reference to modern traumas such aids, cancer where the oils can help in many ways. The only feature I would have liked to have seen is actually how to use the oils, under what form, quantity. But I guess there is not one book on aromatherapy, there are many that complement each other depending on the interest, knowledge of the writer and reader.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2010
This book is so useful. It's alphabetical, neatly laid out & very informative. I don't have another essential oil book, I bought this and about 14 oils for ailments (including lung cancer & pain) that I researched using a great supplier on ebay. That's all the info I feel I need as a novice wanting info on how an essential oil affects the body & mind, its properties and what other oils it blends well with. No advice on how to blend (No of drops) or carrier/base oils but I found that info out by searching the internet. Hope this was helpful, I really wanted to share my passion for such a great reference text.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2000
The Directory of Essential Oils contains possibly everything the student or practising aromatherapist might ever need to know about essential oils. Listed in an easy to read style and a doddle to just flick through when you only have a few minutes, the information is right there at your fingertips. Wanda Sellars have pitched this book at just the right level, not too in depth so that it puts you off, and not too light so that it doesn't contain everything you need. This book can be used and enjoyed by nearly anybody, the student, the aromatherapist or as a hobby read, this book has it all. Definately one to have at home.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2008
While this is not the most comprehensive guide to essential oils it is a good and detailed book for the most common ones and some less common ones. I have had the book for over a year now and I have constantly referenced it.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)