Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 25 September 2016
Has it's moments but didn't always manage to hold my interest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2014
I bought this as I am a huge Ewan fan but his failings in this were masked by the wonderful Christopher Plummer. Without him, this movie would have been a complete flop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2015
As advertised
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2014
Enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2016
new favourite film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2014
Sensitive topic dealt with without any false glamour or angst. Great performances. Great script.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2015
All was perfect! From the product to delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2015
Loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2011
Great........Good..............Very Good!

Christopher Plummer was outstanding and so was Ewan Mcgregor but the dream casting was Melanie Laurent. She is an actor of many talents and emotions and although she is inbetween two acting heavyweights she is marvellous and is an absolute treat. The film is complex and your emotions are put to the test but since acquiring it I have watched it twice and will watch it again as there are new things to see and new emotions to feel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2013
After a remarkable career, Christopher Plummer changes his game by playing an elderly gay character. A true tour de force. I learned when watching the dvd extras, that the story is based upon the real-life experiences of the screenwriter, and boy, does he have a story to tell.

In modern pictures and tv series, we see gay men as flamboyant, wealthy, sassy,... but I hadn't seen a story about someone who starts his life again as an out gay man, well into his seventies. Such stories should be told more often, in stead of putting gay characters into stereotypical boxes, people should realize that there is much more to us than what is shown today.

Apart from this, I loved the movie in its entirety. The story is well built, the characters are believable and well portrayed, and it has one of the most beautiful love stories I've seen lately. Not only between a boy and a girl, but also between a boy and a father, and a boy and his subtitled dog.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse