Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
93
4.2 out of 5 stars
Package Quantity: 1|Style Name: Egg Topper Modern|Change
Price:£8.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 June 2013
I bought this for my egg-shell hating boyfriend. It works like a dream, you just have to be confident. Hold it tightly round the egg and pull the knob (?!) up fully and let it go. DON'T BE SCARED. All that will happen is that you will get a perfect cut around your egg and you can take the top off in one go.
Don't do what my friend did and think it didn't work and try and do it again, otherwise you'll end up with egg all over your hands, face, clothes, table, child, china, toast and dog. Still, that was good for a laugh so maybe don't tell people that ;)
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2012
Superb. Have read other reviews and they haven't worked out how to do evidently.......

Pull ball up hold onto the stem and make sure that the clacker is sitting on top of the pointed end of the egg, let go ...It should have come away in the clacker complete ...or cut a perfect line around the egg so all you need to do is get a knife and lift it off, wish I had invented it.

Am now going to order another 3 for my children and sister in law.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Excellent. Simple to use. One full pull leaves a perfect score around the egg which easily lifts off with the aid of a spoon or knife. No more burnt fingers or bits of shell in my egg!! I always use medium or large eggs so cannot say how it performs on small eggs.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
This is a very clever idea but it takes a few attempts to get it right. The basic idea is a spring loaded handle that is pulled up and released so the sharp rim of the metal cup hits and cuts round the top of the egg.
Too light a hit and it doesn't quite cut the shell clean. Too heavy and the top of the egg comes off but can shatter a lot of the rest of the egg shell.
Why do I bother? Well, I hate burning my fingers holding a boiled egg and yes, I know I could use a tea towel but just never do. Slicing the top off the egg with a knife invariably leaves shattered shell in the egg.
So this clever little gadget is definitely worth persevering with.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2012
What's with the idiots here who couldn't get it to work? It works perfectly. There's no 'knack' involved. But here's the rub, you often need to do it twice. If it doesn't do it the second time, then the third definitely will. Do it twice at full force and it will even break the membrane.

Job done.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
Encouraged by the number of positive reviews I went ahead and bought the masterclass egg topper which is made by Kitchen Craft. Some reviewers state that there is no technique required - but this is definitely not the case (even the instructions refer to the ball being lifted slightly). Other say that success comes with practice - but is it worth the time and effort (and eggs)?

My experience (following the instructions precisely):
Egg 1 - The entire shell cracked making it very difficult to salvage anything from the egg.
Egg 2 - On the first attempt there was no affect on the egg whatsoever. On the second attempt the top was removed but there were far more shell fragments than if I had done it the old way and sliced the top off with a knife.
Egg 3 - Forget the egg topper - Out with a knife (not perfect, but way better than the unpredictable Topper).

The instructions on the box state that I will get a "precision cut around the top of the egg leaving no shell residue". They also use the word "simply" when describing what to do. My response is "Unbelievable"!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
Prompt service given by the provider. I found that if you drop the plunger too quickly it actually breaks most of the egg shell but if you are more gentle it works perfectly.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
They say a bad workman blames his tools. If the available tool is a knife and you are trying to top an egg I would argue that the workman is perfectly justified in having a moan. What the workman needs is an egg-topper just like this one and pretty much any old knife to finish the job, leaving a perfectly topped egg, with loads of room for the spoon, time after time. Granted, if you undercook the white, the egg will go everywhere, but unfortunately you can't really blame the topper for your inability to boil an egg!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
It's beautifully made and does the job. Some have complained that the illustrations are misleading in that it rarely takes off the entire top of the egg - but if you think on how it works then that's unsurprising: A KERDINGKERDINGER [technical term] is transmitted from the impact zone of the apex of the semi-ovoid when it's smacked by the springpulled ball down to the circular ridge which is in contact with the eggshell; now that KERPLINKING [technical term] of the shell won't rupture the sortof colloidal state of the eggwhite. No worries, insert a serrated knife and it's all off.

It makes the making of a boiled egg (especially done in an egg-boiler) a joy.

What I do wonder is: How was this invented? Hard to imagine it coming from tinkering, must have come from the thinking-through from first principles, bet was in China. No bets for who will colonise Mars :-)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
I bought this having seen James Martin use one on his cookery programme!! He used it to produce a perfect, shell fragment-free cut. I have tried it on raw and cooked eggs and it doesn't always work. It reduced a soft boiled egg to a mush. Maybe I just need more practice, because I also had some quite good results, although not as pristine as those achieved by JM.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)