Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 23 June 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is the firt time I have used a Hair Styling product such as this and I was very impressed.
First of all this would make a brilliant gift. The box & overall presentation of the item is excellent - it looks really posh!
Inside the classy box is the fringed bag which holds the styler and the 2 salon type hair clips that also come with it.
The "on" switch is on the inside of the handle which is a great safety feature, as it cannot be switched on by accident. I was really surprised & impressed at how quickly it heats up - just takes a few seconds. It has a good length flex and is comfortable to hold. It is a real quality appliance. The little leaflet that comes with it only details how to do 1 style and that is the "Boho" part of it. The model has very long hair so obviously this style would not be suitable for anything but very long hair. My hair is short and even though I have yet to get a lot more practise, I managed to improve my usual look with the Styler. It is able to be used when switched off, during the cooling down period as it does not go instantly cold - it gradually cools. The more I use this Styler the move I love it.
The fringed Storage Bag is so well designed. Once the Styler is in the bag, there are 2 little flaps that velcro together to keep it in place at the bottom of the bag, and there is still storage for a bottle of GHD Thermal Hair Protector. All nice and neat and complete to pop in your suitcase or overnight bag.
Overall I think this top of the range Styler is a BRILLIANT product and I thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 June 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
GHD straighteners are not the cheapest available but looking at them and from the results they achieve they are simply the best.

I ordered these for the future Mrs C, as unfortunately my hair does not need straighteners. I am told by my good lady that they are everything the cheaper models are not. The plates do not catch and the hair glides through without any problems. The actual result is long lasting and they do not dull the hair. I am told that they are the best set of straighteners that she has ever used. The only downside is that they do seem to be somewhat fragile and are not as robust as some on the market and so care in storage is important.

They come packaged in a beautiful box. Inside is a bag, that holds the product, which would retail for a few pounds on its own. Everything about the presentation of this product wreaks of quality. Also for those who have bought real or fake GHD straighteners there is a hologram label on the electric wire to tell which is which. On this label is a unique code, which you can use to call GHD to make sure the straighteners are the real thing.

I am told that they are great and the best set of straighteners you can buy for the price. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
In terms of its quality, this product cannot be faulted. As with all GHD straighteners, the quality is exceptional. However, it seems this particular product has been designed to do both curls and straightening. 2-in-1, so to speak and, as such, it does neither of those things well. Both are possible if you follow the instructions, but I found that it's not truly succeeding in either curling or straightening your hair. The iron plate isn't wide enough for quick straightening and too flat for curling but, of course, you would expect the latter considering that, for all intents and purposes, this is a straightener pretending to be something else.

GHD usually beats many other straighteners hands down, so if you intend to spend this amount of money, I would recommend buying a proper GHD straightener or, in fact, split the cost between purchasing both curler and straightener. It is disappointing to spend this amount of money to buy something that claims to be both but does neither well.

3 stars only because the product is still of good quality but doesn't quite live up to high expectations normally delivered by GHD. Definitely not worth the price, unless you like paying for a lot of fancy packaging!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 June 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This hair straighter is very well made and packaged in a heatproof designer bag. The bag is luxurious, a bit weird really, more like something out of a Wild West movie. It comes complete with section clips and a booklet on achieving the fashionable 'Boho' look.

The straighteners themselves are lovely and worked very well. In particular, they heat up really fast and the blades are hot enough and thin enough to do curls.

Suitable for those who like designer products and are prepared to pay for them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 June 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Wow, these straighteners are something!

The best thing is that they literally heat up in like 30 seconds! Not to mention the chic, iconic and stylish design of both the straighteners and the bag to match which is heat proof. It is a stunning set with the little touches that seems to blow the other straighteners completely out of the market such as the gold plates and trimmings around the straighteners and the heat protector lid.

Yes, they are expensive but they really are the smoothest and best straighteners I have ever used. They also boast the ultimate environmental safety measure; they turn themselves off after 30mins non usage. So forgot worrying if you left the straighteners on and that your wasting electricity because with this feature there is just no need any more!

I have also used the bag as a proper bag and was commented on how nice it was, so it just shows you how eye catching the set is.

I promise you that these straighteners are worth spending the money on, they are an investment if your looking to buy a pair. And with a name like GHD, you know they are going to last. Make the investment and you will not be disappointed :)

Cassandra220689
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 June 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
These limited edition GHD straightners replaced my original GHD's which worked intermittently as I had ruined the cord by bending and twisting it too much.

Please note these are the slim hair style straighteners. If you have very thick, afro Caribbean or long curly hair you would be better off buying the wider plated GHD salon styler Straightner. If you only want them for a fringe or very short hair go for the mini ones.

Firstly these straightners come in a cool seventies style fringed brown suede bag that resembles a purse. You get a plastic sleeve type cover which makes them safer to use and also means that you can use them and then cover and put in the purse. In the bag you also get two separating clips. The whole lot arrives in a very attractive gift box. This make it the ideal Christmas or birthday present.

The plates are 'floating' which is meant to allow the hair to glide through more easily. I found that I had to squeeze the straightners more firmly to get the straightness that I usually get with my normal black slim ones.

In the box you also get simple instructions on how to create curls and and the 'Boho chic effect'. With my old straightners I was NEVER able to curl. These gold ones have a cord that moves and twists much more freely than the originals so twisting the straightners was easy and I actually managed to produce one or two curls. Also the barrel is more curved so that makes it easier to swivel them through the hair, but I do need more practice with them.

The straightners heat up quickly and beep when ready which is useful. There is a safety feature so that if you leave them on for thirty minutes they will switch off.

I'm hoping that these straightners will last longer as the cord is much better. Although I have to say my first ones have lasted for over five years.

I've haven't given the product five stars because I found that the curved shape of the barrel made it difficult to get right to the roots of the hair, which if you want to straighten curly hair would be an issue. I also don't think this model allows you to achieve the poker straight hair that the old ones did.

If you are replacing your older GHD's you'll find these slightly different to use because of the floating plates but you can create curls much more easily.

If this is your first purchase of GHD straightners then I'd highly recommend them. I've had friends who have used mine and been so impressed that they've gone out to buy their own GHD straightners to replace their own brand of straightner.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
You know you have made it in the appliance industry when your brand name becomes the product name; Hoover, George Forman etc. One company is so lorded over in the world of hair straighteners that they are simply known as GHDs, but is do they deserve the hype? The `GHD Iconic Eras Boho Chic Limited Edition Gold Styler Hair Straightener' are not only a pair of GHDs, but they are a special limited edition pair that come in Gold and arrive with a funky 70s style carry bag. The GHDs themselves are of a very high standard; they warm up quickly and do a great job on long hair. Other cool features include a soft alarm to tell you they have reached the correct temperature and a safety feature that turns them off if they are unused for 30 mins. No more leaving the house and worrying if you left the straighteners on or off.

There is no doubt that `Boho Chic' are a supreme set of straighteners that stand out amongst the best in the field. There is one improvement that could have been made on the range that is specific to this special edition. Although the exclusive bag is heat insulated, it does not fold out. This means there is no heat mat for you to place your hot GHDs on. Perhaps the bag could have doubled in this role too?

This is a minor issue in what are otherwise a great set of hair straighteners. GHDs are top notch no matter if they are standard issue, but the exclusive bag and colouring make the `Boho Chic' that little bit more special.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 September 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I got these straigteners for my 12 year old daughter and thought I'd let her describe them:

The ghd's were packaged really well, there wasn't too much packaging but it still kept them safe which was good. The box was silk and the slip cover was velvety and shiny at the same time!
The little carry case is really clever and easy to take around, the heatproof fabric inside was especially useful. I think that the case also looks really good with the tassels and looks more like a handbag.
The straighteners heat up in a few seconds and they straighten really well and I only have to go through my hair once and it is done!! I think that the plastic protector for them are good, it keeps them from getting scratched and protects them when they are cooling down, holding them closed.
These are very stylish compared to my last straighteners and I particularly like the patterns on them. The gold plates make these look a lot better than other straighteners and they are quite sleek and easy to handle.
I find that the hair clips are really useful and that they can be used to also comb through my hair when I am straightening it. The little books and guide inside are useful, and they help you to get the best that you can out of the ghd's.
Overall, I think that these Limited Edition Boho Chic ghd's are fantastic.

To sum up, these have the feel of a very expensive and well made product, from the packaging to the quality of the item and in when use, so we would highly recommend them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 June 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The good things about this product were the funky bag, plastic cover to prevent burns on tables etc, instructions of boho hair. The downside is that i don't think these straighteners are as good as Corollis straighteners, simply because they pull on your hair. They don't seem to be that hot either. I have used ghd's before and for some reason i don't think that this model cuts it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 20 June 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
GHD straightners might be excessively expensive (and these are no exception) but the quality of the results you will achieve is absolutely outstanding making the cost something to consider in the long run. The plates don't catch, slide through effortlessly, and without as many runthroughs, produce a maximum straight result with intense shine and incredible staying power.

GHDs are second to none and this is why they are the top brand professional stylists are using. No other straightener will give you results this brilliant.

Would advise they can break easily so do take good care of them, don't wrap the wire around them and do remember to put them away after using so they don't get kicked about, knocked over or damaged. Cleaning them is easy, but remember to do this after use and when they have cooled. Never put dampness on them before using them as it will short them. Also be careful of going over the same sections of hair several times, you can fry your hair easily with these.

These are an investment to good hair.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)