Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2015
Fun scifi adventure, loosely based off the original Seven Samurai and The Magnificent Seven, but basically set in space.

Fun Fact: This was one of James Cameron's first films he worked on, he helped with the special effects, amazing how he started out from this to Avatar huh?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2006
Yet another classic 80s Science Fiction left yearning for a region 2 release. Following the basic story of The Seven Samurai a small peaceful planet is threatened by the evil space lord Sador, the young Richard 'Jonboy' Thomas is sent out to hire mercenaries to help fight the invaders.
The cast is excellent, Thomas does a decent enough job in the lead and is given great support by George Peppard, John Saxon and Robert Vaughn reprising a role he had played in an earlier remake the Magnificent Seven. The Mercs are all great and individual characters and provide great onscreen chemistry.
The special effects are good for the time and the space battles though not quite of epic proportions are well staged and well edited. Enjoyable saturday afternoon B-movie stuff, not quite remebered as a classic but maybe someday.
33 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
A crisp clear print of this Roger Corman classic. The disc is region A locked so you will need a multi-region blu ray player, however , these are not hard to find and the disc is well worth having.
Sound is available in 5.1 remix, a little echo on the explosions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
I remember watching 'Battle Beyond the Stars' as a kid and wandering through Amazon recently saw this and all those memories came flooding back. This film stars 'John Boy' from The Waltons, Robert Vaughn and George Peppard. The 'effects' are not like the films of today but instead of making this film clunky, it actually gives it a nostalgic feel (or maybe that's just me!). Anyway, it is a great little film and must have something to have stayed with me after all these years. You wouldn't do far wrong getting this DVD and watching how things were done in the early 80's. Excellent film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
any body remember this. in a nut shell its magnificent seven in space
not well acted but effects pretty good for that time

note sadors battleship has been seen in other films
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
Great film. Reminds me of when I first watched this. Be careful with US region 1 as even multi regional DVD players do not accept this. Great film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2011
I'm watching this movie again, after not having seen it for at least 20 years. I know it very well because I went to see it three times at the cinema when it was first released, and I saw it dozens of times on video later. I sit here watching it now, 30 years after it was made and I am still as impressed as I was when I first saw it. A movie made about space in the wake of the groundbreaking 'Star Wars' of 1977 would always run the risk of comaprison, but this movie works so well in its own right, it deserves its own place in the annals of sci-fi cult cinema. It doesn't 'look' old either, and the effects are as believeable as they were for 'Star wars' and the graphics comparable to early, or even later 'Babylon 5'. This is not some cheesy nonsense like 'Star Trek' but a well-thought-out story that embellishes the good versus evil theme without stratching it beyond the believeable in terms of characterisation. A host of colourful characters and some great space and ground action provide the ingredients for a thoroughly enjoyable, and engrossing experience. Gelt - is he modelled on Avon from 'Blakes 7' I wonder?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2011
The magnificent 7 in Space

A solid space opera made by today's first range of Directors and Producers like James Cameron.

After all these years still fun to watch.

Good picture and Sound, unfortunately Region locked to A
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 June 2013
Essentially, this is a micro budget rehash of the seven samuri, set in space and filmed in a shed. Far from being a clunker, this massive hoot is hugely entertaining. George Peppard, the majestic Sybil Danning and John Boy Walton turn up to stop John Saxon and his evil minions from destroying a peaceful planet...... What's not to like. Corman had cheek to try this and the ad hoc nature didn't stop there; James Cameron, on his first big gig, was hired for the backroom but became the special effects director. According to reports the film cost two million and made over eleven; not a bad return!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
My video review https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=trfxdl-Izgo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse