Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now



VINE VOICEon 7 March 2012
If there is anything that puts me off a book more, it is bad grammar and this book is full of it. You end up having to re-read sentences to make sense of them when a simple comma would do the job.

Back to the plot (if you can even call it one then). Jensen is 16 and lives with her Sister Lauren who she believes is a Con Artist and this is why they have to keep on moving around the US all the time. Little does she know what will kick off when she pries open a spiteful girls locker.............she suddenly finds she has double sight and that in fact Lauren isn't her Sister but her Mother and that her Maths Teacher isn't a teacher at all but is instead her Father! She also finds out that she isn't exactly human herself.

The books wobbles along vicariously never quite explaining things adequately as another reviewer pointed out and I am glad to say that is was a free book because I would have been seriously miffed if I had paid for it.

Not recommended at all and I adore stories about the Sidhe.............that's another good point, we the readers are expected to know what the Seelie and UnSeelie Courts are..........nothing is explained in this book at all. Fortunately from reading Melissa Marr and Anya Bast I am au fait with the foregoing.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2012
The bad points:

It needs a good edit/proofread
Way too many cliches, both in terms of language and in terms of plot
Very short, I know it's part of a trilogy but it just plain feels incomplete
Feels like a first draft that has been published way before its time
Punctuation and grammar are both rather hit and miss
Overall the storyline is incredibly disjointed - nothing fits together right, and I kept clicking back to see where I'd missed something only to find out it wasn't there to be missed

HOWEVER... and it is a pretty big however:

There are some great/interesting ideas in here. I've read Shimmerspell and Limerick, and while I'm not tempted to purchase the 3rd part of the trilogy unless I see it for free (I got these two when they were on offer) there's enough here that I can't help thinking there is a good book here trying really hard to get out. I found a lot of the teen-speak to be very realistic and often funny. This book isn't even near ready to be let out into the world at large, but I do very much feel that Spencer should keep on writing, improve her craft, and will then be able to rejig this at some point into a really engaging YA paranormal romance. It's far from perfect, but there's definitely a lot of potential here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2011
Hop, skip and rush. This story went from one end of the playing field to the other and back. It has a pretty storyline and nice supernatural concept, but it was too rushed and felt as if whole chapters should have been added in between to make it more fluid. This could have been a good novel if the writer had spent enough time with it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2013
Sixteen-year-old high school student Jenson Meadows has no idea who she really is, her whole life she believed her mother had died and she was being raised by her sister Lauren. When events happen that cause Jenson to start seeing past faerie glamour Lauren abandons her saying "... Seek the order of the high wizard if need be and whatever you do, don't take off your ring."

Jensen finds herself caught in the middle of an ancient faerie war of Arthurian proportions. She soon learns that faeries aren't made of sparkly goodness, some can be vicious. With the help of Liam Casey and his sister Fiona, she delves into their world to find her missing sister and begins to suspect that her whole life has been nothing more than a faerie tale.

This novella has a very original story line that is tied into Arthurian legend in a very unique way. The author does a nice job introducing us to Jensen and a few friends. I loved the dialogue between the teenagers; it was witty and typical for that age. When Jensen breaks into her friend's twin sister's locker, she starts seeing the world differently. She becomes Two-Sighted, which means she can see through faerie glamour and can ignore their compulsion.

Then things start happening too fast and furious, the story gets rushed and at times confusing. Some descriptions of the faerie world are colorful and well done, other parts needed a lot more definition or explanation. Many new faerie characters are introduced and not well defined. Perhaps certain aspects are picked up in the rest of the trilogy; but time should have been taken in this story to define Sidhe, Seelie and Unseelie courts as they pertained to her faerie world and not just assume the readers know, because this is a YA story. There is a lot of potential for a great story here that the author just lost by rushing the story along.

Format/Typo Issues: A small number of errors.

**Originally written for "Books and Pals" book blog. May have received a free review copy.** This review was originally posted on Big Al's Books and Pals review blog on July 12, 2012
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2012
Rushed through and even though it was a free book, I can't see myself finishing the series.
With an overall good plot and characters but all underdeveloped and didn't speak out as great, the book was too short for me and had hardly any description and explination of the world the main character has been thrust into. Disapointing overall.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2011
Shimmerspell is a lovely paranormal YA story about a girl who discovers that neither she, nor the world around her, is exactly as it seems. There's a little touch of romance, quite a bit of magic, and a few surprises along the way.

I truly believe Spencer is a talented writer. Her descriptions of places such as the Isle of Mermen are outstanding. She doesn't just show you what it looks like, she draws you right into it.

Having said that, the book is slightly choppy in places. Some things are left a little unclear (For instance dark elves and light elves are a big part of the book, but they are never really explained.) or feel slightly rushed. But this is her first novel and it's a pretty solid offering. She can only get better.

I certainly won't hesitate to recommend Shimmerspell as a light, quick read to anyone who enjoys a paranormal YA. It's also a nice relief from the usual vampire trope. :-)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2013
This had the potential to be a really good book. The story was a great idea but it was full of bad grammar and punctuation. Some parts of the story were very descriptive and other parts were rushed through with little or no explanation. The characters weren't built up well and it was full of language that a teenager would use when they are out of ear shot of adults and think that it sounds cool.

I felt as if there was a lot missing, it could have been much longer and a brilliant book if the right descriptions and explanations were included. It could have been proofread properly and much better written. I won't be reading the rest of the trilogy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2012
This was a free ebook, which is the only reason I'm not cross that I read it. It's self-published, and you can tell - the pacing is off, scenes which should be important are rushed and in some cases it feels like they are missed out entirely, whilst other scenes, such as a fascination with the main character's school nemesis at the beginning of the book take up a lot of wordage considering they're never mentioned again. The character development is non-existant, and the relationship development is patchy. Jensen goes from finding Liam creepy in one scene to "starting to adore" him in the very next. Explanations are left out - we are told her sister is a 'con artist', and just left to believe it with no backing up of it. That's a fairly large plot-bomb to drop casually into a novel and then ignore. And how does that seem to have affected the main character? Not too badly, she's just bummed she can't go to the cinema. She doesn't change as a character through the story, and whilst she nominally reacts to events, they don't seem to really bother her all that much, she's sassing away two lines later. The dialogue is pretty clunky in places too. Why does Liam trust her after exchanging perhaps not even 500 words with her in the whole book?

Too much suspension of disbelief is expected, mixed with too little world and character building. The book doesn't have an internal logic, so it can't follow one and it all seems a bit like nonsense. Also, the clunking references to Arthurian legend and Captain Exposition! moments made me cringe.

The spelling is good though. And it is short.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2013
This is the first book in the Shimmer Trilogy, very addictive and easy to read. I went on to read the whole series as you really needed to know what was going to happen to the characters. Couldn't put this book down once I picked it up, only took me a day to read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2013
All told a good story. Gets a bit disjointed halfway, but catches up with itself and finishes well. Looking forward to the rest of the books. Let's hope they run as well as this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here