Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
34
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2008
As the review title states this film is available on region 2 DVD from Amazon Germany with English & German audio. It is released by Warner home video and has a good quality (for an 80's sci-fi b-movie) anamorphic widescreen picture with English opening titles and end credits. The German title of the film is "Sador - Herrscher im Weltraum" (copy & paste this title when you search for it) If you have an Amazon UK account you can order using your existing account details (you don't need to create another account on their site) You should be able to work your way around the site easily as it is laid out the same as Amazon UK. At the moment the film is 9.97 Euros and shipping to the UK is 6 Euros. Hope this has been helpful.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 August 2011
Co-produced by Roger Corman and Ed Carlin, Battle Beyond the Stars is directed by Jimmy T. Murakami and written by Anne Dyer and John Sayles. It stars Richard Thomas, Robert Vaughn, George Peppard, John Saxton and Darlanne Fluegel. Music is by James Horner and cinematography by Daniel Lacambre. Plot is Seven Samurai/The Magnificent Seven as Star Wars.

We know it's a rip-off, but it's a lovingly crafted cheesy rip-off, the kind of cheap space adventure we thrilled to when our ages allowed us to not care about technical craft. Budget has been spent on securing "names" Vaughn (reprising his role from Mag 7) and Peppard, leaving one James Cameron to produce a set design out of McDonalds cartons and hypermarket boxes, with that knowledge in mind, it comes out as a glorious achievement. From Russ Meyer influenced spaceships, to the trippy costumes, the look and feel of the film is a triumph over adversity. Story moves briskly and the recycled action gladdens the heart, and there's no little imagination used to form the narrative, telegraphic beings feeling as one, woo-hoo! While the cast can not be faulted for effort, attacking the material with gusto and a glint in the eye.

Endearing and fun for those prepared to let the inner child out during the viewing. 6/10
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2011
With the sci fi boom at its peak in the late 70s,early 80s,the market was well and truly flooded with movies of all kinds,that catered for every taste.In the middle of this frenzy was Battle Beyond The Stars,swamped by bigger budgets and more attention grabbing movies,it never really ignited at the box office,and somehow became one of thoes films that became lost.But never has a film been more deserving of being rediscovered than this one.

Its a glorious B movie in every sence,a remake of the Magnifcent Seven(Robert Vaughn more or less plays the same character in this one that he did in the Magnifcent Seven),shift the location from a Mexican village to another planet and there you go,thats it.But it doesnt matter,the film moves along at a more or less consistant pace,and the action comes thick and fast.The characters are either boo,hiss villains or optimistic heroes,but you dont care,because the whole thing is just so much fun.There were a lot of films around at that time that had far bigger budgets,and far bigger stars infront of the camera,but none of them were as much fun,or left you feeling like you had genuinely just enjoyed what you had watched.It is one of thoes films that aims low,and as a result of knowing its limits,manages to hit high,very high.

As for the dvd itself,well its not been remastered or cleaned up in anyway,and at times,especially on explosions,the soundtrack does distort a little.But overall it is more than watchable,you can always clearly see what your looking at,and hear it as well.Just dont expect something that rivals an old movie thats been restored,its more along the lines of a pretty good VHS copy.Yes it is on the expensive side,but I think it is more than worth it.Just a pity that it has never been remastered,because it does deserve to be.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2015
Fun scifi adventure, loosely based off the original Seven Samurai and The Magnificent Seven, but basically set in space.

Fun Fact: This was one of James Cameron's first films he worked on, he helped with the special effects, amazing how he started out from this to Avatar huh?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2006
Yet another classic 80s Science Fiction left yearning for a region 2 release. Following the basic story of The Seven Samurai a small peaceful planet is threatened by the evil space lord Sador, the young Richard 'Jonboy' Thomas is sent out to hire mercenaries to help fight the invaders.
The cast is excellent, Thomas does a decent enough job in the lead and is given great support by George Peppard, John Saxon and Robert Vaughn reprising a role he had played in an earlier remake the Magnificent Seven. The Mercs are all great and individual characters and provide great onscreen chemistry.
The special effects are good for the time and the space battles though not quite of epic proportions are well staged and well edited. Enjoyable saturday afternoon B-movie stuff, not quite remebered as a classic but maybe someday.
33 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
The people of the planet Akira Kurosawa are under attack from John Saxon of Balamory and his band of smelly scar-faced morons in a hammerhead shaped space ship (try saying that with a few drinks in you). They're going to use their flux capacitor, or whatever, to blast the planet into bits, for no reason, other than the fact that it's there. So, John-boy Walton sets off to find help and defend his homeworld. He enlists Hannibal (from the A-Team), some white guys, a poor chap in an uncomfortable lizard mask, the Man from U.N.C.L.E. and Sybil Danning's bouncing breasts. Together they battle with Mr Saxon...er...beyond the stars in a fight to the death.

It's difficult to believe that this Roger Corman produced, 'Seven Samurai' / 'Magnificent Seven' rip-off once rivaled 'Star Wars' for my affection as a child. I had such fond memories of John-boy's sassy, talking spaceship and George Peppard's "Space Cowboy" (yes...that's what his character is actually called). Those fond memories were quickly dashed upon viewing 'Battle Beyond the Stars' with adult eyes. Some things really are best consigned to the memory bin, even if they are enjoyable enough.

While it's not entirely wretched, it is a generally "bad" film, with awful editing and terrible pacing. But, it is charming and everyone seems to be having a good laugh. Some of the effects are quite decent for the time and for a budget of just $2.000.000, it's easy to see where the money went. Those said effects and Robert Vaughn / George Peppard's pockets. The model work is actually quite nice too and I understand that some of them were used in other Roger Corman B-Movie extravaganzas later on.

Further honourable mention should go to James Horner, who delivers an pleasant and befitting soundtrack and a little known chap called James Cameron, who's "special effects" career seems to have faded away. Pity, he seemed destined for greatness...

...I wonder whatever happened to him.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
A crisp clear print of this Roger Corman classic. The disc is region A locked so you will need a multi-region blu ray player, however , these are not hard to find and the disc is well worth having.
Sound is available in 5.1 remix, a little echo on the explosions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
I first saw this on TV years ago and loved it. Something reminded me of it recently so I searched and found it here. OK it is not full of modern hi tech imagery but the story is good and the characters interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
I remember watching 'Battle Beyond the Stars' as a kid and wandering through Amazon recently saw this and all those memories came flooding back. This film stars 'John Boy' from The Waltons, Robert Vaughn and George Peppard. The 'effects' are not like the films of today but instead of making this film clunky, it actually gives it a nostalgic feel (or maybe that's just me!). Anyway, it is a great little film and must have something to have stayed with me after all these years. You wouldn't do far wrong getting this DVD and watching how things were done in the early 80's. Excellent film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
Delivery was prompt and the item was sealed and exactly as described.

However….twit that I am, I didn’t realise that while my Sony Blu-Ray player is multi-region for DVDs, it is not (and cannot be made so) for Blu-Ray discs.

Yes…yes…yes…the seller did advise this and yes…yes..yes, I am clearly an utter buffoon for not realising this.

I know, ok?

Don’t go on.

I therefore have a very nice drinks coaster that has cost £11.00 and a case that I can put my ‘recorded off BBC2 late-at-night’ DVD disc in!

Lovely.

Caveat emptor. (Which is a warning…not a character from the film…)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)