Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2017
Clear and punchy production on this album. The band are on top form; my main disappointment was, strangely enough, Annie's voice which was all over the place at times. I was particularly looking forward to hearing "Moonlight Shadow", but it seemed that she could hardly hold a note on this one and almost made up a tune to suit herself! The same, sadly, can be said of several of Renaissance's own songs where Annie recorded the original. Maybe it's just a natural consequence of aging, although it must be said that she does a GREAT job for a lady who's 70 this year. Buy it by all means, but don't expect perfection. I can only say I won't be listening to it again. Once was enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2016
Not as good as other albums
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2010
I was trolling through YouTube the other day and came across Renaissance and immediately played through a good few golden oldies. It brought back memories of seeing them in the seventies. So I bought the early albums (cds now) and then decided to buy this to see how well they had aged. Bad move as I think they are a mear shadow of there former self. Some can go on for ever, Neil Young for example but in this case Renaissance really should hang their boots up and call it a day.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
Not quite as good as Live at Carnegie Hall, but that had the orchestra on it, so perhaps it's an unfair comparison! Good renditions (although the album could have done without Moonlight Shadow). Includes versions of the best tracks from 2001's Tuscany album, which fit well with the older stuff.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2010
What a joy to hear Annie Haslam and Renaaissance performing live once more. Somehow i missed this one so it was a thrill to find it on Amazon. You will not be disappointed
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2005
This should be in the library of every Annie Haslam and Rennaissance fan. Recorded in 2001 at the Tokyo Koseinenkin Hall in Japan, it features a mixture of Rennaissance classics plus items from their then new album Tuscany. The recordings are crystal clear and apart from a dreary guitar solo and some over the top warblings on The Ashes are Burning, everyone was in top form that night.
In the Land of the Rising Sun avoids the excessive audience sounds that some live recordings suffer from and the introductions are kept to a minimum.
The double CD set contins classics like Carpet of the Sun, Midas Man, Northern Lights, Mother Russia, Trip to the Fair and I Think of You.
While Rennaissance are known for their orchestral accompaniment, the keyboard work of Rave Tesar and Micky Simmonds is especially effective. This is good old progressive/symphonic rock at its best.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2007
Live and still kicking. They may not be as young as they were (some of them, anyway) but this is a very good Live show - even if the recording doesn't have as much ambience as some. The band show what can be done, and apart from a rather lame Bass solo in Ashes are Burning (come on guys, Camp did it all back in the seventies - why reinvent the wheel?), the songs are given a fair outing, and for me Annie is still on the money.
There are some beautiful keyboard arrangements, and we can see what a great contribution Rave Tesar makes to the delicacy of the music and how Mickey Simmonds' technical wizardry excels. Mind you this used to be done by one man,namely John Tout, whose abilities are heard elsewhere. I'm biased, of course.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Got this as a present for my husband - who thinks it merits 4 stars despite being slightly disappointed in it.. Definitely not the Renaissance of his youth, though still worth a listen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
Feel very envious that I could not make this concert mainly because I was not a fan in 2005 anyway not diaappointed after all as someone remebered to record it exclusively for me, at least I like to think that! Anyway it lived up to my expectations does not include "Sounds of The Sea" but thats only because I was not there to harass them to play it, overall good production values and sounds just great, then again I would say that would'nt I.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Great, many thanks !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)