Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
34
4.0 out of 5 stars
Pret a Porter (Ready to Wear) [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 April 2017
Great item thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2016
Pret-a-Porter [DVD] [1995]
The film itself is one of those all star cast spectacles without a coherent story which is interesting mostly because of the stars involved. For me the only memorable moments are the appearances of the incredibly glamourous Sophia Loren and the always watchable Marcello Mastroianni. A lot of the other big names are wasted in this. However, I knew I was buying a film that is known for its glittering cast more than for its dramatic value.

The real disappointment was the DVD itself. This is a two sided format, a fact the product description fails to mention. So, half way through the film you have to get up and turn over the disc before watching the second half of the film. As with all two sided discs, you have to look closely at the small print around the center to make sure you insert it the right way up. As it happened, the film started playing immediately on insertion rather than displaying a menu first, and the only hint that you are, indeed, playing the first part of the film is the rolling of the opening credits - after a short pretitle sequence, playing out on the Red Square in Moscow. Initially this had me wondering if I'd received the right DVD at all. Strangely, once the first part had played, a perfectly good menu appeared on the screen? The advertised running time of the film is 133 mins, the disc I received states 127 mins.

The picture quality is fine, the sound is not quite so good. Some of the dialogue is difficult to understand. However, English subtitles are available and proved to be helpful with this problem. Parts of the dialogue are in foreign languages, these are subtitled in English. This is actually quite nice, I'd much rather hear Marcello Mastroianni speak Italian and have to look at subtitles than have his voice dubbed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 October 2015
This is certainly a star studded film, but "Ready to Wear" commits its first cardinal fashion sin in that it doesn't even look good. It does not have the sparkle or even the outrageousness of a real fashion show. The film just coasts, too confident that the ricocheting of well-known actors in an amusing setting will yield some sort of cinematic combustion. But it doesn't work, because the performers who have been assembled are left totally adrift. There is no solid narrative, just several dozen characters who cross paths or echo one another's actions, but this does at least offer some amusing moments.

The only saving grace for this film is the magnificent and beautiful Sophia Loren. Luckily she turns up grandly and often. The very sight of her is enough to suggest this film has some kind of couture style and fashion sense. When she is on screen even the super models pale into insignificance such is her presence and beauty. Ms. Loren swans through "Ready to Wear" as the grief-free widow of a fashion dignitary played by Jean-Pierre Cassel whose mistress played by the beautiful Anouk Aimee actually mourns him. The widow is stalked by a mysterious Russian, a sly Marcello Mastroianni, and there is good on screen chemistry between the two of them as you would expect.

We do thankfully at least get appearances from some real fashion designers in the form of Gianfranco Ferre, Issey Miyake and Sonia Rykiel, who all seem unsure, even bewildered about just what sort of film they're in. "Well, it's all about looking good " says Thierry Mugler! They may all look good, but if only one could say the same about this film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
A stylish, people-packed film, full of different stories/experiences around fashion week in Paris. It needs more than one viewing so you can identify all the different characters/stories easily and enjoy them more. Also interesting to see 90s fashions! And all in the days before social media!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2008
Highly anticipated movie was found bit disappointing by the critics and the public. The movie is very sarcastic and wonderfully explores the interim order of the fashion world. Including highly common features of this business environment: jealousy, anger, scare, superficiality, cruelty, etc

Cast - 5 star! From Sophia Loren to Julia Roberts and Kim Bessinger. Absolutely amazing is Drew Berrimore whom you can hardly recognise. The movie includes video excerpts from important fashion events and shows including a number of 90ies biggest supermodels like Claudia Schiffer, Helena Christensen (who appears on the cover of the DVD), Christy Turlington and designers like Jean Paul Gauthier, Thiery Mugler, Sonia Rykiel, etc. You can also spot than supermodel today the first lady of France Carla Bruni.

The movie is bit overwhelmed with various short episodes, which all together creates the whole story. Nevertheless, all together I find it absolutely hilarious. The main message could be phrased as follows " Not only Rock'N'Roll but also Fashion is dead".
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
Very funny film with Sofia Loren and I think Mariello Mastrianni - real belly laughs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
Veteran Robert Altman's slick directing, with a snazzy and peppy soundtrack as can be expected from the musically minded director, and a veritable cornucopia of top-of-the-line actors keep things moving along well enough in his 1994 fashion satire to avoid boredom, but unlike his other multi-strand tales like 'Nashville' and 'Short Cuts', the various stories never feel as satisfying or well connected as they ought to be, several being almost perfunctory and having nothing to do with the fashion trade (especially the Robbins-Roberts & Everett threads, neither of which feel important and lack full resolution) and then, even the ones that do offer nothing biting, insightful or new to say about this sometimes crazy and backhanded business that we haven't already known and probably cracked jokes about for years before the film was even made.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2000
I still don't understand why this movie wasn't a big success at the box office. I have watched it several times on Sky Movies and the last time I watched it, I decided I would by the DVD. I will never get tired of it.
Pret A Porter is one of the wittiest films ever. It gives us a very cheeky view into the banal world of Haute Couture and crazyness that surrounds Paris fashion week. The films strength is in being able to praise the talent and extraordinary beauty that the catwalk can reveal, but at the same time poking fun at the people who take it far too seriously - as if their lives depended on fashion.
The film blends an all star cast (from old and new cinema) together with Cameo appearences by real people from the fashion industry (Jean Paul Gaultier, Gianfranco Ferre, Christian Lacroix).
The many stories in this film, entwine and move forward without complication and make the two hours of the film feel like 5 minutes. Every time I watch it, I wish it would carry on and on.
As far as the transfer to DVD is concerned - the picture and sound quality are excellent. The only irritating quirk, is the fact that the widescreen letterbox occupies the entire top three-quarters of the screen and leaves a thick black strip at the bottom (no strip at the top) - I assume this is for the subtitles. Also, it is low on extra features. This is why I give it a 4 rather than 5 star rating.
Buy IT !
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2007
This is an entertaining spoof built around a Paris fashion week, and was actually filmed during that event. It's a typical Robert Altman film, with multiple story lines, fast cutting from one setup to another, and overlapping soundtracks, which all make it hard to follow at the cinema, and very suitable for rental so it can be replayed. It would take too long even to begin to summarise the subplots and characters, but in addition to a galactically stellar cast; there's a host of guest celebrities, including lots of couturiers; and of course dozens of models on and off the catwalk, in and out of designer clothes, and in the climactic scene without clothes at all.

It is always healthy - both for laughers and laughees - to laugh at powerful people who take themselves too seriously; and by poking fun at the fashion industry and its surrounding media circus, Altman is performing a social service, as well as being a true artist. But I don't find his satire as cruelly biting as some people do. He treats some characters sympathetically or neutrally - eg the designer played by Anouk Aimée and Marcello Mastroianni's mystery figure. And even the extreme characters - eg Richard E Grant's screamingly gay designer or Kim Basinger's gushing TV reporter - are only a little more exaggerated than some real-life equivalents.

The final nude catwalk parade is not only a visually delightful and neat solution to the problem of a designer having lost her collection; but is also a postmodern take on the fairytale of the emperor's new clothes - nowadays, the crooks wouldn't have to pretend they were making clothes for the vain emperor, but would be able to sell him nudity, so long as it had a trendy designer label!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2011
Robert Altman (1925-2006), a very productive US director, liked crowds and handled meandering and interlinked stories very well. Prêt-à-porter (1994), a fashion show for ready-made clothes, plays in Paris, immediately following his The Player (1992) and Short Cuts (1993), both five star cases as well. Prêt-à-porter, like most of his films, is ideal for Altman's favourite technique of cameo appearances (Harry Belafonte. Paolo Bulgari. Naomi Campbell, Anello Capuano and many more), with a host of international stars, models and designers. The film may be best known for its many cameo appearances and its final scene.

It is quite obviously difficult to do justice to all and everybody, so the National Board of Review gave its 1994 Award ("Best Acting by an Ensemble") to all and everybody: Sophia Loren, Marcello Mastroianni, Jean-Pierre Cassel, Kim Basinger, Chiara Mastroianni, Stephen Rea, Anouk Aimée, Rupert Everett, Rossy de Palma, Tara Leon, Georgianna Robertson, Lili Taylor, Ute Lemper, Forest Whitaker, Tom Novembre, Richard E Grant, Anne Canovas, Julia Roberts, Tim Robbins, Lauren Bacall, Lyle Lovett, Tracey Ullman, Sally Kellerman, Linda Hunt, Teri Garr, Danny Aiello, Jean Rochefort and Michel Blanc.

Apart from, a bit like film-in-film in Truffaut's La nuit Américaine, the many fashion shows within fashion shows add to the turbulence of the movie, it has a hilarious self-parody by Sophia Loren and Marcello Mastroianni, which, like so much in this movie, is originally triggered by lost (actually: misplaced and later found luggage. Labiche and slapstick rather than communication and comprehension, nutty like Jerry Lewis, but a lot more refined, I needed two viewings until I was ready for my third, where I finally got the whole story together. And had a big, long laugh. And had a big, long laugh. Not all Altman is five star to me, but that which is, is hall of fame quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)