Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2017
Good for electronics use
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
This is the real thing (it has flux impregnated in it to help soak up solder) and is very cheap here. I highly recommend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
works
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
NOTICE TO ANYONE THAT USES SOLDER!!! BUY THIS NOW!!!! this is one of the best tools i have for soldering. if theres a pad or track that needs solder removing you simply put this ontop and heat it up with a soldering iron. it removes all the solder and creates a super clear track or pad to solder onto! this is a must buy for anyone that uses a soldering iron to remove any mistakes! it has helped me out loads and it lasts for ages! super fast delivery and super useful!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
I do like this stuff, though it's a little fiddly and time consuming to use. Once you get the hang of it though(doesn't take long) it will total remove all the solder from the contact point in question. Clean as a whistle. For this I give it 4 stars.

However, in order for it to work properly it does require that heat be administered much longer than if you were using a de-soldering bulb or pump. If you're removing IC's, then the chip will get much hotter than it would normally otherwise. The de-soldering wick absorbs some of the heat which slows down the de-soldering process at first. By the time the joint and the wick are hot enough to melt everything, and the rosin on the wick start to flow, the chip on the other side of the board is hot enough to roast potatoes.

Alternativ? Well, I don't like de-soldering pumps because they are annoying to use, because you have to set everything down to reset the pump, but they do work. I do however much prefer a small de-soldering bulb which fits in the palm of your hand as lets you move along at a steady pace. That's my first choice!

But otherwise, de-soldering wick is a handy item for any toolbox!
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2012
This product markedly improved my quality of life. I will never go back to the old ways of the solder sucker!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
If you do a lot of solder work you may find that clearing old solder from circuit boards can be tricky, especially if there are several joints to clean and new components to attach. That's where solder wick comes in handy. For anybody who doesn't know solder wick acts as a kind of sponge for solder. You place the wick over the solder you want to remove, then press the soldering iron up against the wick and after a couple of seconds the wick will absorb the solder, leaving the area of the circuit board in question clean and relatively easy to apply fresh solder on.

As the review title suggests this wick certainly did the job for me. It really sucked up the solder good, and allowed me to apply fresh solder and replacement parts to the board without too much hassle. Combined with the fairly low wattage output of my soldering iron (30w), no damage was done to the boards I worked on and I was able to fix up a couple of handheld games systems to perfect working order. The only possible negative with this wick is its narrow 2mm width. This stuff is pretty good for small circuit boards, but if you're working on much larger solder joints or doing a lot of solder clearing at any one time, you may find yourself racing through a fair amount of this stuff in no time. Nevertheless it's still a very handy 5-Star item to have if you have an electronics job or hobby.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
I use solder wick with my electronics projects because it does a much better job of desoldering than the standard de-soldering pump. This product is of high quality and reasonably priced. I recommend this product wholeheartedly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 22 February 2017
This is really handy for those occasions when you have limited access with a solder sucker; just place the braid on the joint you wish to de-solder and heat it up and the solder is drawn up the braid quickly. You will need to snip off the braid when it is loaded up to reveal fresh braid. You only use a tiny amount so this will last ages.
Glad I bought this. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
Really, no one should be using a pneumatic-type 'solder sucker' tool if they want to do the job competently.

This wick is the only way to take off solder for repairs or modifications.

However, choose your width of braid since this affects the draw performance on larger components, obviously.

Recommended.

M.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)