Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
24
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2010
Clive Owen provides a fine performance as Joe, a sports journalist and a single parent in The Boys are Back. The film is quite touching and a joy to watch. It shares emotional and precious moments in life, as it unfolds. It is set mostly in Australia, as Joe moved to the country with a lover and abandoned his established family in UK. Following a terrible tragedy, Joe finds it hard to cope, as the six year old Artie is quite demanding and the son Harry from previous marriage resents Joe for abandoning him at an earlier age. The chemistry between Joe and the sons is the main focal point of the movie. It is beautifully depicted and is touching. I find the film faultless and simple in contents. The characters are quite strong and the plot is well defined. The Boys are Back themes are about families and how things can change drastically in life. It is quite emotional, but there are strong glimpses of happiness in the movie at all.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2010
We bought this item as we had visited the set where it was filmed during a visit to Australia last May, so it had some personal interest for us. However the film itself was very enjoyable, a heart warming story of the relationship of a single father with his two sons. The scenery was lovely, the acting believable, with characters that you can relate to. Well worth watching.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
No reviews!
This is a brilliant film about a man and his son coming to terms with the death of a wife and mother - don't worry that is not a spoiler, it happens straight away. The two boys are very good actors - and the youngest very natural. The Australian setting is great - and there is just something very real and watchable about this film.
It's probably more geared towards the female audience, but I'm sure fathers or men of a more sensitive nature will enjoy it. I don't like reviews that explain to much of what happens in the films, and are too analytical so I will stop here. This is an uplifting, touching movie, with great touches of humour about relationships and loss - and is well shot and acted throughout.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2010
A FANTASTIC FILM HAVE THE TISSUES AT THE READY FOR THE BEGINNING. A FEEL GOOD FACTOR FILM.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2010
A very powerful film that had me experiencing a whole world of emotions within the first half hour. The ways in which Joe, his children and in-laws dealt with their grief had me in tears from the first few scenes. A beautiful film and one that made me realise how much we all need to live each day to the full and find fun and laughter in everything we do.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 August 2010
Based on a true story, Clive Owen stars as a successful Australian sportswriter cast into the role of single parent to six year old Artie after the tragic death of wife Katy. He had another son, teenage Harry, by a previous marriage, living in England. How does a widowed man, cope with a job and running the house? For me, the story was really about how a husband and father, and a child and son, and equally apparent in them both, dealt with their grief, and coping without wife and mum for all the ordinary things we all take too much for granted.
Resolving to reach out to Artie, he comes up with his own style of parenting, `just say yes', no rules, no chores..
Director Scott Hicks, a native of South Australia, lends the setting for `The Boys are back' an authentic touch that slips a little when the action later switches to England. In fairness, Joe and Artie were only there to make up with Harry.
George McKay played the part of the disaffected, estranged Harry well. In the circumstances, how was the trip to Australia likely to turn out? Was Joe set up by his ex? The misunderstandings were going to happen. It was a feel-good moment in the film when Harry decided to leave the security of England for the anarchy of Oz, but often, these types of family misunderstandings can take years to resolve. We cannot all hop on a plane, especially when our job is on the line!
Talking of which, the story nicely illustrated a fundamental flaw in our society, the way our jobs, taken on with the good of the family in mind, well paid or not, always appear to conflict with family life, for Joe, this was true even before Katy died, didn't she greet him at the beginning as `the long lost father'? Wasn't his excuse to Harry, `I thought a child should be with his mother'?
As for the `no rules' style of parenting, sadly, we can no longer call it revolutionary. Laura had it summed up: a child needs more. It fails to produce happy kids or happy parents. As a symptom of Joe's grief, though, it was understandable, as normal life seemed to slip away. Returning to the central theme of dealing with that grief, Joe and Artie both displayed the open anger and frustration, and the tension just below the surface, but at other times they both dealt with feelings of guilt and denial, and eventually they started to come to terms with reaching out to each other without fighting.
It was never going to be easy for Joe to look for romance, was it likely to be easy replacing Katy, and was that the idea anyway? Clearly, Artie came first, but to include Harry as well was great. Joe deserved romance later.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
I liked the write up on this film but I'm not a big fan of Clive Owen. However I thought I would give it a try and really enjoyed it. The scenery was wonderful and I actually thought Clive Owen's performance was pretty good. I was impressed by the older son and think he will turn out to be a good actor. If you want a feel good film thats very gentle then I would recommend this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
A very moving true story which has converted into an excellent film & subsequent DVD. I thoroughly recommend the purchase of this DVD.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
This film I thought had loads of potential to be a really excellent film.
The story was so good, but the acting was so slow it became boring, def needed livening up.
That's about it really, good story and could have been 5 stars.
Shame really.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
A 'happily ever after' film.
Although reasonably well act, with some emotional issues, I think the viewer could possibly predict the outcome. Not enough tension, although if you just want to sit down and be entertained without too much thinking then this is your type of film.
The location gave some fantastic shoots.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)