Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
14
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.34+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2011
... this isn't my favorite album.

The songs are good, but altogether a bit too typical and all in the same vein. Also, fewer stay in your head after listening. I've listened to it a couple of times by now and it does not keep getting better, instead I find myself more drawn to some of their previous recordings.
I am also a bit disappointed by the guitar sounds - after all the Amott brother are one of the main assets of Arch Enemy. This one is a bit dry and lack character. It also has some rather weird, almost easy-listening moments.
My other gripe is the instrumentals. They are short and tasty, but also... unnecessary. You find yourself drawn to the forward button instead of listening through another lifeless, somewhat boring instrumental. This applies to the intro as well. Strangely, I didn't find this the case with the previous instrumentals Arch Enemy have done, or the intro on "Domesday".

If you are new to Arch Enemy I would recommend you to rather go for "Rise of the Tyrant" (melodic and heavy) or "Anthems of Rebellion" (very heavy and more diverse).

All in all it's a good record and fans will enjoy it, it is a quality recording, but it also lacks that genius, that extra special touch Arch Enemy have shown in previous records.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2011
This is a polished, mature work from Arch Enemy. It won't be for everyone; the production quality is high and while mostly quite heavy, all of the songs are very melodic. The album showcases the band's technical ability, the drums, guitar lines and song structures are interesting throughout. The guitar lines show more neoclassical and progressive influences than on previous albums. Indeed, some tracks (especially city of the dead) are slightly reminiscent of dream theater songs. The drums and vocals are fantastic throughout.

I am giving the album four rather than five stars because the album is slightly let down by the three instrumental pieces. The instrumental parts shine through so well on all of the songs that the three tracks without vocals are redundant and just sound like less interesting versions of the songs. Other weak points of the album are that the variety between songs is relatively low and I feel that the increased melodic focus makes the songs much less heavy than they could be. There are heavy riffs and blastbeat passages but they're always broken up by a progressive guitar break, a switch to a complex syncopated drum pattern or an acoustic / keyboard passage which while technically impressive, feel just a tad overused. Due to frequent rhythm changes the songs on this album are much less moshpit friendly than usual for Arch Enemy.

That said, I'd recommend the album to any fan of Arch Enemy or melodic death metal. It would probably also be worth a listen for progressive metal fans. There are also some very challenging guitar parts that would be of interest to advanced students of the instrument.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2011
Its been a few years now since the decent-but-unremarkable `Rise of the Tyrant' and I have been eagerly anticipating the release of this album, in the hope that AE would develop their metalcore/Gothenburg sound without losing their trademark bite and aggression. Does Khaos legions live up to expectation?

I'm afraid the answer is, for the most part, no. Although the superior songwriting is clearly present, what hits home is the alarming lack of progression from their previous two works. There is simply none at all to be seen. Over the first four songs - which are the best on display, this is not so much of an issue, but as soon as the standard drops slightly, my level of interest did too. Despite my best efforts I have started to drift off and to mull over the gardening/what to have for tea/when I can play Amorphis' latest masterpiece again.

Part of the problem, I feel, is the limited nature of AE's sound. Lack of progression is not necessarily a bad thing, for example Soilwork and Dark Tranquility have both been releasing the same album for nigh on ten years now. But both bands use a lot of variety within their songs, including the use of clean vocals, giving each song a clear identity. AE aren't so lucky - Angela, though one of the best raspers in the game, has very limited range, and the three `standard' instruments only are utilised. Consequently the feeling of stagnation and saminess is amplified and the mind starts to wander...

It's not all bad, the songwriting prowess is still there, `Bloodstained Cross' is class and `No gods, no masters' is an anthemic classic, perhaps the best song they have ever written. However two songs do not make an album, and if AE are not to slip from their podium into the vast Metalcore `pack,' they may need to have a re-think about their musical direction and - dare I say it - personnel.
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2011
Arch Enemy really come up with the goods this time. Very heavy, but with very clever melodic hooks. This album will take a couple of listens to fully appreciate some of the clever aspects. Definately on of the albums of the year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2012
I don't know what happened with the Hermes guy that was delivering this vinyl to me, but 3 days in a row it kept being delayed even though the tracking said it was out in the van in my area for delivery. I've heard others having problems with this particular delivery company too... But apart from that, excellent record and I love that you get a free download of the album so you can have it on your ipod as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
Arch Enemy are amazing and I've loved them since the beginning, buy all of their albums now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
very fine album, second only to rise of the tyrants
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Probably my favourite AE release to date. Superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2012
When Arch Enemy releases a new work you can be sure that it's going to be a masterpiece, and Khaos Legions is not an exception. The technique of all the musicians is growing and growing better. This CD is a real piece of pure metal!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
Arch Enemy always rock!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)