Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 20 September 2013
This must be the best value music I've ever bought.

At current price (£13.99) I make it 70p per album, hardly believable for music of this quality.
Before I bought it I was slightly concerned by the talk of missing tracks, so I did some digging.
I started by comparing with CD listings which was confusing and stupid as lots of CDs have additional tracks and are not always in the same sequence as the original LPs.

Comparing with info on Wiki, as far as I can tell there are only 5 tracks missing, but all of these tracks appear on other albums in the set, albeit in different versions.

"Oleo" is missing from Bag's Groove.
"Dancing In The Dark" is missing from Somethin' Else.
"Straight, No Chaser", "My Funny Valentine" and "Oleo" are missing from 1958 Miles - this matches the 2006 Sony CD release which omitted these live tracks from the original LP, but added "Little Melonae" instead, which is included here.
I'm not counting Porgy & Bess as this is labelled as a "selection"

If you are putting these on an MP3 player and really wanted to complete the set, you could buy the tracks as MP3s from Amazon and sequence them in appropriately. The first 2 are available individually, but the last 3 are only available if you buy the album (Masters version on "Compulsion" label),

Putting the missing tracks aside, this is an incredible set of 135 tracks covering the period from when Miles first fronts a band up to just before "Kind of Blue", which co-incidentally is the earliest Miles disc I had before investing in this set. - I'm rambling - just buy it!

Update - Now had time to listen to all the albums at least once, naturally drawn to some more than others (particularly those with Milt Jackson on vibes!) but all are superb. Interesting to see some of the changes in direction over the decade covered. Amazing to look forward another decade and think that Miles would be at the forefront of Fusion with "In A Silent Way" - staggering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2013
Never mind the people who have found negatives to write about this collection. Sure, there are one or two tracks missing, but literally SO WHAT? Buy it, love it and never look back. Astounding value (so much material it beggars belief), great sound quality and perfectly adequately packaged. I don't know about you but I'll probably never play the CDs again - I just ripped them to my iTunes and put the discs in a drawer, so the criticism that the cases don't protect them sufficiently is moot. Fantastic collection, would be cheap at three times the price. Very happy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2014
This is the finest present you could give yourself. The range of selection and bands just emphasise how Miles was a chameleon - changing mood and jazz genre year after year after year. From jazz geek to new listener - just enjoy. I look forward to the coming weeks with joy as I will be immersed in this genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2014
20 albums (on 10 CD's) at this price is a bargain. There are some fine tunes in this selection covering Miles output from1950 to 1958 and includes Somethin' Else which is a Cannonball Adderley LP featuring Miles. This is a good way to start off collecting the huge back catalogue of this influential jazz giant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2013
I won't give too detailed a review because there are lots already, but I wanted to draw attention to something that (I don't think) anyone else has done. Sure, there's lots of great music here, at a very reasonable price. BUT, many albums have tracks missing, presumably to squeeze 2 onto each disc. With one exception, this isn't advertised in the liner notes (the exception is Porgy and Bess, which the liner notes rightly describe as "selections from"). There are definitely tracks missing from Bags Groove, 1958 Miles and Somethin' Else, and possibly other albums that I haven't noticed yet - and we're not talking alternate takes or bonus tracks normally included on CD releases here, but original tracks that were part of the original LP album (no "Oleo" on Bags' Groove, none of the live tracks from 1958 Miles). This is doubly frustrating because some of the 20 albums you're supposedly getting here DO have bonus tracks, which they could should have skipped in favour of the original LP content. It wouldn't have been too difficult to sacrifice a disc, or half a disc, to fit all the tracks they've skipped. As if to cap it off, the second set of Miles albums by the same producers, while not having any non-bonus tracks missing (that I can tell), fills up lots of CD space with peripheral bonus tracks under other leaders (Charlie Parker & Michel Legrand), as well as including the redundant "Blue Period" (all of the music from which is included in this set, as it was an early 10" LP that was later reissued on various 12" discs) as well as most of 1958 Miles for a second time (again with the live tracks missing) - pointless duplication, especially when there are missing tracks!

The total amount missing from this boxed set is quite small (probably less than half an hour of music), and there's nothing absolutely essential that's missed, but all the same it's misleading to claim that there are 20 full albums here when there are so many omissions. It's still probably the cheapest way to get this music but one can't help but feel cheated and mis-sold, which is frustrating because normally Real Gone Jazz are pretty good about not doing this sort of thing.
33 Comments| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2013
This boxed set represents outstanding value for money. Unlike so many budget CDs, all the relevant information (personnel, dates, recording locations) is contained in the accompanying booklet. The range of CDs covers a LOT of ground through Miles's career and includes some of my old LPs -- such a treat to hear the tracks without all the hissing and crackling! Great stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2012
i recently bought, and read, ian carr's biography of miles and it made me want to hear some of the recordings written about. this TWENTY album set fitted the bill perfectly. and at less than £16 it's an unbelievable bargain !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2015
Always been a Miles Davis fan, and this collection doesn't disappoint!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2014
Extremely good value Repro. Very good a must for Miles fans. Another bonus mark for Amazon Must go Gin & Tonic waiting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2013
Great bargain in all senses.
Even if you are only an occasional listener to Miles then at this price it gives you a large catalogue to sample the delights.
Not many times you can buy this many albums (geniune alnums) at this sort of price. - Great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)