Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
49
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2015
Back to the good old days post Beatles. Early McCartney is much better than some of his latest geriatric Rock & Roll output.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
nice packaging well put together boxset of a great album anyone who goes on to purchase this boxset will not be disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
PAUL McCARTNEY clean up to be as it showld have been, you hear it as you were at the studios as he made it for you. Plus on this disc you get an extra disc, you get cleand up songs that you will hear when you can sea him live if you can.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Good mix of songs. Good to experiment on Albums like this. As with Sir Paul, it's difficult to have a favourite song.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
Great C.D......if you like Macca you must have this in your collection, must be heard on good Hi-Fi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
I never tire of this album - for me Macca's finest solo LP of all ( including the Wings catalog)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
Fab homemade album, I pick Bogey Music as the best .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
Recipient very happy with gift. Prompt delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2011
Of McCartney's 2 DIY albums I like this the best but a song like Temporary Secretary is a song struggling to get out.There's a challenge to somebody if not him-turn this song into a lush ballad.It could be done in just the same way that Waterfalls could be drowned in machine noise.
For me the standout is Bogey Music-a song which is a great piece of 50s styled doodlyaba music which the Rivingtons could have worked miracles on
The 2nd CD is notable for a song called Blue Sway which comes in 2 different stylings-the 2nd is combined with a song called All You Horse Riders
As for Front Parlour it always struck me that with the addition of some words this is a great Christmas song
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2005
I love Macca and think he was the most talented of the Beatles, but if you compare what Lennon was doing at this time- releasing sublime songs such as 'woman' and 'just like starting over' and compare them to the crap on this release, you know who had the last say before Lennon died.
'Coming up' is a meandering and tuneless little pop song that I grew to like after continuous listens, but has little to recommend it as a song. (the video is really cool though, love the Sparks impersonations!!)
The only good songs are 'Waterfalls' which also has a nice video and a beautiful melody. 'Summers day song' has a gorgeous climaxing melody and 'one of these days' would be n excellent end to any album.
But the rest is garbage. A couple of shallow and tuneless rockers on either side of waterfalls, that I could have come up with ina few minutes. Nothing to commend 'on my way' or 'nobody knows'. 'Darkroom' is horrible and why does Paul always have to write a stupid song like 'bogey music'. The title tells you what you need to know. Stupid experimentation on the voice. (in almost every track and it never works.) Sounds like a far far worse version of 'famous groupies' from 1978.
The worst song has to be 'temporary secretary'. The chorus will leave you cringing it is so bad. An awful number.
As for the bonus tracks, 'Goodnight tonight' is great, but just does not belong on this album, it should be on 'back to the egg'. 'Secret friend' has a kind of hynotic effect and is relaxing, but at 10:30 these is self indulgence, even for a b-side. At 3:00 it would not have been so bad. As for 'check my machine', the bass line sounds like grange hill and the actual 'song' is, in my opinion, one of the worst songs by Sir Paul ever. Absoultuely dreadful.
33 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.00
£7.89
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here